Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Perfect Smith Mountain Lake Get Away Vacation

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Welcome to my mountain cabin featuring 40 foot of dock space and 153' water fron

Welcome to the best that a mountain and a lake get away has to offer. At Roger's Retreat, we have spectacular view (especially sun rises), great fresh water fishing from our 40' dock, plenty of room to swim and dock your water craft. Private but close to every amenity that you will need. Please see our YouTube Video '500 Long Island Internal' which is a virtual tour of the interior and exterior of my cabin retreat. You can also save money by cooking in our fully stocked kitchen. We now have 2 brand new queen beds and high speed Wi-Fi, and HD cable on a 55' screen with surround sound .

Roger D. Malouf
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Roger D. Malouf

I am a professional REALTOR and have been a professional real estate investor for over 30 years. I have been a Smith Mountain property owner for all of those 30 years. I enjoy all types of water sports including diving, fishing, boating,skiing,..and just chillin on the water. This is my personal home for rent.

Roger D. Malouf purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Roger D. Malouf chose Moneta

Roger's Retreat is the perfect combination of everything you are looking for in a mountain lake get away. Beautiful views, privacy, plenty of water frontage for your water craft or fishing or swimming, close to shopping, eateries, restaurants, nightlife, movies,groceries, and so much more. Everything you need (or forgot) is 10 minutes away or less. All along great state maintained asphalt roads.....or by water. About 75' from the house to the water. Great surround sound theatre system, deck furniture, recliners, just the perfect place to kick back. Please see our video on YouTube (500 Long Island Internal)

What makes this cabin unique

Location, price, amenities, convenience. I hope you enjoy the smoke free and pet free environment. Away from the hassle of life...but close to everything you would want or need for a perfect mountain/lake vacation minutes away.


Moneta Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • 4 night minimum Memorial Day till Labor Day....2 night minimum Labor day till Memorial day weekend.
  • please bring your own bed and bath linens
  • please no pets!
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Adjoins the Master bedroom for privacy
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This full size bathroom has a tub and shower
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bed room and Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed , Theere is a queen bed and one bunk (2 beds) bed.
  • Queen bed in master Second bedroom has a queen bed and one double bunk bed. PLEASE WATCH CHILDREN ON THE BUNK BED. NO GUARD RAIL.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Depending on the time of year, there is much to do here. In the spring there are local fishing tournaments in February through April,Summer is all about fun on the water and boating and partying, Fall is all about the changing leaves, hunting and the mountain vistas, winter is about a holiday season get away


3.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

27% Complete
36% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
18% Complete
The Perfect Smith Mountain Lake Get Away Vacation
average rating of 3.4545455 based on 22 reviews

Poorly maintained structures, dock & house. The dock was falling apart with goose droppings.

  • 1 of 5

This is just some guys cheap fishing cabin.

Having to bring our own pillows, sheets, blankets, towels, and etc. should have been a red flag. This was not a place that we would ever consider renting again. There was a huge hassle getting the deposit refund. Home Away had to get involved. Lots of emails and phone calls.

The dock was unsafe since it was falling apart. The floating dock was the only useable part and it was half covered with goose dropping. Not a good place to swim or boat. The refrigerator was half full of the owners stuff including a stinky frozen fish. The blinds in the bedroom were falling apart. The furnished interior walls and floors have seen much better days.

On the plus side, nice lake side setting and the interior was clean but we will never return.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This reviewer needs to understand a few things.......first my rule about renters supplying your own bed and bath linens is clearly stated in my house rules, and in my correspondences for your own protection.......sounds like you would be the first to complain if your bed wasn't a perfect Goldilocks fit......the issue of the deposit refund was a matter of VRBO procedure....not mine....but I made sure you got it back.....that's all I can do....and for your information, Home Away has to get involved...part of the procedure.....since they do the booking.....not worthy of drama....I have of 1000 sq/ft of dock space. If you took time to read the house rules, you would have known which parts were for your use....and which were not.....obviously you did not....but all the parts you were supposed to use are perfectly safe. I fact, I specifically, mention which parts were under construction and off limits in my rules (which you never took time to read)....and figuring that, I roped that section had to work to get to that section....but there was over 1000 sq/ft...that was free to use....sorry about the goose droppings.....but they are not my geese, and I can't control where they poop....for your benefit, I am forwarding your complaint to God......refrigerator half full of stuff is complimentary water that I leave for your enjoyment, and I also leave what ever condiments prior tenants leave....which you are welcome to use or not use....your choice...and by the way "frozen fish" doesn't stink....and there was none that I can recall. Still trying to figure out what you mean by "furnished interior walls"?........ carpet is worn in some places.....true......but clean. In closing, sorry you didn't have a good time......plenty of places out there.....just dig a lot deeper in your wallet....
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very nice property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Grateful for the kind words.......let summer begin! It only gets better!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Poorly Maintained Property

  • 2 of 5

The location of this property is excellent. HOWEVER, it is apparent when you pull in the driveway of this property that you are not going to be satisfied. Screens were falling out of the windows, the eves are rusty and in need of paint, the yard is not maintained....and that's just the outside. The inside was truly disappointing. It is NASTY! The stove hasn't been cleaned in years. At least one mattress had body fluid stain on it. The twin mattresses appeared to be older than me, and I'm older than dirt. Closet door was missing. Closet and bedroom were used to store junk pieces of wood trim, etc. I don't believe the bedroom carpet has been cleaned in ten years. The windowsills may have never been cleaned. Seriously consider other properties in the area before falling victim to this one.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I get one of these every season. They pay minimal prices to rent and then expect to stay in the taj Mahal. Plus this is post season and prices are reduced because my house has been through a full wear and tear season. And now is the time I spend renovating while at the same time making my place available for the budget conscious. This person's comments are little more than an emotional rant. Yes, some of the window screens are out, but that didn't diminish one bit his stay. The comment about the stove is ridiculous. The stove is old, and with an old stove there are always some light staining...but it is cleaned as part of the cleaning I pay for. And I take offense at his comment about my house being NASTY. I have my home cleaned before every tenant comes in. You can eat off the floors and I am a stickler about dust. Another emotional outburst...please! Yes there is a door that is missing on one of the, were the clothes insulted? As far as stains on the mattress.? I don't know..... I didn't personally inspect the mattresses. What I do know is that the mattress is 2 years old and I am not going to replace the mattress every time some one rents my house. That is the reason I ask that all tenants bring their own bed and bath linens ......sometimes I only have 2-3 hours between the out going and in coming tenants. I'm going to spend that time buying a mattress or painting? Yes the twin bed mattress is old....but I have heard no one complain until now just because of age. May I suggest that the complainer open his wallet a little wider if he wants perfection...because he will pay a lot more for the lake home he wishes to rent Meanwhile I will continue to work through whatever I can as the property is not rented painting...etc., and try to take care of the people who appreciate the value I offer. As far as the outside not being maintained.....he is just wrong. The grass is cut, the bushes are trimmed. May I remind the complainer and everyone else that you are staying in a rural setting in the mountains. If you want a Scott Turf Builder don't belong in the mountains. Nothing that he mentioned diminished the quality of the lake stay and beyond that I can't comment on his emotions. I offer my home as I always have ....a comfortable casual place to relax at a reasonable price with a view and location second to none! Also, check out reviews just before and after his stay.....still the same house.....right?
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

Overall my husband and I had a great time. Not much on the water in the house being it smelled of copper but that didn't stop us from have a great week. Loves the area even though we couldn't see the sunsets but everything else was great. The places were just a short drive by car and had a friendly atmosphere. Thank u again Roger!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Just wanted to mention that since my deck faces due east, it is the sunrise rather than the sun set that is breathtaking. At dawn on a clear morning as the sun rises the whole lake turns golden...absolutely beautiful! Hope you will come back soon and stay longer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Washington DC

Awesome get-away

  • 5 of 5

The stay here was fantastic! Everything went smoothly with the owner (Roger). My family and I will definitely be back for another stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

great view clean comfortable quarters easy access to lake

  • 5 of 5

great stay met owner very personable and accommodating owner

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, please come back....and tell all your friends and family
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


10 minutes by boat or car from Halesford Bridge the centre of night life and activities, eateries, shopping and put put golf. Also 10 minutes from grocery shopping movie theatres,marinas, gas, diesel, and more shopping.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Damage Insurance $59

Please bring Bed Linen for 2 queen beds. and 2 twin beds. Also, please bring all bathroom linens as well. for your two full baths. My house sleeps up to 6 in the beds...with two more couches in the family room. Cable and High Speed Internet will be provided if possible. Please call 540-353-7779 to verify. Also Please remember there is a strict NO SMOKING and NO PET rule at Roger's Retreat.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties