Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shipwreck Cottage: a Safe Haven in Savannah

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 525 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, with Private Courtyard; Sleeps Four.

Located in a quiet Savannah Historic District neighborhood, Shipwreck is a walk to nightlife and family-friendly activities.

Wrapped inside the historic facade is a modern feeling hideaway with amenities such as a full kitchen, washer dryer, and modern bath with a tub/shower combination. The courtyard is a particularly nice spot to enjoy, morning or evening

My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and families (with kids).

City of Savannah STVR Certificate SVR-00521


Owner
Jack Dillon
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018

About Jack Dillon

My wife and I met while traveling, and have continued to try to see as much of the world as we can together. We make our home here in Savannah, Georgia, now, and have just had our first child. So now the world has to come to us, for a little while. We hope that you enjoy Savannah, as we do, and that Shipwreck Cottage provides you with a great jumping off point for a new adventure.

Why Jack Dillon chose Beach Institute

The Beach Institute neighborhood gives you all that you could want as far as access to the Historic District, but still feels like a quiet little slice of the past.

Amenities

Beach Institute Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 525 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Shipwreck Cottage: a Safe Haven in Savannah
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
Holly Springs, NC
5

Clean, unbelievably cute, and conveniently located.

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I stayed at Shipwreck for a girls weekend in Savannah. The cottage is so cute and comfortable. Perfect for 2-4 people. The owners provide everything you need, and then some. It is conveniently located and is in walking distance to everything the beautiful city of Savannah has to offer. We have absolutely no complaints about our stay and would highly recommend Shipwreck. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was so nice to have you. Hope you are back in Savannah soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5

Shipwreck cottage was everything we hoped it would be. It was very comfortable, quiet and decorated so nicely. I always look for comments about comfortable beds and this bed definitely hit the mark. The location was perfect.....we walked from one side of town to the other everyday and barely used our car.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing our place. And glad to hear you had a good time. Next time you are down this way, please reach out to us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, fun, and convienent

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. The house is well decorated and organized to feel a little like a hotel and a lot like a home. Little touches like a sound machine, soap and shampoo dispensers on the shower wall, and coffee in the kitchen were perfect. We parked our car and walked everywhere the two days we were there- about a 15-20 min walk to the riverfront. Easy to follow protocol, some funny little notes around the place with character, and helpful hints in their guidebook. Will for sure recommend to friends and would book again. Thanks so much!!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely to have you. I hope you are back soon! Thank you for choosing us. Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Augustine, FL
5

Cozy, cute and charming!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Shipwreck Cottage! It was perfect for just the two of us. We could walk anywhere and really got to see the real Savannah. Thank you for a great weekend, we will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Delightful & Charming within a stones throw of all the best sightseeing

  • 4 of 5

Shipwreck was full of good vibes inside and all around. We had a car but when we were planning on drinking our Uber's were never more than $6.00. Bed was comfy, all the amenities were in great clean and working order. We made some cocktails in the blender, not something any hotel is going to have for you. We went to the beach and we were able to rinse off out on the patio. Towels were fluffy and big. It was nice to be able to run some laundry and go home with less to worry about doing. We were able to easily park right in front and and nice walks right from "home". We hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville Beach, FL
5

Wonderful girls weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time staying at the Shipwreck Cottage! It is as perfect as it looks in the photos. We had a tiny hiccup at the beginning - there were only two bath towels and three of us staying - but the owner sorted it out for us right away. The location is perfect, we walked all around the city from the cottage exploring the many squares and going down to the river. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Savannah-Hilton Head Internation
Nearest Golf
3.8 Miles
Hutchinson Island, GA
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
1-95
Nearest Beach
17 Miles
Tybee Island, Ga

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

3 night minimum for St. Patrick's Day and Rock 'n' Roll Marathon.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.