Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

TIRED OF THE ORDINARY CONDO RENTAL? Check out our home... you'll love it!!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Our beautiful beachfront, 3 bedroom/2 bath, 8th floor condo in the 'B' building at the desirable Summer House complex is where you want to be. The B building is the one closest to the beach and, unlike Building A, has unrestricted beach views (Building A's view to the west is blocked by Building B). We purchased this dream in June 2012 and invite you to be our guests in our long-awaited beach home. We have been coming to Orange Beach several times a year since 2005 and have learned what we like and dislike about rental condos. We don’t like white/beige walls, wicker and bamboo furniture, and cheap beach décor that owners often put in their units because it’s strictly an investment for them. This truly is our second home, and we welcome you to enjoy it as we do, to create memories, recharge your batteries, and escape your worries. In our condo you will find a warm, soothing, beachy wall color, comfortable furniture, and classy décor that lets you know you’re on vacation at the beach without screaming it at you. We’ve updated the entire unit.

We chose Summer House because it is in a perfect location just 5 miles east of highway 59, and within walking distance to shops and restaurants, is gated, has indoor/outdoor pools, a sauna, hot tub, tennis, handball, and basketball courts, playground, exercise room, free wi-fi, and grilling area.

One of the best features of this complex is the private, massive balcony that overlooks the Gulf and beautiful white sand. This unit has unrestricted beach views in both east and west directions. There is so much space that it will accommodate everyone with plenty of room to spare, and yet it’s cozy so that you and your loved one can enjoy the romantic sunsets. And you'll want to spend a lot of time out on the balcony because we've furnished it with soft, cushioned furniture. No cheap plastic or uncomfortable furniture here! There is access to the balcony from both the living room and master bedroom.

The living room features all newer, comfortable furniture including a queen-sized sleeper sofa (which has an awesome memory foam mattress - you can't even tell you're sleeping on a sofa), a flat screen tv, a dvd/vcr player, and blackout curtains so anyone sleeping on the sofa can sleep as late as they want without the sun waking them up early in the morning.

The kitchen has been remodeled with new cabinets, countertops, appliances, custom stone backsplash, and is fully-stocked with everything you will need to cook any kind of meal. There is even a built-in ice maker so that you never run out of ice. And we have plenty of plasticware so that you can safely take your beverages/meals out on the balcony, down to the pool, or onto the beach without fear of breaking glass.

The master suite features a tiled floor, king-sized mattress, upscale furniture and bedding, a flat screen smart tv (so you can watch a movie on your Netflix account), dvd/vcr player, and room-darkening curtains so that you can sleep in if you want to. The en-suite bathroom has all been updated beautifully. It now has a tiled, walk-in shower with glass doors, new vanity with granite countertop, and new lighting.

One of the guest bedrooms features a queen-sized bed and the other guest room has two queen beds. Both rooms have high thread count, super soft sheets, tiled floors, ceiling fans, plantation shutters, flat screen tvs/dvd players, and share the guest bathroom (which was also totally gutted).

The unit also has a full-sized washer and dryer, clothes iron/ironing board, board games, books, kid dvds, and even a high chair, pack-n-play, and a bouncy seat for your little one so you don’t need to bring it from home.

Please keep in mind that Summer House is one of the nicest complexes on the beach and has every amenity, is gated, extremely well maintained, and is beachfront. You will be able to find less expensive complexes, but they won't be the same.

POLICIES: Absolutely no renters under age 25. This is strictly enforced. A copy of the renter's drivers license will be required and must be returned along with the rental contract which will be emailed to you upon the reservation being made. Absolutely no smoking in the unit. If there is a smell of smoke or any other evidence in the unit upon check out, you will be charged an extra cleaning fee. No pets of any kind are allowed. This is the Summer House policy, not ours. Our unit is spotlessly clean and well maintained and these are ways that we keep it that way. If any of these policies are abused, the renter will be evicted and no rental fees will be returned.

$250 security deposit is required when reservation is made. This is returned to you within 7 days of checkout date, provided there is no damage or theft of property. All rental fees are due 30 days prior to check-in date. If reservation is made within 30 days of check-in date, all fees are due at time of reservation. Check and credit cards are accepted. THE CANCELLATION POLICY: The security deposit is non-refundable if reservation is cancelled at any time. Cancellations 30 days before arrival full refund except security deposit. Cancellations 30 to 7 days before arrival will be refunded 1/2 of rental amount, and no cancellations later than 7 days before arrival.

My calendar is kept up-to-date, so please check it before contacting me regarding availability.

More Details

Property Manager
Cindy Porter
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 26, 2017

About Cindy Porter

We live in the Nashville area, have been spending time in Orange Beach since 2005, and have dreamed of owning a beach condo there ever since. We are so excited our dream has came true and we look forward to sharing it with you. We are the parents of two boys, ages 12 and 9 and they're growing up loving OBA as much as we do. If you're visiting OBA for the first time, we know you'll love the area just as much as we do. If you're a returning visitor, we hope your upcoming visit will be your best one yet. Please let us know if we can help you in any way. We are very familiar with the area and have a lot of recommendations for good food, fun things to do, and even some great places to go on a short day trip.

Cindy Porter purchased this condo in 2012

Why Cindy Porter chose Orange Beach

We rented a unit in Summer House several years ago and loved the property. When it came time to purchase one, we narrowed it down to three complexes based on our 'required items' the complex had to have. After looking at the three complexes, the other two didn't compare to SH. They just couldn't compete with the location, the amenities, the environment, and the overall package that SH offers.

What makes this condo unique

Beautiful, spacious, beachfront pool area, gated entrance, complex cleanliness, family-friendly environment, indoor pool for those yucky weather days, huge balcony for all of the time you spend outside enjoying the view, convenient location.

Map

Summer House is located in a prime location 5 miles east of Highway 59 and within walking distance to several souvenir shops, grocery stores, restaurants, drug stores, etc. We are also located within a mile of go-kart tracks, miniature golf, amusement rides, and a 10 minute drive of Waterville. Our location can't be beat!

Amenities

Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 8
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms were completely gutted and remodeled in November 2012.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1) Super comfy mattress!, Queen size Beds (3) Guest Room 1 has a queen and Guest Room 2 has two queen beds. Baby Cribs (1) We have a pack-n-play for your convenience, along with a high chair/booster and a bouncy seat. So, you don't have to lug all of that with you from home. :-)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Lit tennis courts, handball and basketball courts, grassy area directly in front of building where the kids can run around, sauna, gated entrance, sun deck, short boardwalk to beach with a wide, uncrowded beach area.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
TIRED OF THE ORDINARY CONDO RENTAL? Check out our home... you'll love it!!!
average rating of 4.8867927 based on 53 reviews
5

The condo was clean, well stocked, and had beautiful views.

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time at this condo. It was well maintained, and the balcony was gorgeous. We spent lots of time eating and chatting while watching the waves. Cindy was kind and helpful throughout the whole process, booking through leaving. We’ll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding condo in Orange Beach

  • 5 of 5

This year we stayed in one of the best condos in Orange Beach. Our group included my wife, my son and daughter in law, their sons, 6 and 2 and my youngest daughter. The rooms were nice and spacious. The 2 queen beds worked great for the boys and their parents. The view is outstanding. The condo is well equipped and the separate ice maker came in very handy. We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver City, MS
5

College Roommate Reunion

  • 5 of 5

My roommates and I have gone to Orange Beach every September for over 15 years. We stayed somewhere different every year until we found this unit and our September home. The location is so convenient to everything. The balcony is perfect for morning coffee, dolphin watching, meals, and of course, an evening beverage! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need including an icemaker. Cindy is the perfect hostess....quick to answer questions and so accommodating! If it were possible to give more than five stars, I would!!! Thanks, Cindy, for taking such good care of "our" condo!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect spot for a get away with high school friends! We enjoyed sitting on the balcony!

  • 5 of 5

Such an enjoyable home away from home atmosphere. Will gladly tell all my family and friends about The Porters vacation condo!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is an excellent condo. It is spacious, well furnished, and well maintained. We'lol stay again!

  • 5 of 5

We had an outstanding visit with family. All had enough room and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, Cute, and Cozy with a beachfront view of ocean waves!

  • 5 of 5

You won't be disappointed with a stay at the Porter's SummerHouse condo. I stumbled across this location while searching other properties in the Orange Beach area. It turned out to be a total blessing. This place had everything we could have needed and much more. Every detail of the home was done with consideration to make you feel cozy and relaxed. The owner was exceedingly helpful and timely with details, directions and updates.

Our family will definitely reserve this unit again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Niccole. Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you stumbled across our listing and that you enjoyed it so much. It's so nice to know that all of my efforts have paid off. :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Security Deposit $250
Housekeeping $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

11% taxes and housekeeping fee of $125 are not included in the rates listed above.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.