Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quiet 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Condominium Close To Golf And The Beach!

Upon entering our suite, you'll see the large windows in the living room, the kitchen to your left and the second bedroom and bath to your right. Continuing into the living area, the master suite is to your left and the sliding doors to the L-shaped lanai are to your right.

Our most recent improvement is complete replacement of all the vertical blinds in the suite. The suite features 9-foot ceilings throughout and we've highlighted this with new living room furniture, including a comfy sofa and loveseat set, new end tables, and even new lamps! The 42-inch TV and DVD/Blu-Ray are brand new too. Two sets of sliding glass doors open from the living room to the wrap-around lanai with views to the north and west for watching those awesome Hawaiian sunsets! The lanai has seating for four around the glass-topped table, plus two chaise lounges and another table perfect for those late afternoon drinks.

The master suite features a king size bed, triple dresser, new lamps on the bedside tables, and brand new 32-inch HD TV. Mirrored sliding doors on the closet add dimension to the room, which looks out over a sea of lava toward the golf fairway. A palm leaf ceiling fan helps keep guests cool.

The master bathroom is roomy with two sinks, huge spa bathtub and separate, completely redone shower, and separate lavatory room to boot. There's also another closet with mirrored sliding doors to finish out the room.

The second bedroom is on the opposite side of the suite from the master bedroom and has a brand new queen bed, double dresser, 28-inch HD TV, and a large closet with mirrored sliding doors. The room opens directly to the lanai through sliding glass doors. The adjacent bathroom features a completely redone shower and separate spa tub.

The kitchen features many new appliances and utensils including a Black & Decker coffeemaker, Cuisinart blender, and Kitchen Aid 4-slice toaster. The kitchen is also equipped with a cook-top stove, microwave oven, traditional oven, and a large side-by-side fridge/freezer complete with ice maker.

The dining room is directly adjacent to the kitchen and looks out over the lava field to the golf fairway. The glass-topped table seats 5 easily. And the new bar stools make conversation at the counter easy!

Other amenities include:

-rice cooker

-high speed internet

-water toys

-cooler

-beach towels

-hair dryer in each bathroom

-central air conditioning

-washer and dryer

-access to swimming pool, tennis courts, and fitness room.

Our cancellation policy: Cancellation fee $50 if cancelled prior to 60 days of arrival. Cancellations within 60 days of arrival or less are subject to forfeiture of security deposit. Cancellations within 30 days of arrival or less are subject to forfeiture of full rental payment.

More Details

Owner
Karen Panter
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Karen Panter

Two couples, Mark and Karen (left in photo), Barbara and Scott (right), purchased the property in summer 2012. We all reside on the mainland, Scott and Barbara in northern California and Mark and Karen in southern Wyoming.

Karen Panter purchased this condo in 2012

Why Karen Panter chose Kohala Coast

Mark and Karen had stayed at The Shores in 2004 and thoroughly enjoyed the exceptional suites and the proximity to A-Bay, the Hilton, the shopping areas (Kings and Queens), and being so close to Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, and Volcanoes National Park. When the opportunity arose to purchase this unit, we all jumped on it!

What makes this condo unique

The Shores are close to A Bay, shopping, and golf. Numerous beaches line the Kohala Coast, each unique in its own way. Nineteen miles south is Kona International Airport and a few miles further south is the city of Kailua-Kona. The Shores and the Waikoloa area are excellent starting points to explore the Big Island of Hawaii!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Owners note: Our guest posted this on our other web site (HomeAway #3002780) and we thought we'd add it here as well. He said: "This location is perfect for a visit to the Big Island. It's 17 miles north of the airport and is easy to find. Fine shopping, beaches and resort facilities are within pleasant walking distance. The condo itself is provisioned excellently, with plenty of everything and all very high quality. We recommend strongly that you make a detour to Costco on your way in. Stopping there first thing is a Big Island tradition for a reason. Supermarket prices, especially at Waikoloa, are eye-popping. Grab the basics at Costco and fresh produce, fish, etc. from the farmers' markets and little vendors and you'll save hundreds of dollars. Literally."
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Puako Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • The glass shower enclosures in both bathrooms were completely redone in October 2012.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size bed California king in the master suite. Queen bed in the second bedroom. Queen sleeper sofa in the living room, suitable for one person.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite
average rating of 4.6 based on 22 reviews
Los Alamitos, CA
4

very peaceful and great location.

  • 4 of 5

The place has a corner lanai looking out onto the golf course and across a ravine of lava rock. It was very peaceful and relaxing, and the kitchen was well supplied with a toaster, coffee machine, and plenty of pots and pans. My family an I had a wonderful time.

During the particular week I was there the condo next door was being renovated, but this only caused minimal problems which the property manger handled easily.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoy the suite for the same reasons you mentioned and we're happy to hear you had a great time. We are also glad to hear the remodeling next door didn't cause too much disruption for you and your family. Unfortunately there is little we can do about such things. Keep us in mind for your next visit to the Big Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great value for the money.

  • 5 of 5

We just finished our stay of 5 weeks at this condo. It was all that was stated. Excellent wifi and nice TVs. The condo was well stocked with both soap, paper towels and the like along with beach toys and great beach towels. The condo is on the main floor which is nice. The regular style furniture was much nicer than the bamboo style so often found in a rental. Parking was no problem and the swimming pool and hot tub are a short walk away. We would definitely recommend this condo and would rent again.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy to hear you enjoyed our suite! It does seem like many condos have an abundance of bamboo furniture, so we opted to go a more traditional route. We hope you will stay with us again! Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary
4

Beautiful Grounds

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Shores of Waikoloa. The unit is located a short walk from the pool and tennis courts (1 - 2 minute walk). Main floor and has a great view looking out over lava rock and golf course. Very peaceful to sit out on the lanai for breakfast. The unit itself is very well maintained. Two large bedrooms with TVs in each room as well as the living room. We felt very comfortable staying here. The kitchen had everything we needed. Lots of beach towels, boogie boards, and even a small cooler we would use for cold drinks to take on our excursions. Lots to do in the Waikoloa area: walk, jog, bike the greater waikoloa resort area. Lots of shops and the grounds are very well maintained. For longer excursions head to the beach for boogie boarding or snorkelling 5 to 10 minutes away.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These are precisely the reasons we enjoy our suite and the area so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, lots of space

  • 4 of 5

The property was more attractive in real life than on the video. Spacious and well appointed.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We owners value the spacious suite and also its location! Since it's located on a corner of The Shores property we've got great views and a quiet lanai.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Olympia, Wa
5

Great vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

The unit was very clean, it is well laid out, just perfect for (in our case) 2 couples. The kitchen is a bit cozy if more than one person at a time is trying to do anything-- but we managed just fine. Good selection of cookware, serving dishes etc., loved the convenient location, close to pool, fitness/tennis courts, (only one operational-net broken on 2nd :( court), all in all, great unit and we will stay again next time we are over!

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the feedback on some of the amenities offered in our suite and we will check the status of the tennis court net with The Shores management. Location of the suite was one of the biggest reasons we bought this one in particular!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice comfortable condo

  • 4 of 5

This condo is very well maintained. It has a nice homey feel. The kitchen is well stocked, although it could use some new pots and pans. Nice beaches near by. But disappointed that the A beach was closed for renovation. We were staying for a month and it was nice to have lots of amminaties provided ( such as laundry soap, shampoo and conditioner, body soap, large ice chest, beach toys and really nice large beach towel.) This is our second time renting this condo and will stay there again I'm sure. It made our vacation very enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for staying in our suite a second time and certainly appreciate your comments! Cookware does get used heavily; we've replaced them before and will do so again. We hope to hear from you the next time you have occasion to visit the Big Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Kona
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Kings' Shops
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Waikoloa Beach Course
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Hwy 19, Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Kings' Shops
Nearest Beach
0.75 Miles
Anaeho'omalu Bay
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 13.42%

Please note: the nightly rate does not include state of Hawaii taxes, VRBO booking fee, cleaning fee, or refundable deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties