Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Cool Ocean Breeze: Hillside Home with Gorgeous Batiquitos Lagoon View.

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Family room, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6), more on approval.

Escape cold winters, hot summers, hurricanes, etc. to year round ideal weather. Beautiful furnished hillside four bedroom single story home on a quiet Cul De Sac. Always cool ocean breeze! Comes with bikes, beach toys/chairs, pool table, flat screen TV with DISH Network, WIFI, outside gas fireplace, BarBQue, dining room,

Close to downtown Carlsbad, Legoland, Del Mar Race Track, Leucadia, Encinitas, Oceanside, San Diego, Flower Fields, outlet mall..


Nearly seven miles of beautiful beaches, picturesque lagoons, the charm of a European village coupled with world class golf, spas and shopping -- Carlsbad provides something for every travel taste and budget. The City of Carlsbad offers many free and fun activities year round.

Batiquitos Lagoon is a coastal wetland north of San Diego between the cities of Carlsbad and Encinitas. It is one of the few remaining tidal wetlands on the southern California coast of the United States.

More Details

Marilyn Sluyk
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2018

About Marilyn Sluyk

Personal Family home for retired engineer and three sons/daughter-inlaws and families.

Marilyn Sluyk purchased this house in 2006

Why Marilyn Sluyk chose Aviara

Was family home for many years. Totally remodeled since 2006. Perfect weather, perfect location, kids and grandkids all love it here.

What makes this house unique

Back yard view of Batiquitos lagoon anf I-5 freeway day and night. Very quiet cul-de-sac street with most neighbors here for 30 years.


Aviara House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sink
    Bathroom 1 Master - toilet , shower , Double sink, walk-in shower, Door to back yard
  • Travertine to ceiling on walls in both around tub & shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 Master - 1 queen , Double doors to Bedroom/Bathroom. Beautiful View
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 murphy bed
  • Queen size beds (2) Bedrooms 1 and 4, Double Beds (1) Bedroom 2, Twin or Single Beds (2) in Bedroom 3, Baby Fold-up portable bed, Sleep Sofa (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Personal family home rented on a limited basis to approved guests


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Cool Ocean Breeze: Hillside Home with Gorgeous Batiquitos Lagoon View.
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 19 reviews

Christmas in Carlsbad

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in the spacious house. The house offered enough room for our family of four. The kitchen was well laid out and well stocked. The kids kids really liked that they each had their own bedroom - and a pool table!

Our favourite though was the south facing backyard with a view. We had our lunch there almost every day.

The house is obviously not a pure rental; some of the owners items occupied cabinets, and some of the furniture could use some TLC. Yet, we found ample storage and we cannot share at all the concerns / complaints from previous reviewers about electrical safety or areas in need of cleanup.

We are seasoned world travellers and have stayed in many vacation rentals. This property was exceptionally clean - which we really appreciate.

In addition Donald and Marilyn were excellent communicators and got back to us promptly with any question we had.

All in all - the house fit our family of four perfectly, and we will happily return.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

February Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the property being on a quite street and easy to navigate other areas. The new kitchen cabinets, counter tops, and flooring were very nice. The house was clean, spacious and well supplied. The owners were excellent in providing information. I would recommend this property to anyone. Thanks for sharing your house with us.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomingdale, Illinois

Disappointing. Look elsewhere to rent.

  • 1 of 5

I agree with the review from Jim A. in Feb 2016. Many items are still subpar while not being fixed or replaced almost a year later in Jan 2017, i.e. - Screen door, electric, outdoor furniture, sheets and bathrooms. I did consider the issues he stated but thought, how bad can it really be while so many others left good reviews. So, we rented.

As the renter and abiding to the rental agreement, I reported the following items along with other “conditions” according to the section under “Conditions of the Premises” to the owners:

Electric - not up to code - exposed wiring inside and outside the property (especially in the “swag lights”).

Kitchen – no room for vacationer’s food, all cabinets full with the owner’s food, dishes and cookware.

Windows – were open and unlocked upon first entering house – unsafe conditions in an unknown house.

Bikes – dirty, dusty and flat tires – yes there is a pump, but why aren’t they ready to go?

Garage – unusable for us as it had a car in it and full of the owner’s tools and belongings. They offered for us to move the car ourselves. We didn’t due to the flat tires on the car.

The owners initially were friendly and responsive. However, I guess they didn’t like the things I had to report because they told me that these items were “trivial” and then proceeded to give me a low guest rating.

Consider staying elsewhere, the location doesn’t compensate for this subpar property.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, any review of anything, like restaurant reviews, are from people who like to complain and have expectations that can never be met. We have taken care of some items, such as "clutter, food, tools in garage, sheets, towels", but take issue with electrical "not up to code and exposed wiring". "Exposed wiring" implies bare wires. Houses built in California in the late 70's and 80's did not have ceiling lights in many rooms, had vaulted ceilings, no attics, with a light switch controlling a wall outlet. The solution was a "swag light" which includes a chain to support the light and "hide" the wire from the fixture to the wall outlet. "visible wires" is a more accurate description than "exposed" wires. The car in the garage was a fully functional car with one low tire with 20 pounds pressure, not flat implying an abandoned/stored car. Our house is rented. when not used by us and our family, mostly by repeat guests. We take all feedback seriously and always take care of valid concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Did not meet expectations

  • 1 of 5

Previous reviews of this property focus on the location which is great. The property, however, is subpar compared to other places we have rented in the same area over past eight years. Each time we stayed one month. The house is so cluttered with knick-knacks that it is impossible to feel comfortable. All " updates" to this 38 year old home are poorly executed DIY projects.

Problems include:

--unsafe electrical outlet in kitchen for toaster and coffee maker

--electrical cords hang from the ceilings and run down the walls

--towels and bed linens are old

--the single handle shower faucet is sink sized and difficult to use

--screen door slider doesn't work properly and screen is torn

--outdoor furniture has broken straps, peeling paint, and broken mosaics on the tabletop

--the side yard has a pile of rusting rubbish and broken toys

So while the location is good, this doesn't make up for the house itself.The home is lacking and uncomfortable compared to similarly priced rentals in the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first review and guest that not only loved the location, but the house itself, including decorations. We are, however, going in April and will address any current issues that are valid, e.g. electrical outlet mentioned. That was not loose the last time we were there. The extension cords are actually "swag lights" and "swag" power with decorative chains to several of the fans. We will make an objective assessment of what needs attention. We will remove the stuff on the side yard, where usually no one goes there except the gardener to access the rear year from the side gate. We will inventory and address knick-knacks and towels, if necessary. We, our married children, married grandchildren, friends, and past guests all use the house, so we make every effort possible to keep the house well maintained, updated, clean, and enjoyable as best we can. This is not just a rental house or investment property. It has been in our family since it was new.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and fully stocked for us when we arrived. Extra linens, paper towels, toilet paper in the hall closet, lots of dishes, pots and pans in the kitchen. Other places we have stayed that had a kitchen had minimal supplies. It was nice to be able to cook a meal for the family and have all the dishes, etc. I needed. We also had access to the fire pit and the grill in the backyard. Lots of amenities nearby including shopping, Legoland, and the beach! Owners provided additional information about local sites, restaurants, and entertainment. Everything about this place-from first contact with the owners to final goodbye-was excellent.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

This lovely family home was completely equipped and comfortable for my siblings and I to just relax and enjoy California and each other. We definitely appreciated the full kitchen and outside eating area. The house was clean and in good repair. The owners were friendly and helpful. Thanks for making our reunion a success.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Palomar Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
La Costa or Aviara
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Coaster/Amtrack connection
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Tip Top European/Benihanas/BucaDiBeppo/King's Fish
Nearest Beach
1.2 Miles
South Carlsbad State Beach
Car: necessary

Leo Carillo Calif State Park

Oceanside Harbor, marina, pier

Dana Point, Doheny harbor, narina

Solana Beach Cedros Design District

Temecula old town and 25 wineries

Carlsbad, LaJolla, San Diego


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning/Laundry $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties