Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quiet, Relaxing, and Affordable.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3-Night Special ALL October: Tues-Wed-Thurs stay, $100 per night.

( NOTE: We discount 7 night stays to just $660, a savings of $180. )

When you stay here at "My Cabin In The Mountains," you will enjoy a peaceful and relaxing getaway in a quiet and beautiful setting. Surrounded by the Nantahala National Forest, many hiking trails, many breathtaking waterfalls, and zip lining are all in the immediate area. The cabin is located 2 miles north of Dillard, GA just across the state line in North Carolina. Getting to the cabin is easy as there are no steep mountain roads to navigate. We are exactly one mile off US-441 but still secluded, quiet, and private. We are retired, and we enjoy sharing our cabin with old friends, and new friends. We live just a stone's throw away and we are always available to answer any questions that come up and we're happy to do whatever we can to make your stay here more enjoyable.

Franklin, NC is 12 miles to the North, and Clayton, GA is 8 miles to the South. Each town provides numerous restaurant dining choices, several grocery store choices, antique shops, and more. Both have 24-hour Walmart stores, so no matter what kind of activities you're hoping to enjoy, whatever you need in equipment or supplies will be readily available. And speaking of outdoor activities, our guests tell us how much they enjoy mountain hiking, waterfall and swimming hole exploring, flat-water rafting and tubing, and visiting the many other area destinations, a few of which are: Black Rock Mountain State Park, GA, Highlands, NC, Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, the Cherokee Indian Reservation, the Biltmore House,, Fontana Lake, the Little Tennessee River, and Great Smoky Mountain National Park.

But by far, what our guests enjoy more than just about anything else, is sitting out on the deck and listening to the wind blow through the leaves in the trees.

Just read through some of our most recent reviews, and see if our cabin doesn't sound like the the place you'd like to stay for your upcoming trip.

SPECIAL NOTE: To insure the health and comfort of all our future guests, we are not able to accommodate smokers or pets.

More Details

Owner
Sonny or Harvalyn
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Sonny or Harvalyn

My wife Harvalyn and I have lived here in the mountains of Western North Carolina for the past 13 years and we love it here. Our cabin is just a short walk from our house so we are always available should you need anything. We would love to have you stay in our cabin if you're planning a trip to this area.

Sonny & Harvalyn

(828) 524-2538

Sonny or Harvalyn purchased this cabin in 1999

Why Sonny or Harvalyn chose Otto

Before moving here, we lived in Tallahassee, FL. We would come to this area to visit once or twice a year to visit friends and explore. Like so many Floridians, we got tired of having to end our visits and return again back to Florida. So we said "Goodbye" to FL for good, and became permanent North Carolinians. (Dillard, GA is the nearest town, but we're actually just over the GA/NC state line in NC.)

What makes this cabin unique

Situated just off of US-441 where GA and NC meet, getting here is very easy; and, most anything you will need while you're here is can be had either in Franklin, NC to the North, or Dillard and Clayton, GA to the South. And of course, there's a multitude of places to go and things to do in and around Macon County (NC) annd Rabun County (GA).

Amenities

Otto Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 20
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Check In can be between 4 pm and 10 pm.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Off Master Bedroom - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Loft - toilet , shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Upstairs Loft - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
OUTDOOR FIRE PIT: For marshmallow roasting (and smores), there is a low, stone-walled outdoor fire pit. Gather your own wood or use the unlimited supply of firewood underneath the cabin.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet, Relaxing, and Affordable.
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
5

Excellent home + excellent location + excellent hosts = perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time staying at a home for vacation. I was a bit nervous about trying it, but this vacation removed all of those concerns. The house was spacious and clean and had all of the amenities we could have ever needed while on vacation. It was great having Patrick, Sonny and Haverlyn’s son helping us plan little excursions for our trip since I’m terrible at planning. He was always available if we needed anything. Overall, it couldn’t have been any more perfect of a vacation for us. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the the house to anyone who wants a NC mountain vacation retreat.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so happy you enjoyed your vacation in our little corner of the state. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. And thank you also for writing in the guest book about some of the things you and your family did while you were here. Future guests always find those kinds of notes very helpful. Harvalyn & Sonny (and Patrick)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and secluded

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay! The owners were so hospitable and their son Patrick was very helpful with all the maps, research and information. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in late july and the weather was wonderful. All the activity we did were close by no more than 20min drive. We got to encounter deer and wild turkey which was a first for us. The owners were very attentive and gave us tips to be able to see deer. We will definitely be back :)

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place clean and with everything you need

  • 4 of 5

You will experience live away from the city. People in town is very nice, movie theater is very cheap. Water falls are gorgeous. Great place to relax if you can be away from the internet and malls for a few days.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming little place with some nice views.

  • 5 of 5

loved it! definitely recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing mountain hideaway

  • 4 of 5

Thin cabin was the perfect accommodation for our stay for a wedding weekend for a family member. The cabin was very nice and the owners were fantastic. It was close enough to town you could easily go get a bite to eat but far enough away to really enjoy being in the mountains. The owners had great recommendations for places to visit and eat. I only wish we would have had more time to stay and enjoy.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
2.7 Miles
Mountain Man Restaurant (Dillard, GA)
Car: recommended

Amazing waterfalls just a short drive from the cabin.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

2-Night Minimum.
.
Our rates are all-inclusive. We have no cleaning fee, we don't add sales tax, and we don't require a security deposit. (You will be charged a service fee by VRBO/HomeAway, which we have no control over.)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties