Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 Bedroom/3 Bath with Huge Backyard just between Downtown and the Domain.

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Live like a local in this two story, four bedroom, three bath house with a large front and back yard just minutes from the downtown action. Rest your head tucked away in a quiet neighborhood with a scene of it's own known as NoBur to the locals. One King, two Queens, two Twins, Full 5.1 surround sound in the living area (hook up computers, mp3 players, etc), flatscreen TV's in every room, free wifi and cable television, and stainless steel appliances.

Property Manager
Thomas Roalson
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About Thomas Roalson

I have lived in Austin since 1990 and have since seen the city grow from the slower paced music scene it was in to the destination spot for many it has thankfully become. Playing live music and recording since I was the age of 12, this was the perfect place for me to grow up and call home while touring about the country and playing almost every live music venue in town. I enjoy residing here as well as getting to travel to other destinations when time permits.

Thomas Roalson purchased this house in 2006

Why Thomas Roalson chose North Shoal Creek

This is the largest house in this neighborhood with a great sized back yard perfect for patio fun, grilling, etc.... Nice quiet street and friendly neighbors however, night life and downtown are just minutes away. This location is second to none for getting to enjoy all the best that Austin has to offer.

What makes this house unique

Large house on quiet street, yet located in central Austin only 10 minutes from downtown and only five minutes to the new Domain! Plus, there' s plenty to do during the day and night in this part of the city as well! North Burnet is a happening place to be.


North Shoal Creek House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master bathroom connected to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , opens up to bedroom two and the hallway on the first floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms come with a flat screen television, ceiling fans, closets, and nightstands with lamps. The master bedroom has it's own bathroom and the other downstairs bathroom connects to the hall as well as the other downstairs bedroom.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
I am here to make sure that you have an amazing stay during your time in Austin! Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance and have a great day!


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
4 Bedroom/3 Bath with Huge Backyard just between Downtown and the Domain.
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

Excellent Home, Excellent Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for a week for a wedding in Austin. The home was way more than I expected. Beds were very comfortable, property is in close proximity to The Domain and other great shopping areas and with walking distance to other great areas. I would definitely rent this home again on another trip!. Landlord also very helpful and I didn't even have to call one time as I have had to do in the past with other rentals.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was happy to host you and your family during your time in Austin! Please know that you're welcome back any time, I'd love to have you guys back again. Have a great day and safe travels. -Thomas
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I believe that reviews can be very biased and thus unfair; rather than a review, this is a statement of facts, starting with the fact that we filed a formal Property Complaint with Homeaway Inc. about this property, for the following reasons:

A. Property is old, stale, with defects everywhere, not in disrepair but it needs work.

B. Homeowner alleged we damaged his property; we didn’t cause any damage, had there been any issue we would have notified him immediately; nonetheless, since we took out property insurance, we agreed with the homeowner that he file a claim with the insurance company; thankfully, CSA Insurance processed and paid the claim.

C. Despite claim payment, the homeowner refused to pay our refundable deposit stating that Homeaway Inc. would send us a check, a fact known to be untrue; after intervention from Homeaway Inc, he finally refunded our deposit in full, although late after the agreed upon deadline.

Honestly, we wish we had nice things to say about this property, but there isn’t any; as a mere suggestion to future travelers, check carefully all your options before booking this property. We hold no grudges and wish the homeowner well.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The facts are that Art got caught damaging my property and Homeaway Inc and CSA Insurance settled in my favor. This is the first insurance claim I've ever had to file, and Homeaway even gifted me 6 months free to my subscription for my troubles with Art. Art and his group seemed like nice enough folks, I didn't even hear from them at all during their 7 night stay at my house which is typical. Most groups just come, have a great time, leave, and that's the end of it. I figured it'd be the same here. I had messaged him through the Homeaway forum on the last day, like I always do with my guests, and wished them safe travels. He replied verbatim ... "Yes we left at 6 AM today and my wife started the laundry and the dishwasher. Thank you. We enjoyed our trip." The next day he messaged me asking me to refund his $250 security deposit asap. Unfortunately I had to file an insurance claim instead. They smashed a hole in the wall that went all the way through the sheetrock. They also ruined all the bedding to one of the queen beds. It rubbed me the wrong way that that he tried to get me to refund his security deposit before I could even get back to discover the obvious damage to my home. I sent him pictures, we discussed, he agreed, assumed responsibility for the damage, and we both decided it best that I file the claim. Everything was seemingly fine at this point, we just both had to wait for the insurance settlement and the distribution of funds. This resulted in the delay of my reimbursement for damages as well as his security deposit ($250). That's when Art began to become increasingly upset. Art took it personally that he hadn't yet received his security deposit back even though I explained to him that Homeaway literally holds all security deposits for all reservations. Despite his accusations, I never had his security deposit funds. He threatened me via text message numerous times and then ultimately left me a one star review on Aug 3rd which was 23 days after his departure from my house. I heard nothing negative from Art during his seven night stay which was July 4-11, or the following three weeks after. It was only when he grew impatient to receive his funds that the threats and negativity ensued. I do not believe a one star review is an accurate reflection of his stay in my home, but rather a reflection of his impatience to receive his security deposit refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Texas, U.S.A.


  • 4 of 5

Comfortable home and very pleasant host!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jennifer. Hope to see you again, cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house for ACL

  • 5 of 5

House was clean and had plenty of parking for 4 cars in the driveway, close to Mopac which made getting to/from ACL a breeze. No complaints, would consider renting again.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Charles and it was absolutely my pleasure hosting you guys! Please know that you're welcome back any time. Cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly met our needs

  • 4 of 5

The home was in an excellent location close to everything one could possibly need. The house was well stocked with any amenity you could desire and I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the house and that it perfectly met your needs. Please let me know what I can do to make it a five star experience for next time. Thanks so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredibly convenient location!

  • 5 of 5

We met our family to spend the Memorial Day weekend together in Austin. The house is spacious and accommodated 3 couples and 4 children well. Everything was clean and the house was well supplied with the necessities.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words Karen. It was my pleasure hosting you and please know that you're welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax

I want to be sure that all my guests have a great time and I hope they can help me as well by simply being respectful of my neighbors and the house itself. Please no smoking, no loud partying, and just be mindful when out in the back porch/yard past 9pm. You certainly don't have to whisper, this is Austin, have fun!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund