Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Beach House - A Tranquil Getaway Close To Historical Amherstburg

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, Sleeps 8 - 12

The Beach House is a large, well-appointed property on a dead end road. It's an ideal spot for peaceful and fun lakeside enjoyment close to the festivals, museums, and wineries around the historic town of Amherstburg. The spacious master bedroom suite accesses the sunroom and an ensuite bathroom. There are 2 other large bedrooms and a fourth smaller bedroom upstairs with a fifth room downstairs suitable as an additional bedroom. The large living room looks out onto Lake Erie. The kitchen is large and well-equipped, with an adjacent comfortable dining room that offers lake views. The grounds are a great size for playing or relaxing. We have loads of toys for indoors and outdoors, a foosball table, piano, games, etc. TV, DVD etc.


Owner
Hartt Goldman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2017

About Hartt Goldman

My name is Hartt and I grew up at the Beach House near the town of Amherstburg. I have since lived in a number of places throughout Ontario, California, Montreal, BC but I come back every year with my wife, Barbara, and our kids to spend some time at this special spot where Lake Erie meets the Detroit River. Every season offers an up close view of nature along the Great Lakes. From the wind-whipped sand bars and migrations in autumn, to the ice-castles of winter, or the budding spring in the adjacent wetlands and of course the incredible summer sunsets. It is an inspirational spot that is close to Amherstburg’s historical small town charm and amenities but a world away from our busy, modern lives.

Hartt Goldman purchased this house in 2010

Why Hartt Goldman chose Ontario

This house has been in my family since the 60s. Now we enjoy it as a cottage and a base to reconnect with family and friends in Southern Ontario. It is wonderful to be able to frolic with my kids in the water, play games on the large yard, enjoy beach fires, watch fireflies etc etc just like when I was youngster. The setting is also ideal for creative pursuits and has been used by songwriters (myself included), artists and others as a creative retreat.

What makes this house unique

The beach and the lake are right outside your door. The sights and sounds of lakeside life really set the Beach house apart. The spacious house and property can comfortably accommodate large groups with both recreation and relaxation in mind. It's close to quaint, historic Amherstburg, Essex county's "Wine Route", and it's a great launching point for activities in Windsor or Detroit areas. The setting itself is an incredible spot to see birds (Herons, Eagles, and many more), watch lake freighters navigate into or out of the Detroit river, and reconnect with nature.

Amenities

Amherstburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • smoking allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , main level
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , double sink, adjacent to bdrms
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bedroom ensuite, small tub
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , adjoins Master Bdrm
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

The Beach House - A Tranquil Getaway Close To Historical Amherstburg
average rating of 4.2777777 based on 18 reviews
5

Beautiful Place!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is beautiful and very clean. The sandy beachfront is close to the deck making it easy to keep an eye on the children. There is AMPLE room and privacy for families with a beautiful master bedroom with ensuite. Lots of toys for the children and two separate living rooms is fantastic for some adult privacy. The owners are very easy to contact. This is a great place for families with children.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jeya! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay at the Beach House anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Very roomy and fun as always. LOVE the sitting room in the master bedroom

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Heather - please come back and stay any time! Hartt
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great weekend

  • 5 of 5

Very relaxing wonderful weekend. All of ammenities that you need to cook with etc., are there. The home was very clean and spacious.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Waterfront Spot

  • 5 of 5

A perfect, relaxing spot with all the amenities. The host was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next summer!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful Property, Fantastic Owner, but....

  • 3 of 5

I rented the home as an end of summer last hurrah, for my extended family, before the kids go back to school. As we are local to Detroit, the travel was fast and easy. The nearby town of Amhurstburg is quaint, with a nice waterfront along the Detroit River with restaurants, splash pad and ice cream. As for the property itself, it is clean, quite large, decorated beautifully and construction building materials were not cheap. The property owner is quite communicative which I also appreciated.

Note that this is a natural beach with all the wonderful plastic items, men have created, which have found their way into our waterways. I spent some time picking up water bottles, plastic cups, ball point pens, pieces of foam coolers, etc. The beach also had a seaweed buffer, which is natural and we didn't mind but other visitors should be aware of.

What did raise our concern is the only screen on the upstairs sun porch had a hole and there was no screen on the door to the front porch (facing the water). One of the reasons we come to the beach is to hear the sound of the surf (which is blocked when the glass door is closed). I ended up spending some $ on one of those screen doors, with magnets, from the dollar store. You don't want to be at the beach in a house with the doors & windows shut. The worst part of our experience is that, I hypothesize, some previous renter in wanting to experience the beach front, left the door open and the house became infested with mosquitoes. I stayed up late and personally killed at least 20, my family members killed dozens more; we must not have gotten them all as we still woke up quite bitten. I contacted the owner who stated that the screen door repair is on their list (which I hope they will perform). Thus, I am not comfortable in providing a higher # of stars.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at the Beach House and for your review Kevin, I am really sorry you had to deal with mosquitoes in the house. When we stay at the house each summer we do keep the doors and windows closed in order to control the humidity in the house and keep it dry and cool for air-conditioned comfort (especially for sleeping). This is the reason that there is not a screen on the patio door, to encourage people to keep the door closed and maintain low humidity inside. There is a window screen in the sun-room that needs repair and this is scheduled along with replacement of some windows. I understand your point about having the windows and doors open to hear the lovely sound of the waves and it may makes sense to give people the option to either run the air conditioning to keep the house cool, dry and comfortable or have the windows open to enjoy the summer breezes and lake sounds. We will communicate the policy more clearly in future so guests understand the expectations and challenges. Thanks for being great guests and I hope you will stay with us for future vacations and a chance to get more stars. Kind regards, Hartt
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Relaxing Retreat With Fantastic Views

  • 5 of 5

The beach house was as described and was a lovely place for 3 generations to spend a week discovering the many delights of this part of Ontario. Every night we viewed a spectacular sunsets and during the day we enjoyed watching the lake boats cruise in and out of the Detroit River. The water was warm for swimming and exploring the sandbars was a lot of fun. We enjoyed swimming and paddling the shoreline and into the Detroit River. Walking trails in the area and neighborhood were also enjoyable, as were the local wineries. The house was large enough for 9 people, offering lots of space. The house was well-appointed – we easily found everything we needed from cooking to playing! The house was clean and communication with the owner was prompt, pleasant and informative. We’d definitely love to return, as we felt very much at home.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Beach house and thanks for your detailed review. Please come back again anytime! kind regards, Hartt
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Amherstburg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$183
Fri,Sat,Sun
$820
$2,854
 
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$183
From
$220
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,024
$3,658
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$146
From
$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
$820
$2,854
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $365.85
Cleaning $73.17

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties