expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Dorrance Way Cottage By the Sea

Carpinteria, CA, USA
  • Cottage700 sqft
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay5 nights

Enjoy "The World's Safest Beach" in this Carpinteria Beach cottage. Located just two blocks from the sand with lovely mountain views this cozy furnished 2BR/1BA home has everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. It features double pane windows, bamboo and linoleum flooring, cable/internet access, washer/dryer, BBQ, large private fenced rear yard and single car off-street parking space.

It's going to be a great summer and fall - come enjoy the beach!

Property Manager

Kyle Kimberlin

Member Since 2012
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 14, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
        • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) twin with trundle

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
          • 1

          Location Type

            • Mountain View

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Living Room
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Garage
                      For storage only
                    • Parking
                      Driveway
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine
                    • Wireless Internet

                      Kitchen

                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                        • Microwave
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 4 people

                              Entertainment

                                • CD Player
                                • DVD Player
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Stereo
                                • Television
                                • VCR

                                  Outside

                                    • Deck / Patio
                                    • Outdoor Grill

                                      House Rules

                                      Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                      Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                      Cancellation Policy

                                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                      5 Reviews

                                      Very Good4/5

                                      Latest reviews

                                      Perfect Little Beach Cottage

                                      Beth M.San Diego

                                      This place suited us just fine. A little weathered (like us), clean, comfortable and great location.

                                      Big fenced backyard great for dog. Nice short walk down to beach, which allows dogs on leash to the right for a good stretch, but not left onto state beach. Great restored salt marsh walking trails right across the street (dogs not allowed). We love Carpinteria; the town retains its character in spite of mini-mansions sprouting up. Wonderful Farmer's Market on Thursday afternoons. Short trip into Santa Barbara, but frankly, everything you need is right here. Hope this unit stays dog-friendly.

                                      Beth & TC from San Diego

                                      Close to everything Carpinteria has to offer

                                      Vanessa M.

                                      Had to book this house last minute when my original plans fell thru. I accidentally came across this home and town. I was so glad i did. The home was close to everything. Loved the area. Quiet neighborhood. Nice older home. Had a fenced backyard. The rooms were spacious. The beach was a few minutes away. My family and I stayed for a week. We felt right at home. The homeowner was quick to respond to my questions . Will definitely try to rebook in the future.

                                      Cheap and everything in it is old...80's old.

                                      Shelly S.Bakersfield, CA

                                      Pictures are not all up to date. House, kitchen items, furnishings are old...very very old. I mean I wouldnt cook with the kitchen utensils in that kitchen after taking one look at them, just nasty. The patio and furniture was the worst, covered in bird drippings for years and filthy old. Not possible to sit out there, it was all mis matched junk. No grass, just a yard full of dead dry weeds, my pets wouldn't even walk on it to piddle, so dry it hurt their paws. Front yard was exactly the same. Master bed was sad, we both sunk to the middle. The rug in the master (and every rug in the house) was old and filthy. No power outlets in the bathroom, I had to find an extension cord to have power in the bedroom for a hairdryer.

                                      I rent on Homeaway and other sites frequently. I will not ever go back to this house or recommend to anyone. If you dont care about anything other than a room to poorly sleep in this is your place, but it's far from a cottage to relax and enjoy a family get away in. The only thing this place had going for it was the location and the excellent property manager. Owners need to drop about 10k into this property and update everything inside it. It would benefit the rental rate and renters return rate.

                                      Owner's Response:

                                      Mostly not true. I can't agree, and I don't think the guests who recently have this great little beach cottage 5 Stars would agree either.

                                      I took new photos for VRBO on May 4 and May 12, 2017. We bought all new kitchen utensils, pots and pans in October 2016. They've barely been used because we had a 6 month winter rental and that guest brought their own kitchen things.

                                      The patio table was purchased in August 2016 and was professionally cleaned the day before this guest arrived. The chairs are a matched set, 3 years old.

                                      The rugs were cleaned in the first week of May 2017.

                                      California - especially the south coast - is struggling to recover from a prolonged and famous drought, and we're in the process of removing the grass in favor of drought-tolerant landscaping. This guest might have noticed the new landscaped area straight out from the back door, with drought resistant plants and drip irrigation.

                                      I find no record that this guest had permission to bring pets.

                                      I agree with the guest about the mattress in the master bedroom - a little saggy

                                      - and it is being replaced immediately.

                                      Charming homebase

                                      Katie C.Austin, TX

                                      We stayed for two weeks at this adorable cottage. We had plenty of space for myself, my 2 year old and his grandmother. Clean, with plenty of kitchen gears, and overall such a charming layout. The neighborhood is perfect for walking to the beach (3 min walk), being near so much of Carpinteria, and was very peaceful at night. The owner was very responsive and quick with any questions, and was very flexible with all my questions. Only item I'll call out is there is no tub (only shower), but we were able to make that work. Overall I'm soooo happy we stayed here, and would love to return when back in the area. Highly recommend as your homebase!

                                      Carpinteria's Complete Package!

                                      Leslie D.

                                      This is the place to be if you're staying in Carpinteria! It's in the perfect location on a quiet street with just a short walk to everything you need. We happened to be there on a weekend when the weather wasn't perfect, but the place is so well stocked, our entire family was perfectly content staying in and playing games, cooking and watching movies. It had EVERYTHING we needed for a stay-in day. And it's so cozy, we didn't want to leave anyway! The next day the sun was out and we were everywhere on foot with this cottage as our home base. The backyard was perfect for letting the kids play while the adults had cocktail hour. And the mountain views from the front door are amazing!

                                      We can't wait to come back and stay at this place again.

                                      Location

                                      Carpinteria, CA, USA

                                      Rates & Availability

                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                      Cleaning Fee
                                      $135
                                      Tax Rate
                                      12%
                                      $149avg/night
                                      5 Reviews
                                      Very Good 4/5
                                      Premier Partner
                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                      For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                      Property # 417948

                                      x