Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Villa, Private Pool + Garden, Sunset & Rainforest Views, Nr Beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Beautiful quiet Villa at end of cul de sak with closed garden and spectacular rainforest and sunset views. Large Pool (with night lights) and garden are super private with no neighbours overlooking. Villa has huge covered outdoor patio space for outdoor dining and living with large interior lounge and dining area. Screens on windows throughout property.

Solid stone countertops in well equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances.

Large well kept garden area fenced in for peace of mind with kids.

Outdoor shower and jacuzzi (not heated) Also outdoor bathroom. All on one level.

Close to the community playground with swings and lake for feeding family of ducks, geese and swans. 24 hour security gated upscale community.

The villa is located on top of a hill so lots of light filters into the home and the Caribbean breeze is always present. 4 bedrooms 2 of which are on suite. One bedroom has whirlpool bath.

The Doors leading to the outside patio open up completely to allow for a more open air feel to the property.

Spend the whole day swimming in your own pool and enjoying the large spacious garden, take your kids to the swings and lake and then wind down at the end of the day while watching the sunset over the rainforest, enjoying your Margharita or local Magna beer.

The property is 1 minute drive from Luquillo where you can find La Pared and La Selva surfing beaches,

The Luquillo public beach- a blue flag rated beach-great for swimming,

Amigos supermarket and walgreenes.

the Luquillo Kioskas (50 local style bars and restaurants)

Hacienda Carabali (ATV Rainforest tours and horseback riding).

Fajardo is 10 minutes away with

Walmart and kmart and walgreenes,

Marinas for Catamaran snorkelling trips, Deep sea Fishing, Bio Bay and Diving,

Port for ferry to Vieques and Culebra,

San Juan is just 50 minutes away for,

Airport,

Old San Juna historical sites and shopping,

Restaurants and bars and night life.

Keywords: House, Villa, Home,

More Details

Owner
Richard Forde
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Richard Forde

Originally from England I have spent the last 14 years living in Puerto Rico. Having spent the last 2 years working for the Ritz-Carlton Reserve I am now self employed in the hospitality industry. I met a local lass Sandra who I am married to and now have 2 kids with another on the way!

Richard Forde purchased this house in 2009

Why Richard Forde chose Luquillo

I own 2 other rental properties all of which are beautiful but the main reason I purchased this property was the large pool and large totally fenced private garden for my kids and spacious outdoor living.

What makes this house unique

Picture this: You have seen the local attractions on the first few days of your vacation like the rainforest, Bio Bay and gone horseback riding and ATV'ing in the rainforest. You've evan taken a surf lesson and visited Old San Juan but today you want to relax at the house. You enjoy the pool and garden all day and maybe walk to the swings with your kids and visit the lake on the way back to feed the ducks.

You fire up the bbq and enjoy the sun setting over the rainforest as you sit back on the pool deck and sip on your locally brewed 'magna' beer or Margharita straight from the wine cooler. sun sets over rainforest and you can see it right from the patio.

Amenities

Pitahaya House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , en Suite Bedroom 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , En Suite bedroom 4
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , King plus bunk bed (double bottom and single top)
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , en Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Bunk Bed (full on bottom and single on top). all bedrooms have AC.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor garden shower with rainforest view, amazing rainforest views, very private closed garden, wine cooler in kitchen. outdoor spa pool is not heated.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Luxurious Villa, Private Pool + Garden, Sunset & Rainforest Views, Nr Beach
average rating of 4.1 based on 20 reviews
Olney, MD
1

NOT a 4-star luxury house; Sloppy and sad

  • 1 of 5

This is not a 4-star luxury house. The expert photography/photoshopping are deceiving. The surrounding neighborhood is run-down and with bars on all the windows.

You have to pass through two security gates to enter the neighborhood (instructions for #2 were incorrect). It took about 20 minutes to get into the neighborhood. This house is sandwiched in between many others, it has zero isolation.

The first thing we saw as we entered the house were two lizards. They hid under the washer.

While the kitchen has granite and stainless steel, these two features do not make up for:

1) Lack of AC in main areas

2) AC only working in one bedroom

3) Lots of empty TV stands, only 1 very small TV. No TV's in any of the bedrooms.

4) Empty propane tank for grill

5) Flotsam and trash in pool - no crystal blue waters here, it was dingy

6) Pieces of wall were literally falling off onto the floor

7) Giant moldy-looking dark gray square of crud on the wall in one of the bedrooms.

8) Shower curtain about 8" too short in master bath

9) Where is the rainforest view we were promised? We saw a fence.

10) Sheets had marker all over them - literally someone wrote on them with a black Sharpie.

11) Sheets were so thin you could see the mattress through them! Super cheap.

12) Master bathroom toilet dirty - gray funk in the bowl

13) Horrendous fluorescent lighting in one of the bedrooms.

14) There is nothing cozy about this place.

15) No curtains on master bedroom windows! Have fun with your privacy.

16) Big hunks of moulding and tile missing from the walls in the master bathroom.

17) Exposed electrical things in the walls. Super-sloppy installation of fixtures.

18) The wood furniture looked like it came from Goodwill - big patches of finish worn off them.

19) The paint in this place hasn't been touched up in years. There are scuffs & marks all over the house.

20) Luxury sofa is a lumpy, misshapen thing with an ill-fitting sheet on it.

21) Fridge lights don't work.

The place was sad. We called it Puerto Rican jail. It probably was nice at one point in time, but it clearly has not been kept up. There are very obvious problems with the place that haven't been addressed by the owners, and the fact that some of them would have been so easy to fix speaks volumes. It seems to me like the owners are cheaping out in terms of both money and time spent looking at the place with a critical eye.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

We have been to Puerto Rico several times and this was our best trip yet! What I loved about this house:

-The location is perfect. You are a few minutes drive to Luquillo beach, stores, movies etc. You are also just a few minutes drive to the entrance of El Yunque rainforest as well as the bio bay in Fajardo and the Ferry and Marinas in Fajardo if you want to go over to Vieques or take a snorkeling trip. We've been all over the island and this is our favorite location.

-The gated community is very safe and quiet.

-This particular home in the gated community is probably best location. It is on top of a hill so you have great views of the rainforest and there are no neighbors looking into your yard. It is very quiet and private.

-The yard!!! It is huge, lots of green space and the pool was perfect. There are tons of pool toys in the garage as well as balls and other things to play with. The kids ran all over the place and were never board once the whole week we were there.

-The home is lovely. I don't think the pictures do it justice. It is much more spacious than I expected. There are two master bedrooms and they are huge (in addition to two other bedrooms for a total of four). The air conditioning in the bedrooms worked really well. We slept great.

-The covered patio was probably my favorite part of the home. Again, the pictures don't do it justice. It was very large with a giant sectional couch and dining table. There are ceiling fans as well and it was shady, cool and refreshing all day. We spent most of our vacation there, laying on the couch, reading, watching the kids in the pool and having all our meals at the outdoor table.

-Richard was a great host. He was responsive and very helpful.

We really enjoyed ourselves and had a hard time leaving. I can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

This property is beautiful!

  • 4 of 5

We spent the majority of our time outside on the patio or in the pool. The yard is completely private and the green views surrounding it are amazing. The house felt even more spacious than the pictures online showed. Two out of four bedrooms had broken a/c units, which Richard had fixed during our stay. Even without a/c we slept quite comfortably.

The security gates are a bit of a hassle, but worth the security we felt.

The kitchen was well equipped (could use new frying pans) and having the wine cooler was great for beer and wine. At half the price you would pay for a hotel, and with so much more amenities and space, it's so worth it.

We loved our time in Luquillo and plan on booking this property in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This was the perfect place for my friends!

  • 5 of 5

The house was really great- the view of El Yunque could not be any better! We utilized the amazing grill, the pool, and the roomy interiors! Richard was on call the whole trip, helping us whenever we needed it.

We didn't know this prior but you do need a car to get around Luquillo! The house is in a great neighborhood and Kioskos and Luquillo beach are very close, but you need a car to get to them. You technically could walk but you'd have to walk along the nearby highway which didn't suit us!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrific location, Beautiful House but sadly in need of upkeep, maintenance and pest control

  • 1 of 5

This was our 10th vacation in the islands renting a home. This was the first time we have had such a miserable experience with the house. We chose this home because of its location, pool, kitchen and layout. At the time we booked here there were five positive reviews. Since we made our reservation the reviews have declined. I contacted the homeowner before our arrival and he stated he had fixed the complaints listed by the previous reviews. Sadly, he had not. So, here is our story: First of all to enter the gated community two passcodes are needed. These did not work and we had a frustrating ordeal getting access to the place after a long day of travel. The homeowner stated the community had changed the codes without notifying him. We could not find the hidden key to access the entry, because it was not where we were directed to look for it. Upon entry to the property we were greeted by an army of ants. And they continued to invade the property for the entire week we were there. I contacted the owner about the deplorable condition of the cleanliness of the property: trash on the front lawn, weed knee high, the ants, the dishes in the cupboards having dried food on them, the coffee cups still having coffee stains and lipstick stains on them, the cupboard doors falling off their hinges, no hot water, a drawer with pots and pans in it you could not open because it collided with the oven door, ants infesting the bathroom and front bedroom. The DVD player did not work which was terribly disappointing as movie night has become a vacation tradition. The TV could not get basic cable - so we were unable to watch the football finals, the list goes on. the owner sent out the cleaning lady the next day. I watched her cleaning and then pointed out to her things that still weren't cleaned- like the dishes in the cupboard, and hair on the tile floor and bathroom shower walls, and her response to me was not to worry about it, I was on vacation, go out by the pool and relax. Well, in our family none of us is great about relaxing with ants crawling all over our belongings. The children were freaked out in their beds and refused to bath in the ant infested bathrooms. The owner sent an exterminator over, and a plumber ( the cleaning lady broke the shower head while cleaning it). The week went on with an endless number of dismal experiences. the pool cleaner never showed up, the lawn service came the last day of our trip. owner provided refund of $150 for cleaning+200

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since this review we have made the appropriate changes to the maintenance and cleaning procedure and invested a huge amount into the property. I am happy to report the reviews have all been positive since.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
3

Beautiful house, but a few things needed to make it perfect

  • 3 of 5

We were a group of eight that stayed Christmas week 2016. The house was plenty big for all of us. The pool and (unheated) spa were used every day and were great. There were beautiful views of El Yunque National forest. The gardens on the property were nice and we had some little green iguana visitors. The house is in a gated community and the entry system was a little complex (2 places to enter codes, etc). We loved the Luquillo location and would stay at this end of the island again.

A couple of things could be improved that would make this house a 5-star stay. It needs a little TLC and maintenance. A fresh coat of paint and some updated decor would do wonders. Both kitchen garbage cans were cracked and broken. The kitchen could use a few more amenities (scissors, a couple of extra serving bowls, some new frying pans). The toliet paper holder fell off in one of the bathrooms. A set screw needed to be tightened. Not a big deal, but there were no tools in the house for us to fix it. When we walked in, there was a pile of sheets on the couch and some items on the coffee table. I assume they were left by the cleaning crew. The master bedroom AC smelled musty. There were bars on the inside of the windows that made it difficult/impossible to open them.

None of the above would stop me from renting this beautiful house again, but having stayed at many other VRBO/HomeAway properties over the last 5 years, this one was not quite up to the standard that we are used to seeing.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Luis Munoz Marin
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Boardriders
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Fajardo
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Rio Mar
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Rte 3
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Lolitas
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Luquillo La Pared/ La Selva
Car: not necessary

*Please note spa in pool is not heated

Bioluminescent Bay (15 mins drive in Fajardo)

ATV Rainforest tours

Gold Panning in the Rainforest

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pitahaya House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
June 2017
Jun 23 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,250
 
 
July 2017
Jul 21 2017 - Jul 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$600
$2,950
$6,000
 
 
Festive 2017/18
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 8 2018
6 night minimum stay
$500
$3,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$500
$2,550
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150

All monies are non refundable

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties