Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Life is Always Great (Again!) - Lakefront Living - Stay & Play

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage getaway, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeper Sofa, Sleeps 8 up 14 total

Life is Always Great (Again!) on Stone Lake - Lakefront Living - Stay Together & Play Together

In our family, vacations are about enjoying life and making wonderful memories- together. Life is too short and quality time to scarce to waste on ordinary experiences. So when we are looking for vacation destinations and four season fun, we say go big or stay home.

Our spacious deck offers the best views of the lake while having breakfast or grilling with the family. Our sandy beach is a stones throw away and fenced in yard makes it safe for both children and pets and ample onsite parking along the property for everyone.

Got Sun?

This fully furnished lake front home is situated with a gorgeous view of the beach and lakefront, open space and shade trees. This property is perfect for a romantic getaway or a large family gathering, with cookouts, campfires and even tent camping by the shore, all while overlooking all sports Stone Lake. Skip stones off the dock and admire the beautiful and historic Cass County Courthouse in the distance across the lake. It's our little piece of heaven.

Got Kids?

Awesome! We do too (Eight - yes really) Kids will go wild (and be out of your hair if need be) swimming and exploring the lakeshore. Are you worried that the kids will whine if it rains because there's no X-Box? (Don't worry we got you covered there too with an X-Box 360, but bring your own games.)

Got Snow?

Book in the winter and ice fish in the annual Stone Lake ice fishing tournament. Got kids or are young at heart, sled down one of our 250' hills or hop over to Swiss Valley Resort 20 minutes (13.77 miles) away to get your ski or snow board on!

Got a Huge Family (Like Us)?

We've got good new for you! We own another property right next door!

Our Stone Lake Family Retreat Home (HA-VRBO 394808) offers 2500 sq. ft of comfortable living space (5BR/4Bath) with lake views, open space and large trees worthy of a state park. This home accommodates 12-14+ guests (More if you want to stick the kids in a tent by the lake shore) and comes complete with DUAL KING MASTER SUITE'S WITH PRIVATE BATHROOMS. One with an authentic jacuzzi two person tub and a private glass sliding walkout to enjoy your coffee while watching the sun come up over the lake.

If the dates are available, rent both properties to host 25-30 guests. Each with stunning views of the entire property. Regardless of whether it's Spring, Summer, Winter, or Fall, there's something for everyone.

Got Boating Needs?

Great! We also have an onsite boating package rental (additional cost) that includes a paddle boat, canoe, AND Pontoon, see rate section for pricing. Please bring your own water toys, etc, there's plenty to do.

Got a Request?

Looking for anything else? Let us know and we'll see what we can do, but please first call to reserve your week of memories you won't forget.

We hope you will come stay with us and experience why 'Life is Great on Stone Lake!'

With much Love and Fun,

Kevin & Kyra Weber

Keywords: Lakefront, Lakefront house rental, family vacation, Lakehouse Rental, 3 bedrooms, Diamond Lake, Multi-Family, ND, Notre Dame, Football weekend, fish, ice fishing, snow, ski, sled, snow board

More Details

Guest Services Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Guest Services Manager

Growing up in Michigan and Ohio respectively, we have always loved the outdoors and healthy lifesyle that it brings. Life is Great is one of our family motto's (another is no Whining!) and we hope you enjoy our lake home as much as our 8 kids and two grand-kids do.

Guest Services Manager purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Guest Services Manager chose Cassopolis

We bought this Cottage as sister property/guest house to our other listing (VRBO 346053) for our family to enjoy all year around. Not just the views which are truly beautiful and the serenity they bring, but also the large lush lawn and mature trees. Being close to Diamond Lake, Notre Dame, Swiss Valley Ski Resort, Chicago and Detroit doesn't hurt either. :-)

What makes this cottage unique

Combined with our other property we have over 1.5 acres of lawn and 300' of open access lake front, we truly feel we have the best of both worlds, a great house, a large open yard for games and entertainment with mature oak trees, deer who visit and easy access to beautiful Stone Lake. Come winter, we can sled down one of our 250' hills, ice fish or hop over to Swiss Valley 25 minutes away to get our ski or snow board on.


Cassopolis Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12 ...
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Jacuzzi Bath Tub
  • Full size bathroom with Authentic Jacuzzi Tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom has a 6'slider to the deck
    Family Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper sofa in family room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Twin beds can be joined to make a king bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Twin beds can be joined to make a king bed
  • King bed in the Master Bedroom, and Twin Trundles in bedrooms two and three
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Life is Always Great (Again!) - Lakefront Living - Stay & Play
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews

House is very poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

One needs to take under account that this property is on the lower end of the rent range.

However, it doesn't take more than 5min after walking in to realize that the owners are not putting anything into mainting their property.

House gives the impression that has not seen a good cleaning in years. Has a heavy smell lingering, that you can encounter by going in a house in a ghetto somewhere, smell that has no explanation, but appears after years of not doing proper cleaning. Shower curtain was covered with mold. There were cobwebs and various bugs inside the house. Towels also had a weird smell that I could not explain, but would guess comes from being moldy at some point. Porch stairs and deck are in poor condition and are shaking when someone goes up the stairs to the point where every single coffee cup got spilled. There was a wasp nest in the grill, one of friends got stung and we had to go get a killer spray to take care of them.

The little dock is in an extremely poor condition to where it is unsafe to walk on.

Myself and some of my friends were camping and I have to say I am glad I stayed outdoors. You can't camp in the property as it is on a steep hill, so I had to ask the people next door and stay in their property which was fine.

Overall the house does it's job, but if it was up to me - either a full remodel or just rebuild.

I have rented multiple properties in the town, including 2 of the neighboring houses and this is by far the worst.

There was a rather large fox coming at times that everyone was feeding - that was cool.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: ***We are truly sorry this guest appeared to have an unpleasant experience. Please read our other reviews for more fair and balanced guest feedback. While we value all of the feedback we receive, we appreciate the feedback we get where we may be able to address any and all concerns upon check-in and / or during the stay. This is so that if we fall short (it does happen, we are not perfect), we can try to remedy the situation to the benefit of all. We have professional cleaners and a linen service who want to know too. So, upon inspection, we discovered that the basement floor drain trap dried out, allowing a slight odor which was easily remedied by pouring a cup of water into it. We did miss some cobwebs and the shower curtain did have some mildew on the bottom, it was replaced. Otherwise, the house was clean and sanitary The deck and dock are safe and we quickly remove any wasp nests we are made aware of. So, perhaps expectations were missed. This is a lake house with woods across the street. We have bugs and deer, frogs and fishes and apparently a cool Fox as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great View

  • 4 of 5

Lake views from this property are great. Deck off the back has perfect view of the lake and beach area. The home and appliances functioned perfectly.for my family. Beds were comfortable and clean, home was comfortable and clean. We got the boat package, boat operated great, easy to drive and enjoy. The lake water was clean and clear, and there were times we had the entire lake to ourselves. Felt like a private lake.....very cool. I'd come here again, lake, golf nearby, nice town, wonderful locals. Great family outdoors vacation destination.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL

Just like the last time - perfect

  • 5 of 5

This place is awesome every time. Highly recommend it. Pontoon makes the trip. The deck is large and great - most of the weekend spent on the boat or the deck. Inside is clean/ cozy/ large enough to accommodate our groups. AC is perfect on those crazy hot days. Beds are super comfy. It's a great time. That's why we come back.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A Good Time

  • 5 of 5

Overall the house and property were great. Was able to accommodate a good group of people.

Only downside was the lake...Can't really do much fishing off the dock as there is a lot of seaweed near the shore. Never saw a fish. Would be better if there was a boat package for everything but the pontoon boat. Might have purchased that to try to get to the middle of the lake.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

We we had a fantastic time and can't wait to return. The home was lovely and the view overlooking the lake way great. Kevin the owner and Tracy the property manager were very easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had a great stay

  • 5 of 5

Nice property, everything was exactly as describe. Well maintained and no real problems.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Michiana Regional Airport (SBN)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Full Bull
Nearest Golf
0.75 Miles
Diamond Lake Golf Course
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Niles, MI Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Swiss Valley Resort
Nearest Beach
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Boating, Cross Country & Downhill Skiing, Snowmobiling, Health & Beauty Spa, Kayaking, Shopping, Snowboarding, Wildlife Viewing, Basketball Court


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $500

Peak Season Weekly: Saturday Turnover

Optional Boat Package: +$395 stays of 2-3 nights / +$795 stays of 4-7 nights. Includes Pontoon+Fuel, Row Boat, Canoe, & Paddle Boat.

Pricing for Notre Dame Football Weekends / Holidays may be higher. Cash Prices Shown. Small additional convenience fee for credit cards. Rates are subject to change without notice until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties