Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

California Dreamin' at Lake Gaston

Sleeps21
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 6,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

The house sits at the end of a 300 ft driveway.A flat terrain takes you to lake

Are you ready for the Ultimate Lake Experience' ? If so, 'California Dreamin' is the place for your dream vacation. The house is a tri-level, with each level having a full kitchen and a kitchenette on the third floor. The house was decorated by Creative Designs By Sondra, who's list of client's include rap singer Missy Elliott and was featured on MTV 'CRIBS'. Sondra has also won many awards at the Home-A-Rama in Tidewater, VA and has won the Golden Award for the best swimming pool design.

This lake house is decorated 'to the MAX' and you will feel like you are in the penthouse of Lake Gaston. Amenities include Jacuzzi tubs on all three levels, Foosball table in the basement, Ping Pong table on the upper level, Work Out room with eliptical and free weights on the main level and of course an awesome view of the lake with a boat lift and pier to tie up to, if needed. The boat ramp is about 5 miles up River Road and is maintained by Dominion Power for public use. Pontoon boats can easily be launched with no hassles.

The house is perfect for multi-family rental, weddings, and family reunions. The main level ''room over garage' has two bunk beds and two trundle beds. Will sleep 9 kids total. The kids will feel like they have their own separate area to 'be kids'. A toddler bed is also ready to set up and can be easily moved.

The house is complete with satellite T.V. and wireless internet service. Phone service is limited to 911 service only, so you will want to bring your cell phone.

Each level of the house has it's own deck area, complete with lounges, patio furniture, and that amazing view of the lake! A gas grill is provided on the basement patio and man level deck. So, come on down, ready to 'chill and grill', swim, fish, boat, ski, relax and soak up the most beautiful lake Carolina has to offer.

**The water is clear, warm, and beautiful. Located in the Piedmont area of southern Virginia and northern North Carolina. It is the last major impoundment on the Roanoke River, and offers excellent water quality and water level fluctuations that are less than one foot. It is 35 miles long and has over 350 miles of shoreline. Lake Gaston is within a three hour drive of Washington DC, an hour and a half to two hours from Raleigh North Carolina and Virginia Beach Virginia.

Extra Optional Amenities/Fees:

Pontoon Boat - $1,500/week

1 Kayak/1 Paddle Board - $150/week

2 Kayaks/2 Paddle Boards - $275/week

3 Kayaks - $375/week

4 Kayaks - $450/week

Pets - $75 per pet

More Details

Property Manager
Jeremy Showers/Sondra Cooke
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

Map

Washburn's Marina
"Located approx 2 miles from California Dreamin At Lake Gaston , simply make a right out of d..."
Pino's Pizza and Restaurant
"Located over in Gasburg , across the street from M and L Grocery and gas.It is also close to..."
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Halifax Regional
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Lakehouse
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Country Club Shores
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Route 46 is approx 4 miles....it takes you to I-95
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
The Lakehouse
Car: necessary

Bingo at the Fire station, local Flea Market. Front yard area large enough to accommodate a volleyball set, croquet set, corn hole, etc. The property is ideal for weddings.

There is also wake boarding competions held locally (seasonal). Fishing tournaments are held on many weekends, in season.

Amenities

Henrico House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 21
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 21 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , basement level...large countertop..heater fan...
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , main level..large contemporary pedestal sink..mirror
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , upper level..glass shower dbl sinks..murals..columns
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , main level glass shower...dbl sinks..wall murals..
  • 3.5 the wall muraling on the main and upper level are truly gorgeous....the jetted tubs are surrounded in ceramic tile with faux finished columns..both baths have large glass showers. The basement bath is also beautifully decorated with faux finished walls and jetted tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 1 Basement Level - 1 queen , tv in room....not hooked to satellite....dvd and vcr only
    Bedroom 2 Basement level - 1 queen , tv in room....not hooked to satellite...dvd and vcr only
    Bedroom 3 Main entry level - 1 king , 1 child bed , tv in room with direct tv..master bathroom attached
    Bedroom 4( third floor) - 1 queen , no tv in room...large screen tv in game/ping pong room
    Bedroom 5 (third floor) - 1 king , no tv, but door opens to large screen direct tv and pingpong
    Bedroom 6(room over garage) - 1 child bed , 2 bunk bed , There are also 2 trundle beds that sleep 4 people..kids room
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), 2 Trundle beds (sleeps 4 ) Child Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2 sets...sleeps 4 ) total: sleeps 21 people
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Main floor sun room has an elliptical machine and free weight (dumb bells). You can work out while catching the view of the lake. Don't forget about the Foosball table in the basement and the Ping Pong table is located on the main level. Direct TV is provided on all three levels , and many teenagers hook up their video games.PLEASE hook tv back up the way you found it. Also, there is a Fire Pit.. Bring the marsh mellows and coat hangers.. it's time for s'mores..Relax in the hammock , in the shade , or ease back on either of the two sundecks above the boat lifts. As mentioned previously , the use of the hot tub is determined by the owner , due to previous neglect.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
9% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
California Dreamin' at Lake Gaston
average rating of 4.7906976 based on 43 reviews
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

Our family absolutely loved at stay. Perfect location and everything you could ask for in a rental house for the week. Sondra was incredibly helpful and responsive, and always had our family's enjoyment of our stay as her #1 priority. We would stay at California Dreamin' - and rent from Sondra - again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I so much appreciate you taking the time CHRIS to write me a review on your experience of your stay at California dreaming. I thank you very much for your kind words and write up about my home and myselfI enjoy my renters and I really enjoyed getting to know them and most of all making sure they are happy during their visit here. I hope to see you and your family here once again in the future you are always welcome back to my home. Sincerely sondra cooke property owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5

Sondra always goes above and beyond to make sure your stay in enjoyable. This is our 4th time renting the house. Plenty of room and plenty of things to do.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PERFECT VACATION DESTINATION

  • 5 of 5

California Dreamin was a perfect blend of fun and sun. The house was beautiful and clean. The decor was very fun and invited fun moods, games, and gatherings. My family loved the house, all 6200sqft.

Sondra was welcoming and accommodating, we had a couple small issues at first but Sondra was on top if it and eager to make certain her guest were happy and comfortable.

The boat dock was great, the water deep enough to jump of and swim in water that just seemed to be a perfect temperature. We rented the pontoon and kayaks and everything was great, if you enjoy coffee at 0730 on the porch or dock, then a 30-45 minute kayak trip by 0830, this is the spot for you. The cove was quiet enough for family but fun enough for a party. The main lake body is 150 200 yards away, just far enough away from high speed traffic but close enough to get to quickly and start the boating fun.

My family totalled 13 at one point with AMPLE ROOM.

Sondra and her California Dream house was perfect.

With any luck we are going back next year.

See you in 2018

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Mateo, California
5

Great house in a nice location!

  • 5 of 5

Had a beautiful couple days on Lake Gaston at this large house on the water. Sondra was a pleasure to work with, and everyone loved the decorations in the house. Plenty of kitchen space as well!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Family Reunion

  • 2 of 5

The house is Huge and sits nicely on the lake with a great view. Lots of space from Kitchen to living room to Bedroom. 19 of us stayed (9 Adults and 10 kids). We had a great time being together. It was private and quite. The house was clean and they had two kayak we used. However, the reason for my 2 star is because I think the beds (esp. the ones in the twin and bunk beds) need a good cleaning or replaced. All of the kids had bug bites. One of the Jacuzzi was not working and we were not offered a discount. Finally, $95.00 was taken off our deposit for booking fees (this was not disclosed to us prior to booking).

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Musab, since your stay in November, I have had all of my mattresses checked by exterminators to ensure that there are no bed bugs in any of my mattresses. The surrounding lake area has chiggers in the woods, so I believe this is where the bug bites came from. Also, please note that there were 2 other jacuzzi bathtubs for guests to use. Due to excessive usage, a leak occurred in the 3rd floor bathroom, at which we have to had to repaired until after all our renters left after this past winter. Also, there is a hot tub located on the basement floor for usage at an additional cost of $100 per stay, but you did not opt to use this - the extra cost is due to having to drain the tub and resupplying it with water & chemicals. There is also a booking fee charged to every renter if renters choose to book through VRBO. This fee was disclosed to you prior to booking, but was not paid so it was deducted from the security deposit (as all renters are responsible for paying this fee)... other than that, we returned the full security deposit ,less the booking fee. We go beyond our means to ensure that all our guests are happy and satisfied with our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great House

  • 4 of 5

Very spacious and clean home with three separate floors to divide up the group or congregate together. Everything you could possibly need and some small issues we had were resolved with a quick telephone call.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning Fee $450 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.5%

Dogs must be 50 lbs or less in weight, and must be treated with flea/tick preventative meds before arrival. It's $75 per pet.

Towels are $75/week for use and optional as you can bring your own. Sheets and all bedding are the same at $75/week. You are not allowed to use the washer and dryer for your personal bedding and or towels, only your clothing. Paper towels, toilet paper, and trash bags and laundry detergent are not supplied. You must bring your own. House comes fully stocked with all dishes, pots, pans, crockpot, silverware, coffee pots, etc. Use of grills is authorized but you must turn the propane handle off when not in use. No reservations will be confirmed or held until we receive the signed/dated contract by mail with enclosed security deposit check in the amount of $500. All checks are to be made out to Sondra Cooke and mailed to Sondra Cooke, 1681 Tulls Creek Road, Moyock, NC 27958. Security deposits on weekly rentals is $500 enclosed with a signed contract. 1/2 of remaining balance is due 90 days prior to arrival date. The final balance is due 60 days prior to arrival date. Security deposits on 3 night stays is $500, plus 50% of the balance is due 90 days prior to your arrival date. The final payment is due 60 days prior to your arrival date. House must be left in good cleaning condition it was found before departure. Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years rates are weekly $2000, or $350/night with a 3 night minimum. Weddings and family reunions have an additional cost of $500 to the listed rate(s). There is a cleaning fee of $250. Kayaks, 1 kayak is $150/wk, 2 kayaks are $275/wk, and 3 kayaks are $375/wk. Lost paddles are $35 each charge. There are no one day rentals on kayaks. Pontoon boat rental is $1,500/wk.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.