Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rookery 2301

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,135 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 2, Sleeps 8

Put up your feet and feel the breezes while you rock or swing on your private screened porch. Relax in your snug cottage professionally decorated in soothing neutral colors with comfy beds, sofas, and chairs and old-fashioned pine floors. Forget your cares while sunbathing by two lovely pools. Rejuvenate in the hot tub. Enjoy your favorite movies or cable television in the family room and both queen sized bedrooms. TV with DVD player also is available in the kids bunk room where you will find two trundle beds. Serenity Cottage is .4 miles from the beautiful white sand beaches of the Fort Morgan peninsula and right in the middle of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge. Slow down and get back in touch with nature and yourself. Listen to bird song in the morning and crickets and frogs in the evening. Serenity Cottage in the Rookery is the perfect place to rebuild your spirit and reconnect with your family.

While far away from the crowds and confusion, Serenity Cottage is surrounded with opportunities to play and relax. The complex has tennis courts and places to park your boat. Two boat launches offering access to Bon Secour (Mobile) Bay are close by. Two excellent golf courses also are near. One is just two miles from the Rookery. The wildlife refuge offers several easy trails through saw grass marsh and slash pine forest where you can encounter 500 different animal and bird species. Fort Morgan Peninsula is in the bird and butterfly migration route. In early spring and late fall, the whole peninsula is alive with birds and butterflies including Monarchs and Gulf Fritillaries. In addition to the usual gulls and sand pipers, you may find kestrel, anhinga, osprey, great blue heron, and several different species of hawks, including sharp-shinned and Cooper's. Bring your camera so you can take your own little bit of paradise home with you. Historic Fort Morgan is only 4.5 miles from the cottage. You can catch the car ferry that will take you across the bay to Dauphin Island where you will find more walking trails and the Dauphin Island Sea Lab.

And don't forget the beach! White sand beaches and blue green water stretch as far and you can see in either direction. Fort Morgan's low population density means that even in the middle of the summer season, beaches are not crowded. In spring, winter, and fall, you can spend the whole day on the beach and never see another soul. After a fun filled day, Serenity Cottage, built in the coastal vernacular style, will welcome you home to kick back, watch TV, play board games, snuggle up with a good book, or just revel in the serenity of the beautiful Alabama Gulf Coast.

Professionally managed by Poole & Associates

**To avoid errors in quotes, please either send us an inquiry or call us directly to make sure you are receiving the best rates for your stay.**

Quoted price includes Parking Pass (Maximum: 2)

Must be 25 to rent

Non smoking unit

No pets

More Details

Property Manager
Poole and Associates
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2018

About Poole and Associates

Poole & Associates

Guestbook comments from the manager

Poole & Associates are a friendly, knowledgeable & helpful property management group.

When we arrived at our cottage we were impressed with it's cleanliness, tasteful decor, & the many gifts we had left for us. There was a card describing great places to eat, where the pool key was located, & many helpful hints about the area. We had a bottle of white wine, a dish with Valentine candy first night's stay of toiletries, kitchen items (sponge, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, coffee, creamer, sugar, tea, crystal light, etc) & laundry supplies for 2 loads of clothes.

The kitchen was loaded with excellent cookware, skillets, gadgets, dishes, silverware, glassware, and entertaining items. There is a stereo with mounted speakers to each side of the kitchen window over the sink. I loved the pantry, wine rack/table top island & dining table for 8!

We truly enjoyed the open layout of the kitchen, dining area, & livingroom. We had a great time entertaining family & guests while we were there.

My favorite feature of the whole cottage was the queen size memory foam mattresses in the master bedroom and guest bedroom. I slept like an angel every night - I love, love, loved the beds !!!

There is a full screened in front porch that includes 2 white rockers, a porch swing, & a small table with 2 chairs. We sat out there in the mornings drinking coffee and ended each day out there speaking to neighbors as they walked by.

The stay was so wonderful we are booking it for January & February 2014. We do a lot of traveling all over the U.S. this place was comfortable & felt like home immediately. Lovely lovely property.
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1


Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 1135 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , Four twin beds
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rookery 2301
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 10 reviews

VERY impressed with everyone we dealt with

  • 5 of 5

From the first phone call to the dropping off the keys when we left, the staff at Home Away and Poole & Associates were a pleasure to deal with. They made sure that all our needs were met and very kind to us each time we talked to them. The Rookery 2301 was beyond our expectations with it's quality and space. The property as a whole was very clean and quiet with a very nice swimming pool on property. There are plenty of places for public access to the beach that are close by. We will certainly remember this vacation for a long time and TOTALLY recommend anyone to stay here when visiting Gulf Shores, Alabama.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great trip

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay very much, unit was as described. Very clean and not to far from the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and well kitchen well stocked for all your needs.

  • 5 of 5

This property is really clean, quiet away from the hustle of Gulf Shores. Pool is big and clean. The only thing we didn't like was the beach closest to us it was dirty and smelled. However we didn't mind driving the 15 or so minutes to Gulf Shores Beach where it was absolutely beautiful. We will come back and stay here for sure.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We are sorry that the closest beach had some issues, sometimes the weather does things to the beach closest to the bay that no one can know is coming. Hope to see you again soon to enjoy another Gulf Shores vacation here with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2301 at the Rookery was perfect!

  • 5 of 5

My family loved staying here! We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Rookery. It was our second time to stay at this complex since we were so impressed with our first visit there several years ago. There was plenty of room for the 2 couples and the three teenage girls who shared the third bedroom with the twin beds and trundle. The duplex was clean and tastefully decorated with warm beach colors, and the kitchen had everything we needed (except for the shell crackers we needed for the blue crabs). The layout design is efficiently perfect. We did not miss being right on the beach and either walked or, if we had a lot of beach gear, drove the short distance. We also enjoyed the bay side and had a wonderful afternoon catching blue crabs and shrimp, enough for a feast caught and cooked ourselves that evening! The pool was a nice option that the girls enjoyed while we adults could have some down time in the air-conditioning, and the little alligators in the small ponds were fun to photo. Unless having a beachfront property is a must-have requirement, we very much recommend the Rookery.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not what we expected

  • 3 of 5

The cottage was very neat and comfortable with many nice touches. The pool was great. The property as a whole was not what we expected. We chose to be away from the busier party section of the Gulf coast, but did not realize this location was more of an upscale campground than we expected. The porch view was of a dumpster. The walk to the beach was rough and longer than expected especially if you are carrying chairs, ice chest, umbrellas, etc. The parking and roads are limestone with no sidewalks. Getting to the beach meant dragging your stuff across this, then a short trek down the busy 55mph highway, then across the highway down another street. We were able to park down this street when the beach was not busy bc of the weather. Also, bring high octane bug spray. There were loads of biting flies and mosquitoes and the less caustic versions did not work. Lastly, there are no on site services nor provisions nearby. Some of the unit owners in the complex had golf carts, which would have been great to rent to guests. When were disappointed upon arriving and finding the beach, we asked to relocate, but were refused. Poole and Associates were not even available from after 5:30pm until 9:00 am the next day. Then I was told I had to wait for someone to arrive that could possibly assist later (10:00), but they could not contact the owner.

I still give this place a 3 because it was not a bad place to be stuck in when the weather was terrible, as it was quite comfortable. We made the most of it.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that your stay in the unit was not what you expected. You are correct when you say that it is away from the busier part of Gulf Shores, it is in fact the reason that so many people like it. You are in the heart of a wildlife refuge and this seclusion is what appeals to most people trying to "get away" for a little while. It is also the reason the bugs are a little more prevalent. It is a bit of a walk to the beach, which is stated in the description. We hope you would give us a chance again in the future - call us directly and we will help you find a place that fits all of your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0






  • From $75/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Spring (3/1/2013 - 5/16/2013) $ 99/nt $594/wk $1600/mo
  • Early Summer (5/17/2013 - 6/22/2013) $139/nt $834/wk
  • Peak Summer (6/23/2013 - 8/4/2013) $149/nt $894/wk
  • Late Summer (8/5/2013 - 9/4/2013) $139/nt $834/wk
  • Fall -2013 (9/5/2013 - 10/31/2013) $99/night $594/week $1600/mo
  • Additional fees not included in rates. Please email for total.
  • Rates may vary for Holidays/Special Events. Rates subject to change

You might like these similar properties