Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous 2 Bedroom Holiday Apartment in the Heart of London

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 753 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely Trendy London City apartment with WiFi, Nespresso machine, 40 inch HDTV

This lovely Two Bedroom City of London Apartment has FREE WIFI and sleeps up to 6

• Two bedrooms (one with KINGSIZE bed, one double bed) with fitted wardrobes

• One bathroom

• Large open plan reception/dining room with 40 inch HDTV & DVD player

• Fully fitted kitchen – washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, oven, and a Nespresso machine for the coffee addicts!

• A baby cot & highchair can be provided if you have a little one - please ask

• Situated up one flights of stairs (on the first floor) of a small building with an attractive period façade

• Extremely light and airy with large sash windows and high ceilings, lots of character

• Very secure apartment with entry phone system and access code

• Fully furnished with utensils, linens and everything you’ll need for your stay – just bring your suitcases!

Nestled between the two financial districts (City of London & Canary Wharf) on the North side of the Thames River, my City of London apartment offers the best of both worlds – close to the action but without the noise usually associated with city centre living! It is situated on a quiet side street.

This lovely two bedroom London City Vacation Rental apartment is close to everything you’ll need to make it your base in the city.

The property has:

Wooden floors

A homely & contemporary feel

Good layout with bedrooms up one end and living down the other

Sleeping accommodation (one king, one double) plus additional beds if you have more than four in your group.

Available for your use is a TV and DVD player, as well as a number of books, guides and other useful information to make your stay in the city as enjoyable as possible. WIFI internet is also provided for your use.

Located nearby:

. Tower Bridge (breathtaking up close)

. Tower of London (centuries of history)

. Whitechapel Gallery (award winning gallery which has just been newly refurbished) . Spitalfields (markets)

. Brick Lane (dozens of restaurants and curry houses)

. St Katherine Docks (marina, restaurants)

. Hundreds of restaurants, fast food outlets, bars and shops within a small radius

. Parks and childrens play facilities

. Large supermarkets (about a 4 minute walk)

. Smaller grocery stores (which are even closer)

Situated in a very historic old part of London, the apartment is:

- 5 minutes to the nearest subway/tube/metro station – Whitechapel (East London - Orange), District (Green) & Hammersmith and City (Pink) lines

- 5 minutes to the nearest DLR station - Shadwell - with links to the Olympic Site

- Convenient to Canary Wharf (with hundreds of restaurants, bars, supermarkets and shops) by bus or tube, or walk along the river

- Bank station, Tower Gateway (Tower Bridge & the Tower of London)

- Accessible for Stratford Shopping Centre - one of the largest centres in the northern hemisphere, offering hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants

Whitechapel is on the Crossrail route with direct access to Heathrow airport.

Multiple bus connections go to the City (if you don’t want to walk 15 minutes), Fleet Street, Oxford Street and beyond.

If you really want to live like a local, hire a pay by the hour bike - hop on/hop off where you like at multiple points around the city. The closest bike station is located a minute from the apartment.

And for those who are attending one of the many conferences, seminars or trade shows at the ExCel Centre, the apartment is well placed to reach it easily.

More Details

Owner
Rachel
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Rachel

I am a keen conservationist, recycle where possible, and keep my use of toxic chemicals to a minimum. I'm also a dust allergy sufferer (not great in a city like London, I know!)

and a clean-freak - and as those who work for me know, a bit of a perfectionist - so I can guarantee the apartment will be spotlessly clean for you. After all, I wouldn’t expect anyone to stay somewhere I wasn’t happy to stay myself :-)

Rachel purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Rachel chose London

Being an Aussie who grew up around water, I knew I needed to be close to the Thames River. The artistic East End of London (in which the apartment is situated) really has become the hip and trendy location to live, work and socialize in. Thankfully it's easy to reach hundreds upon hundreds of funky bars, amazing restaurants, quirky individual shops, world renowned art galleries, museums and fantastic markets - all within a 5 - 15 minute walk. Having owned the apartment for so many years, I've really seen the local area change dramatically.

What makes this apartment unique

Considering its location situated on a small street between two main arterial roads (so connections to the rest of the city are very easy), the apartment is extremely quiet!

Unlike many of the more modern apartment blocks being built now, my home has lovely high ceilings & sash windows. The rooms are also bigger than is common these days, and all these factors give the apartment a bit of character!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We came to London to visit friends who live nearby, so this apartment was perfect. Close to the city centre (you can walk to Liverpool street station in 20 minutes) but far more space & better value for money than staying in a hotel, this accommodation offered everything we needed. Restaurants, grocery stores, subway & buses all within a 5 minute walk, it was everything we needed.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
London City Airport
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Several
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
St Katherine Docks
Nearest Train
0.5 Kilometres
Whitechapel Underground
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Several
Car: not necessary

Situated in a small street nestled between the two financial districts (City of London and Canary Wharf), my apartment offers the best of both worlds – close proximity to the action but without all the noise that’s usually associated with city centre living!

Walk a few minutes in any direction and you will find dozens of restaurants, bars, shops, parks, and many famous tourist attractions including Whitechapel Gallery (founded 1901), Spitalfields (markets), Brick Lane (curry houses), St Katherine Docks (marina, restaurants), Tower of London (centuries of history) and possibly the most famous of all London attractions, Tower Bridge (breathtaking up close)!

And ever so close to the Olympics grounds.

The apartment is also very accessible to the ExCel Centre if you're attending one of the many conferences, seminars or trade shows there.

Amenities

Tower Hamlets Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 753 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No shoes inside please (once you've seen the streets of London you'll understand why!) & the neighbours downstairs will love you!
  • No noise after 10pm – it is a residential area so there are sleeping babies and people getting up for work early the next morning.
  • Please follow the simple check out instructions left in the apartment - they're all very straightforward :-)
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Can be provided on request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double sofa bed can comfortably sleep an additional 2 guests, or a super deluxe blow up bed if there is 1 additional guest
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous 2 Bedroom Holiday Apartment in the Heart of London
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 14 reviews
5

Lovely apartment with everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our 3 small children and it had everything we needed. Much more spacious than a hotel room! Just a short walk to the tube station.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Budget more than listed

  • 2 of 5

The owner has a track record of not refunding deposit. After silly email exchanges and she agreeing to refund every penny, we still received $80 less. Go onto VBRO and read reviews from all her properties. Budget more than what's listed.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to do the review. As mentioned, most of our guests now make deposit payment by PayPal instead of bank transfer, which alleviates the issue of banks charging fees to send and receive funds, and also reduces the chance of exchange rate fluctuations which are unfortunately beyond our control, but I know you preferred to have the deposit refunded via bank transfer. Yes we did have some emails back and forth as you left some of my staff rather upset after we bent over backwards to fulfil your numerous requests and then one of your party broke a bed and took some items from the apartment, but in the end as you know, I decided to refund the whole deposit even though your stay ended up costing me a lot of money! Thankfully 99.9% of our guests are very appreciative of the facilities we provide, the cleanliness of the apartments and the location and it’s because of this, after all these years of providing central London accommodation, I still love what I do :-) My team and I wish you all the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

London Sightseeing

  • 4 of 5

We had a nice and interesting time in London. The apartment is quite centrally located. Tower Bridge and other sights are easily reached on foot. Next tube and supermarket is not far a way. The apartment was clean and functional furnished. Only the entrance and corridor to the flat should be renovated.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the review, I appreciate it. Yes the apartment is walking distance to some of the main tourist spots, and there are two tube stations within a few minutes of the apartment which makes it extremely easy to access the rest of London. Numerous double-decker red buses (running 24 hours) also connect the apartment with the rest of the city. There are plenty of supermarkets open very early to very late, and dozens of restaurants and take-aways nearby too. As for the entrance being renovated, unfortunately that was beyond my control but I'm happy to say those works have been scheduled by the building manager for early 2016.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful

  • 4 of 5

Don't know why it has taken me so long to write this review, but we stayed here for two weeks, November 2013 (the vrbo calendar won't let me go back that far), and it was great. Just 2 blocks from the Whitechapel tube station, there's a grocery store (Sainsbury's) right there and the neighborhood is true London.

Whitechapel station is great because several lines come in there, so there's less transferring. The apartment is clean, the beds comfortable and Rachel provides nice towels and toiletries. The bedrooms are a nice size and everything is exactly as pictured. We loved that there was a door to close off the bedrooms from the living room and kitchen, so if someone couldn't sleep or got up early, it was easy to be quiet.

The neighborhood is as diverse as the rest of London. There's a school, hospital, street market and park all right there; lots of activity. Learn to walk through the hospital grounds to the tube, it's a nicer walk than the side streets. But overall, it was quiet and wonderful.

We did the 'dreaded' bank transfer to avoid fees, and while it was probably a bit more stressful than PayPal, everything went smoothly and our deposit returned promptly. But she will take out all the fees, just be aware.

I would certainly stay here again. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great holiday apartment close to trabsport

  • 5 of 5

Rachel's flat was absolutely perfect for our group of six. It had everything you want in a home from home and was decorated nicely with many touches often lacking in a holiday apartment. Transport was a few minutes walk in either direction & the city was so close you could see some of the famous buildings (The Gherkin etc) from the street. Loads of restaurants & grocery stores nearby, too! Communication was easy too, and deposit returned swiftly. A great experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very glad to hear the apartment was perfect for your needs, thank you for the review. The apartment is definitely well connected with two different tube/subway/metro stops to choose from, both about a four minute walk from the apartment. And yes, it is walking distance to some of the main attractions too. The apartment would also appeal to anyone creative as it's located in the East End - in an area that's fast becoming the art and design hub of London. With this of course brings lots of choice in restaurants, pubs, bars, supermarkets and shops - all within a short walk!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Easy family times in London

  • 5 of 5

The flat was beautiful with all of the comforts of our own home! Don't let the initial hallway fool you, the flat was exactly as shown in the pictures complete with comfortable beds, a dinning area for 6 people, and all working appliances. The owner had another person meet us for check in - who was gracious enough to wait for our arrival (thank you for your patience Debbie! We were stuck in traffic so don't call until you really know you are 30 minutes away from the flat. Once I fully paid for the flat (fyi...use pay pal if you can. Much easier than a wire transfer), Rachel sent a step by step guide to reach the flat complete with transportation options. The only thing I will do next time is to schedule our arrival in the afternoon instead of the morning so we can drop our bags in the flat straight away.

Rachel and Debbie provided loads of extras including shampoo, soap, bottled water and milk. We did not feel like we had to immediately run out and buy anything which was such a blessing. I read comments about crime and I personally do not agree. My family that included children walked all around the area with no concern. A block away is a mini cab office and a Holiday Inn Express so there are a number of travelers along the street. We would definitely recommend Rachel's flat especially people familiar with the London Hospital area. Thank you Rachel for opening up your home, answering my 90,000 questions via email, and returning my deposit so quickly!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $87.74
Additional Guest Fee $20.25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $472.46

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties