Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Relax in Luxury & Privacy Kailua on a Gated Property

Bedrooms 1
Space 590 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom with Queen Bed & 1 Queen Memory Foam Pullout Sofa

Come stay at Hale `Awapuhi the house of red ginger. A luxurious, semi detached from the main home, large one bedroom apartment on the Windward side of Kailua. New for 2015, we just finished construction on a beautiful white fence and gate system surrounding the perimeter of the property for added privacy for our guests! We also recently added a new couch with a queen size memory foam mattress for guest comfort.

This rental apartment is the best of both worlds close to the beach and the mountains. Located just a 5 minute ride to the world famous Kailua and Lanikai beaches, and set in a lush, private tropical paradise with hundreds of walking and hiking trails. You can even walk to the golf course and community park featuring 6 tennis courts, a basketball court, and playground.

This apartment is located in a private and quiet section of Kailua something not usually found in our small beachtown. It is a tropical paradise, once home to the ancient Hawaiians. Discover the many archeological artifacts and ruins in the area on one your many hikes. Try the Maunawili trail hike to the water and swimming hole. Locate the Queens Bath, frequented by Hawaiian royalty in the 1800’s, or marvel at the ancient heiau and petroglyphs located along the banks of the four streams which feed into Kailua Bay – all within walking distance from your apartment.

Situated on a corner lot, with a separate entrance, you can relax on the lanai (patio) side your unit and listen to the sounds of the birds while you enjoy your morning coffee.

Inside the newly renovated, double wall construction apartment you will find hand scraped bamboo floors with a comfortable, spacious seating area and large windows . A sofa with a pull out bed beckons you to put your feet up after a long day at the beach, hiking, or shopping in Kailua town. Enjoy the flat screen TV or curl up with a good book.

Prepare meals in the new kitchen complete with solid quartz countertops; it has everything you need, going well beyond the kitchenette provided in most Kailua units including:

1. full size sink

2. full size refrigerator

3. coffee maker with self grinder

4. toaster

5. convection and microwave oven

6. induction cooktop

7. large nonstick plug in skillet

The bathroom contains a large, tiled walk in shower with a rainhead and ample storage. Perfect for washing off the sand or getting ready to go to some of the islands best restaurants in Kailua town.

The bedroom is furnished with teak furniture, and contains a top of the line, queen size foam mattress and Egyptian cotton linens.

The apartment is cool and breezy, but also comes equipped with ceiling fans in every room and air conditioning for the warmer, summer months.

Everything is provided for a comfortable and relaxing stay including free cable and wireless internet (WiFi), IPod dock, DVD player, DVDs, linens, towels, all the bathroom and kitchen basics and beach including chairs, a cooler, and toys for the little ones. Ideal for a couple or a family of four, come enjoy the Windward side of the island at Hale `Awapuhi.

*** Please note this property is not suited to accommodate large parties or events such as weddings or receptions. Mahalo!***

In accordance with the State of Hawaii City and County laws this property is only rented one time every 30 days.

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Jay

Our family has called Hawai'i home for over a decade. We are avid hikers, and we love the beach - many of the photos you see we took on one of our family hikes. Our hobby is renovating properties with beautiful finishings and details. This is the 2nd property we purchased and renovated from the ground up.

Jay purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Jay chose Maunawili

Once you come and stay you'll understand why we chose this property, the location is convenient and the beauty of the area unparalleled. Come experience old Hawai'i at Hale 'Awapuhi.

What makes this apartment unique

Close to the beach, the mountains, hiking, biking and shopping.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks so much for your hospitality and accommodation. really wonderful home, and hope to see you again soon.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 3


Maunawili Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 590 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1. Queen bed in main bedroom with a top quality foam mattress; 2. Queen pull out sofa with also with a memory foam mattress as, very comfortable for a pull out couch. 3. Twin size fold up Futon in the closet - best for young kids if needed
  • Books
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Tennis courts and golf within walking distance Rainhead walk in shower Laundromat within 5 minutes Beach- (2.5 miles) - 5 minutes Whole Foods and downtown shopping - (2 miles) - 4 minutes Honolulu - 12 miles (20 minutes)


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
21% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Relax in Luxury & Privacy Kailua on a Gated Property
average rating of 4.6216216 based on 40 reviews
South Haven, MI

Clean, roomy and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great 'center of operations' for visiting the north side of Oahu. Very roomy, clean and comfortable. Slept great, didn't need the air conditioning once. Love the big walk-in shower and the large vanity sink in the bathroom. Well supplied, good wifi and TV service. Not really walking distance to anything, but that's why we had a car. Easy to find, a quiet neighborhood and a lovely town (Kailua).

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and found it roomy and comfortable, we enjoyed hosting you! You are correct a car is needed to access the island of O`ahu. Luckily we are only a five minute drive from Kailua town and the beach. There are some wonderful parks and hiking trails within walking distance from the unit that you should visit if you decided to stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Never been so disappointed and mislead.the minute we arrived we found a cab to come back and get us and we left.

It shouldn't even get one star...

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There was clearly an issue with this couple which we can't even begin to understand. In the five years we've been in business, and many couples and families hosted, we've never had an experience like this. It began on Christmas Day, the day they were due to arrive, we received a string of rude, anxious, and berating emails from the guest stating they couldn't locate the rental unit after arriving at the airport. This was odd to us considering we send a detailed information packet with directions to the unit once a guest books. This is in addition to the online VRBO access which also includes the address and directions. Once I saw the emails, I immediately called the number provided and no one answered. I left a voicemail and then also emailed back offering to guide them to the rental. I then received another email approximately 20 minutes later stating they found the directions and questioned who had prepared the packet with a list of other profanities I won't mention here. Several hours later they arrived. I don't believe they were expecting the owners, the very people they were berating over email, to live next door - they were clearly embarrassed. A little while later we could hear the woman angrily screaming at someone from outside the unit. The next day, I went over to check in with them to see how things were (this is something we routinely do to ensure guests have everything they need) to find the unit door slightly open and unlocked, all the windows open in the rain, the lights and fans on, but clearly no guests or luggage. They never contacted us to let us know they were leaving or that they were dissatisfied. I'm not sure what they thought was misleading - the pictures and description of the unit are very detailed and we aim to ensure guests are not only happy and satisfied with their accommodations, but they have the opportunity to know exactly what to expect when deciding to stay at Hale Awapuhi. This is why we answer any questions about the unit prior to booking as well. We encourage potential renters to read our many other positive reviews when considering our unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean, Quiet and Close to Everything

  • 5 of 5

Excellent place to visit and experience the real Kailua. The unit was clean and well keptin an absolutely beautiful setting. It was just the right size for us to relax after a fun filled day at the beach. The owners have thought of everything - we especially appreciated the lavender products in the bathroom and the large shower to wash off in as well. We cooked on several days, it was nice to be able to do that vs. going out for every single meal. We are avid walkers and hikers so we really enjoyed the many hikes and walks available right in the neighborhood. It was close to everything in Kailua shops, beaches, site-seeing, restaurants, and we even went over to Honolulu since it was only about a 15 minute drive. Will be back again!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Spot and Minutes Away from the Best Beach on Oahu

  • 5 of 5

Lived in Waikiki, Diamond Head, and the Kahala side years ago. So this was the 1st time I stayed on the Windward Side (except for an overcast experience years ago in Kaneohe Bay). My family had a wonderful experience!!! My 2 younger children (7 & 2) crashed out on the pull out couch and enjoyed sharing a place to sleep. The rest of the place was great! The bathroom was spacious and could be easily cleaned upon returning with remnants of sand on our bodies. The owners were very accommodating...and as previously mentioned...will wash/dry your towels/linens when they get too soiled. In case you have to do a full blown laundry, the laundromat is not far away. The owners were so quiet, that I often wondered if my loud child (especially my crying son) was inconveniencing them. When we headed out to the beach, we often found ourselves enjoying our favorite beach of all Hawaiian shores...Lanikai Beach. Overall...I would recommend this place to anyone. Didn't realize how key their location was to heading anywhere on the island. Finally, easy trip to and from airport.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not Bad, Not Great

  • 3 of 5

Overall, location is great, property & house is nice, living areas was clean. Only problem was the walk-in shower that had a lot of mold/mildew & in need of regrouting and calking, wear & tear from the spray from the shower head that would hit the opposite drywall wall ( only 2 walls were tiled) and the weird shower curtain setup that had 8-10" of the curtain bottom laying on the shower floor. The rest of the bathroom was fine. Guess we're not used to that kind of setup. It looked like it was set up for a handicap situation before. Perhaps a dividing wall between the toilet and shower area would solve this problem. Unless the shower situation is remedied, I don't plan on staying here again. That's too bad because everything else was fine.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha We are sorry to hear the shower set up didn’t meet your needs. The shower is a large 6-foot walk-in shower with dark colored grouting and longer shower curtain to accommodate the size and width of the shower and prevent water from getting on to the bathroom floor, the color of the grout is NOT the result of mold and mildew. Additionally, the unit is professionally cleaned each time someone comes in and out. We regularly use bleach scouring products to prevent this very issue. And, yes, the shower is also ADA compliant which many of our older guests and families with children appreciate, since there is something to hold on-to while you’re in the shower to prevent accidents. We encourage guests to look at our other 5 star reviews and e-mail us if they would like pictures of the shower set-up if they have concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful, private, safe modern rental in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here when we moved our daughter to her first year of college at Hawai'i Pacific University. This rental was very close to the HPU Loa campus. We enjoyed looking out upon lush mountains every morning, sometimes covered in fog, sometimes clear. Tropical vegetation and ginger just outside the window are icing on the cake! Local chickens and roosters were chatty in a charming way.

Kawainui Regional Park and Maunawili Falls Trail are very close by. In general, it is easiest if you have a car in this neighborhood. Whole Foods and FoodLand were a quick 5 minute drive. Yummy coffee shop just inside FoodLand. We found everything our daughter needed for her dorms at the Target and Walgreens in Kailua. We highly recommend dining at Tokoname Restaurant and Champa Thai. Kalapawai Deli is a fun place for breakfast or lunch. Kailua Beach and Lanikai Beach are also nearby. We watched the sun rise at dawn at Kailua Beach and shortly thereafter were pleasantly surprised to find a local youth group practicing Hula right there on the beach. I also indulged in a lomilomi massage at Lomilomi Hana Lima Day Spa. Totally worth it.

Honolulu is a very short 20-min drive from the rental during non-commute hours. We had no problems getting to any place on the island from the property. I bashed my foot on some coral at Waikiki Beach (which, in addition to the painful coral, was way too touristy for us...we definitely preferred the windward side of the island where the rental is located!) and I needed to use Braun Urgent Care in Kailua and they were able to see me quickly.

The rental owners are friendly and welcoming. We'd had some airline delays and had to arrive a day later than expected. We kept in communication with the owners and they were very accommodating. Even though this property is connected to their main house, you really have complete privacy. They had many beach items for us to borrow, including towels, sunscreen, boogie boards and goggles. The kitchen was well-appointed and we were able to make several meals in the rental. Our daughter slept on the pull-out couch until she moved into her dorms and was very comfortable. We felt like we were coming "home" every night when we returned to the rental.

We are definitely looking forward to staying here for our next trip. It's been one of our favorite VRBO rentals to date!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.95%

We accept credit cards (3% fee) and e-checks via Paypal. You can also mail us a personal check. An invoice will be sent to you via Paypal once you are ready to book. Please note, as of 2/16/16, VRBO/Home Away charges the guest what we believe is an unfair and large fee for online booking. As such, we prefer to use Paypal as the preferred method of payment to secure you stay, and we will deduct the service fee portion included in the quote generated by the instant, online booking quote feature in our Paypal invoice to you.
Sixty day (60) cancellation policy.
In accordance with the State of Hawaii City and County laws this property is only rented one time every 30 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties