check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

WHITE PINES ..PRIVATE LOG CABIN 15 MIN TO SUNDAY RIVER W/SAUNA,FIREPLACE,WiFi

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Rumford Point Cabin Rental Photos and Description

5 BDRM-3 BATHRM SLEEPS 14.

WHITE PINES CABIN.. 15 MIN FROM SUNDAY RIVER.. 2 MIN from the Androscoggin River ..Located on a beautiful knoll, overlooking the Androscoggin River sits a charming 4-season log cabin,divided into two contiguous levels..

The daylight walk-in basement level with its 2 bedrooms and 1 Bathroom sleeps 6,is heated by a cozy wood stove ..and has a fully equipped kitchen,living area and dining area along with the washer -dryer.

The adjoining upper level,has its main floor with 2 bdrms and 1 bthrm and sleeps and additional 6 persons. It has the second full kitchen,living and dining area, an amazing red brick fireplace,and pellet stove for your additional comfort and ambiance..On the third floor is the master bedroom sleeping 2, and the 3rd bathrm. A cozy loft area on the third floor allows for even more relaxation.

The wraparound deck with classic adirondak seating ..provides space for outdoor gatherings,barbeque, and views of the surrounding mountains,as well as glimpses of the "scoggin" River.

A short walk gets you to our part of the stream,to put your feet in for hot summer days.

The family style fire pit is available for cool fall nights and marshmallow roasting.

The outdoor 8X12' cedar - lined sauna and change room, with its wood stove ,allows you to unwind after an active day, on cool nights..

The cabin's upper unit,which has its own separate entrance is also available for rental to smaller groups of 8 or less.

Great for a romantic getaway,business retreat,family haven,group reunion,and so much more. Your active days can be capped by watching the sunset from the deck..

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
CAROL
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

About CAROL

We are a family of four who love being outdoors and White Pines provides a home base to enjoy all that means.

The cabin is located on 1.5 acres in , just across from the Androscoggin River in the Western mountains of Maine. We chose the name White Pines because the cabin is surrounded by woods,the highlight of which are majestic White Pine trees.

We truly hope you will come for a visit and enjoy the experience of being with us at White Pines cabin.Safe Travels,Carol And Family.

CAROL purchased this cabin in 2011

What makes this cabin unique

15 mins from SUNDAY RIVER SKI RESORT.15 mins from MT ABRAM,20 mins from BLACK MOUNTAIN.1hr FROM SADDLEBACK SKI RESORT AND 1hr 45 mins FROM SUGARLOAF.

15 mins from BETHEL

15 mins from GRAFTON NOTCH STATE PARK.

Across the road fromTHE ANDROSCOGGIN RIVER,and WATER ACTIVITIES.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful east coast adventure! This Cabin is so obviously decorated and cared for with generosity and love--thank you. We were completely comfortable,we enjoyed dinner at 22 broad street,lunch at the orange trailer,and breakfast of raspberry and peach pie.... from the good food store.



We hiked to three falls in Grafton Notch and enjoyed our family reunion in Farmington..its a lengthy trek for us to land here, but we'll know there is a marvelous place to temporarily call home if we ever do!!Thank You.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

WHITE PINES ..PRIVATE LOG CABIN 15 MIN TO SUNDAY RIVER W/SAUNA,FIREPLACE,WiFi
average rating of 4.75 based on 44 reviews
5

Amazing stay!

  • 5 of 5

I rented Carol's cabin for Columbus weekend with 13 of my friends to enjoy all the hikes around in the White Mountains. Everybody appreciated our stay and didn't want to leave!

The cabin is lovely and comfortably fit all of us. We had everything we needed to cook for 14 persons. We played various fun board games and used the sauna after our hikes, which was very relaxing.

Carol was very responsive whenever I had questions, I really appreciated it.

Thanks again Carol!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much ,E and friends,for staying with us at White Pines. We love the area and are thrilled you got the chance to experience some of the amazing things nearby and then come home to the cabin to enjoy the sauna, share great meals, and relax. We truly hope to host you all again... Best for the season. Carol and the WPC Crew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It was a great property for a cabin vacation. Lots of amenities and well kept kitchens!

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, although it was rather short (4days); we still managed to enjoy the full kitchen, sauna room and the charcoal grill. The trail path by the cabin was a great morning walk routine for us!

The deck became our favorite conversation spot, so as the fireplace in the living room.

Thank you, Carol, for your hospitalities! We will be back!

The only downside is that the highway noise in the night can be loud if sitting on the deck. However the insulation of the Windows and doors make it quiet to sleep despite the vicinity to the highway (US-2). And the cabin is totally hidden from view, thanks to the neat dirt path and tall pine trees!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jenny and friends, it was such a pleasure to host you! Thank you for fully embracing the spirit of the cabin, we love all the things you mentioned and so much more.If indeed there are a few who will come for winter trip we'd love to host you all again at White Pines! Best for the season!!... Carol and the WPC Crew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cabin was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a great stay!

  • 5 of 5

The porch has a great view of the fields and mountains over the river. The property was well taken care of, with a grill and fire pit.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Michael and friends so very glad you came to vacation with us.We hope we can be the place in the future for more summer or winter fun.Such a pleasure working with you!! Best,Carol and the WPC CREW.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Weekend Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We just took a nice little 3 day family weekend away with 6 adults and 5 kids. The cabin was so spacious and comfortable! It was well equipped with everything we needed. We did day trips to the nearby falls where we hiked a bit and swam, then we relaxed by the firepit at night or hung out on the porch playing board games. There are a few downfalls.. First one was- it's not as secluded as we hoped for. There is a neighbor's house next door beyond some trees that you can clearly see. Lastly- even though the cabin is set back and up on a hill, it's off of a main road so there's lots of cars and trucks that drive by throughout the day and night causing noise. Other than that though, we definitely enjoyed our stay at The White Pines Cabin.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello JB and family thank you so much for choosing to spend your family vacation with us. We appreciate your enjoying the facilities we have to offer to the fullest. We are indeed located on a knoll , just off Route 2,which can at times be busy.This easy access allows us quick trips to Grafton Notch,swim holes,and ski mountains in a snowstorm for powder days.:-).willingly we trade so that we can enjoy these things with ease.Best regards for the season.Carol and the WPC Crew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrified!

  • 1 of 5

This house looked great at a first glance! The basement looked like a separate apartment with a full kitchen and the rooms looked great. After taking a closer look, we realized how filthy the house was, spider webs everywhere and everything in the kitchen we had to hand wash because it was either sticky or dirty with dust. We had to move all the beds and sweep the floors to kill the spiders and to remove the dust. The ceiling fan was covered in dust bunnies, we realized this when we turned it on and all the dust started flying everywhere!!! We would have never turned the fan on but the house did not have AC. We never used the sauna since the house itself was one. After spending the first day cleaning and making sure we were not living among spiders we actually had a nice time. We thought that was the end of our troubles but on Sunday (our last day at the house) we woke up to NO RUNNING WATER!!! We had to improvise with the few bottle waters we had left to brush our teeth, we couldn't wait to get out.

We decided to email the owner and explain the circumstances we were living in and she was anything but understanding. She said we should have called the second we saw the spider webs or everything else that was dirty, but I would think that if she is asking for a cleaning deposit is because everything is clean when we get there??? I don't know, maybe I am crazy, maybe a cleaning deposit is to make sure the guests clean when they get there and when they leave, God only knows what the owner's definition of a cleaning deposit is. We also explained to her that not having water on Sunday is completely unacceptable, and her answer was "we should have called" My friend actually emailed her at 7 AM to tell her about the water and she answered about 4 hours later (we had already left the house).

After a couple of weeks the owner emails us saying she is not giving us our full cleaning deposit back because she had to get a plumber to fix the water issue!!! The plumber came to the conclusion that it was NOT the guest's fault that they ran out of water, however the owner felt it was our fault and charged us. DO NOT stay at this property!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are greatly saddened by this review. As evidenced by our history we try to provide all our guests with the good experience of a home away from home. The party arrived 8/11at our cabin and stayed for 3 nights. The first day they called to ask how to operate the AC. We reminded them that as per the cabins description our home had no AC, but for our guests comfort we provide turbo fans. Next communication was an email on 8/14 NOT at 7 AM as stated,BUT at 901 AM (documented time on email) to say, "Hello Carol, We don't have any water in the house. Is something wrong??" This was 59 mins prior to their checkout time. By 1015 AM our caretakers were in to check and do cabin turnover, they saw the guests driving out.. Caretakers confirmed low water pressure to the home, but there was water. As we had a guest coming in later that day,we of course contacted our plumber for an emergency visit performed within hours after the group of eights departure. Our plumber advised home pipes and structures were OK . By the time our caretakers were leaving post turnover, water had returned to the loft . Next step was to evaluate the well, this process was completed 8/16.Our well and pump were intact. No structural problem. We truly then wanted to give these guests the benefit of the doubt (hence the week wait) and see if the problem recurred with either of the two parties with larger numbers, who stayed subsequent to their departure. IT DID NOT. Sadly we concluded ,the Members of this party were truly negligent with the cabins facilities, AND we respectfully asked them cover $70,of the $105 plumbers emergency visit which would not have been necessary if the water had not been so adversely though, thankfully temporarily affected by negligent use. They neither felt responsible for this negligence,nor did they feel responsible for the loose trash left about, nor the wet bed linens placed and left in the hamper post their stay,etc. Our well expert recommended we guard against any possibility of future negligent use by hydro fraking. This was done 8/22. A simple call or text would have elicited an immediate response,we would have done any additional cleaning,laundry or whatever was appropriate for their comfort.We all have differing needs. The members of the party say they "had a nice time " eventually. And I am sorry they did not let us know of any real OR perceived issues , in time for us to make their stay better than nice...that is our custom
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Arrived later than we had planned, but the directions made it easy to find even at night. Wonderful, welcoming place to stay. Plenty of room to accomadate all 11 of us.

Thank you Carol and crew for the great job and the brownies were an extra bonus! Would definitely stay here again.

The Buccilli Crew

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Buccilli Crew so happy to have been your place to rest for this leg of your vacation!.We truly hope that we can host you all again in the future. Til then be very well. Carol and the WPC Crew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Charming 4 season 5 bdrm-3 bthrm log cabin built in the chalet -style, located in the Sunday River Area Maine, 15 mins from Sunday River ski resort and Mt Abram,15-20 mins from Black Mountain Ski resort and 1 hour away from SaddleBack Mountain Ski resort and Rangeley lakes area activities. located across from the Androscoggin River. Winter activities include ALPINE skiing,X-C SKIING,snowshoeing,snowmobiling. Summer- fall activities include fishing,canoeing,mountain biking and golf and hiking through breathtaking Grafton Notch STATE PARK .

Located 15 mins from historical Bethel and all its 4 season activities,restaurants, and festivals. Excellent outlet shopping available in nearby North Conway.

1 1/2 hours away from Portland,ME. 3 hours from Boston..easily accessible by taking Rt 232 from Rt 26 just outside of scenic Bryant Pond, and we are right there on Rt 2.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rumford Point Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Ski Season 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,600
 
 
Spring-Summer-Fall
May 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$265
$1,723
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$265
$1,723
$4,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
CLEANING FEE $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

MAINE LODGING TAX 9% .
BASE CLEANING FEE $125-$200(3-5 BEDROOM).
**BASE SECURITY DEPOSIT OF $250.00 ***THIS IS FULLY REFUNDED ONCE ALL IS IN ORDER AFTER YOUR STAY.
MONTHLY RENTAL QUOTE ABOVE FOR 3 BED ROOM OPTION ONLY.
LONG TERM RENTAL ..UP TO 1 MONTH CONSIDERED.
SORRY WE NO LONGER OFFER SEASONAL RENTAL OPTIONS.
WE DO ACCEPT CHECKS INCLUDING E-CHECKS, AND CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS. FOR OUR "BOOK IT NOW' GUESTS PLEASE CHOOSE EITHER E-CHECK OR CREDIT CARD PAYMENT TO EXPEDITE RESERVATION.IF YOU DO NOT DESIRE TO PAY BY THESE METHODS PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE the "request book option " BUT RATHER the "send a message " option FOR INQUIRY.
PARTIES OF 8 OR LESS MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR DISCOUNT RATE $190 - $300/NIGHT(SEASON DEPENDENT)
PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR YOUR DETAILED QUOTE AND PAYMENT OPTIONS.
****GUEST PLEASE NOTE EFFECTIVE 2/18/16 HOMEAWAY/ VRBO HAS NOW ADDED A SERVICE CHARGE WHICH GOES DIRECTLY TO THEM FOR ONLINE BOOKING... IF YOU DESIRE TO AVOID THIS ,PAYMENT MAY BE MADE BY CHECK BY MAIL, WITH SUFFICIENT TIME FOR CLEARANCE OF PAYMENT..
We aim to keep our calendar updated for your convenience.
HOPE TO HOST YOU AND YOURS SOON.
BEST REGARDS...WPC.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rumford Point Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , THIRD LEVEL
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , MAIN LEVEL
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , BASEMENT LEVELTWO PERSON SHOWER WITH SEAT
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , MAIN/SECOND LEVEL
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , MAIN/SECOND LEVEL
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , WALK-IN BASEMENT/FIRST LEVEL
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , THIRD LEVEL
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , WALK-IN BASEMENT/FIRST LEVEL
  • MAIN LEVEL HAS SLEEPER SOFA. WALK-IN BASEMENT HAS AN ADDITIONAL SLEEPER SOFA.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
FLAT SCREEN TV/DVD PLAYER ON BOTH LEVELS .CABLE ACCESS IS PRESENT FOR BOTH TV DVD PLAYERS.SMALL DVD COLLECTION AVAILABLE. THE PELLET STOVE IS LOCATED ON THE MAIN LEVEL, WOOD STOVE IN THE WALK-IN BASEMENT. TABLES CAN BE COMBINED TO SEAT 14 PERSONS ON MAIN LEVEL. THE OUTDOOR SAUNA IS 8X8 WOOD STOVE FIRED ,CEDAR LINED SAUNA PERFECT TO RELAX AFTER YOUR ACTIVITY FILLED DAYS ON COOL MAINE NIGHTS.

Partner Offers