Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dorrance Way Cottage By the Sea

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Enjoy "The World's Safest Beach" in this Carpinteria Beach cottage. Located just two blocks from the sand with lovely mountain views this cozy furnished 2BR/1BA home has everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. It features double pane windows, bamboo and linoleum flooring, cable/internet access, washer/dryer, BBQ, large private fenced rear yard and single car off-street parking space.

Special Rates Available for booking 2 weeks, 2 months or more, etc. Contact the Manager or visit:

http://www.look4seascaperealty.com/dorrance-way-cottage-sea

This home will be available for vacation rental reservations of one month to six months, beginning Saturday Oct 14, 2017. This is not a month-to-month rental or a lease, but rental on a reservation basis. The cottage may not be booked as a guest's primary residence. If you're interested in a "snow bird" winter vacation at the beach, please contact the manager.

SEASCAPE REALTY

Mgr: Kyle Kimberlin

4915 Carpinteria Ave Suite C.

Carpinteria CA 93013

Office 805 684 4161

Direct 805 669 8794

BRE License #01484280

Airport: Santa Barbara Municipal Airport

Distance: 25-35 minutes

More Details

Property Manager
Kyle Kimberlin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

About Kyle Kimberlin

SEASCAPE REALTY

Mgr: Kyle Kimberlin

4915 Carpinteria Ave Suite C.

Carpinteria CA 93013

Email VisitCarpinteria at gmail dot com (please format the address; this website removes proper email addresses)

Office 805 684 4161

Direct 805 669 8794

Amenities

Carpinteria Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) twin with trundle
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Dorrance Way Cottage By the Sea
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
5

Carpinteria's Complete Package!

  • 5 of 5

This is the place to be if you're staying in Carpinteria! It's in the perfect location on a quiet street with just a short walk to everything you need. We happened to be there on a weekend when the weather wasn't perfect, but the place is so well stocked, our entire family was perfectly content staying in and playing games, cooking and watching movies. It had EVERYTHING we needed for a stay-in day. And it's so cozy, we didn't want to leave anyway! The next day the sun was out and we were everywhere on foot with this cottage as our home base. The backyard was perfect for letting the kids play while the adults had cocktail hour. And the mountain views from the front door are amazing!

We can't wait to come back and stay at this place again.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Close to everything Carpinteria has to offer

  • 4 of 5

Had to book this house last minute when my original plans fell thru. I accidentally came across this home and town. I was so glad i did. The home was close to everything. Loved the area. Quiet neighborhood. Nice older home. Had a fenced backyard. The rooms were spacious. The beach was a few minutes away. My family and I stayed for a week. We felt right at home. The homeowner was quick to respond to my questions . Will definitely try to rebook in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cheap and everything in it is old...80's old.

  • 1 of 5

Pictures are not all up to date. House, kitchen items, furnishings are old...very very old. I mean I wouldnt cook with the kitchen utensils in that kitchen after taking one look at them, just nasty. The patio and furniture was the worst, covered in bird drippings for years and filthy old. Not possible to sit out there, it was all mis matched junk. No grass, just a yard full of dead dry weeds, my pets wouldn't even walk on it to piddle, so dry it hurt their paws. Front yard was exactly the same. Master bed was sad, we both sunk to the middle. The rug in the master (and every rug in the house) was old and filthy. No power outlets in the bathroom, I had to find an extension cord to have power in the bedroom for a hairdryer.

I rent on Homeaway and other sites frequently. I will not ever go back to this house or recommend to anyone. If you dont care about anything other than a room to poorly sleep in this is your place, but it's far from a cottage to relax and enjoy a family get away in. The only thing this place had going for it was the location and the excellent property manager. Owners need to drop about 10k into this property and update everything inside it. It would benefit the rental rate and renters return rate.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mostly not true. I can't agree, and I don't think the guests who recently have this great little beach cottage 5 Stars would agree either. I took new photos for VRBO on May 4 and May 12, 2017. We bought all new kitchen utensils, pots and pans in October 2016. They've barely been used because we had a 6 month winter rental and that guest brought their own kitchen things. The patio table was purchased in August 2016 and was professionally cleaned the day before this guest arrived. The chairs are a matched set, 3 years old. The rugs were cleaned in the first week of May 2017. California - especially the south coast - is struggling to recover from a prolonged and famous drought, and we're in the process of removing the grass in favor of drought-tolerant landscaping. This guest might have noticed the new landscaped area straight out from the back door, with drought resistant plants and drip irrigation. I find no record that this guest had permission to bring pets. I agree with the guest about the mattress in the master bedroom - a little saggy - and it is being replaced immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Austin, TX
5

Charming homebase

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for two weeks at this adorable cottage. We had plenty of space for myself, my 2 year old and his grandmother. Clean, with plenty of kitchen gears, and overall such a charming layout. The neighborhood is perfect for walking to the beach (3 min walk), being near so much of Carpinteria, and was very peaceful at night. The owner was very responsive and quick with any questions, and was very flexible with all my questions. Only item I'll call out is there is no tub (only shower), but we were able to make that work. Overall I'm soooo happy we stayed here, and would love to return when back in the area. Highly recommend as your homebase!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135
Damage Deposit $500

SUMMER RENTALS: From start of summer season until Labor Day, stays must begin and/or end on Saturday.

OFF SEASON: Contact the manager for a custom quote on stays for a week, multiple weeks, or a month.

All utilities, internet, gardener, trash included in visits less than 6 months. Longer term stays tenant pays utilities/internet, owner pays water and gardener. Monthly rentals are considered during off-season (standard rate) periods, at a discounted rate. Please contact the manager for a quote.

If reserved 90 days or more in advance, $250 reservation fee is due to make the reservation and the balance due 60 days prior to arrival. If booked less than 90 days in advance, full payment is due when booking.

Photo ID required for all bookings. It may be scanned and emailed or presented on arrival, prior to access.

Current residence address must be provided when booking.

A personal check may be accepted when booking at least 30 days prior to arrival; otherwise, a cashier's check or money order is required. (Offline payments.)

Reservations on VRBO must be paid at least 7 days in advance of arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties