Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reflection Cabin a unique experience

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

This brand new 1800 style cabin is 480 square feet of beauty. It is one room that includes a kitchen, eating area, living area, bedroom, wood burning stove, and separate bathroom area. Beds can be set up as 2 extra long twins or king bed with a queen size futon. There is a small deck for grilling,and a table and chairs for outdoor eating. Wildlife viewing happens daily and calls to the wildlife photographer, journalist or individuals looking for a complete relaxed get-a-way. The property may be rented with or without a personal chef serving breakfast and dinner. All linens and needs are provided for the cabin as well as daily housekeeping.


Owner
Melissa
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Melissa

Dave and Melissa Shipek are both retired from their careers as a firefighter and teacher. Born and raised in California they decided to live in the wilderness and share their experiences with all who wished to have an extreme contrast from urban life. They live on the same 30 acres and offer a wide variety of activities plus gourmet meals.

Melissa purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Melissa chose Wyoming

This property is one of a kind with the combination of solitude, nature, a personal chef and access to Jackson Hole to enjoy the towns' many diverse offerings. It was a dream come true for Dave and Melissa and we hope it is for you too.

What makes this cabin unique

Reflection Cabin is dedicated to Melissa's grandfather who lived during the same time as Geronimo and was a pioneer in every sense of the word. It is also dedicated to her father who is 95 years old. It carries the antique feel of a wood burning stove and ice box and is decorated in western and Native American style.

Amenities

Bondurant Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower is separate from bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Also can be made into twin beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)Camp cot or aero bed can be added.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
There is a teepee located on the property for use and also a firepit area for roasting marshmallows etc. Guided hikes are also available. Your laundry can be done by your hosts.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Reflection Cabin a unique experience
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
dianedel45@gmail.com
5

A chance to step back in time and savor nature

  • 5 of 5

There are few people better than Melisa and Dave at turning their vision into a first-rate property--Reflection Cabin. Expertly crafted and decorated, you just can't beat the experience of being off the grid, but in luxury. The king size bed was wonderful....loved sitting in front of the picture window watching wildlife in the woods and birds on the feeder.....the grill on the porch enabled us to cook some fantastic meals....and your hospitality can't be matched. Loved our stay!

Diane and Don

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a joy to meet you folks. We have great memories of your stay and hope so much that we'll hear from you down the road. Our best Dave and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely gorgeous & peaceful

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was beautiful & immaculate.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haltom city
5

Very relaxing cabin

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Really enjoyed all the wildlife. David and Melissa were great. Gave us a lot of ideas on things to do away from the normal tourist stuff. Their restaurant the branding iron was very good. Really enjoyed our time in the cabin. We will be back. Thanks Kevin and Angie

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greeley, Colorado
5

Beautiful and Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin and surrounding property is truly unique and beautiful. David and Melissa are gracious and helpful hosts. They have put a great deal of thought and effort into making the cabin functional, yet rustic and private, so that visitors feel comfortable and peaceful. Take a walk or hike and enjoy the surroundings and the beautiful wildflowers, enjoy the drive to Jackson for shopping, explore the wonderful fishing in the nearby rivers, or just enjoy the peace and tranquility of the cabin itself. Thank you, David and Melissa, for your gracious hospitality - we were able to relax and were blessed by the whole experience and look forward to another visit. Jeff, Sue and David Figgs, Greeley, Colorado

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

We're from Florida I and decided to take my daughter out west for a father/daughter trip. I booked three nights Reflection Cabin and then another four at another location. I wish I'd have booked the Reflection for the entire time! The natural beauty of this place is simply overwhelming, and the serenity of the cabin and the woods which surround it bring peace to the spirit... I woke up each morning and sipped my coffee on the porch amidst the cool, fresh breezes and with the sounds of birds chirping and squirrels rustling; not a sound except for the ones from the woodland inhabitants!

The cabin itself is a work of art. Hand-hewn beams culled from fallen timbers on the property recall a bygone era, and the décor within compliments and enhances that rustic, yet simply elegant feel. Every piece of furniture, every item adorning the walls--from the copper cooking pots to the 19th century wood stove to the artwork and antique curios--seems perfectly fitted to the setting. Nestled amongst the animals' homes in the trees outside, Reflection Cabin is the 'human nest' for all lucky enough to rest in it.

But even more special than this place are the owners themselves, who live but a short walk away. Dave and Melissa could not have been more welcoming. They made my daughter and I feel like family from the day we arrived...a real comfort for travelers coming from far away, as we were!

For the most part folks come to this gorgeous part of the country for one reason...to see the natural beauty and pristine wilderness which surround it. So why on earth do they congregate in Jackson Hole, elbow to elbow, when there is a place like this so closeby? To each their own but I will take Reflection Cabin over a crowded tourist trap any day. Spending the day in town and picking up a few items to take back home is fine, but beyond that give me the peace and quiet a place like Reflection Cabin brings... it is truly food for the soul.

Do yourself a favor--stay here. You'll take home a memory which will last a lifetime.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

It was cozy and peaceful but the unique experience was more than I bargained for.

  • 2 of 5

When I made the decision to stay it wasn't clear enough to me that I would be without water and electricity. I was hoping to just adapt but the longer I was there the harder it became. My challenge was more Dave than anything.

When I arrived at the cafe Dave couldn't leave until he closed. Melissa left on a family emergency so he is the only one around to help me. When I get to my cabin Dave did help me get my stuff inside. I planned on staying a month so I had plenty to unload. He shows me how to operate all the solar lights, fireplace, camp stove, compost toilet, shower, etc. The shower is 50 feet or so from the cabin. One of the first things I noticed is water standing on the shower floor. Dave tells me it will not be up and running until Monday afternoon. I was supposed to be at the cabin on Thursday, but because of a snowstorm I didn't arrive until Saturday. Those are not words you want to hear.

The shower experience was not the best. The water was lukewarm at best so I had Dave adjust it. He did tell me the temperature was good enough for the last person. Ugh! Because it was colder the second time I showered I adjust the water temperature myself. It still took a couple tries before I got it right. The mat I stepped onto after I showered did not feel the cleanest so it was an unpleasant experience.

This was the first time I had ever used an icebox. It is located on the deck. It actually seemed to work okay but there is no way of knowing what the temperature is. I kept asking for ice but Dave didn't always give it to me when I asked for things. The last bag Dave brought came 4 days after the last one he gave me. My voice needed to be heard.

Because I felt I was at Dave's mercy I was concerned when I ran out of toilet paper. When I asked for some he wanted to know if I looked in the cabinet. I'd been there 9 or 10 days by then. I was annoyed and frustrated. This was not the experience I was hoping for.

I chose to take my dirty clothes to a laundry mat in town rather than use Dave and Melissa's. I was also glad I could charge my phone and iPad in my car whenever I was traveling. The compost toilet actually works better than you would imagine.

Leaving early was a good decision. However, I don't believe vacation rentals work like a hotel. If you give hotels a 24 hour notice you won't get charged for the days you aren't there. Really makes me think about the next place I stay.

Deb Petersen

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Deb, We sincerely apologize for your less than delighted stay with us. We had no idea you were unhappy as you never revealed that to us. We thought everything was fine. I wish you would have at least called me and we could have discussed what your thoughts were. As it was, our son was hospitalized and we were extremely worried about his health otherwise I would have been there to assist. When you left without telling us, we were completely confused. The wilderness is a special place but not for everyone, which is fine. You did have water to drink and wash by and people have always said the 92-105 temp. in the shower was great. At any rate, we wish you well and we're very sorry. David and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
Branding Iron Cafe

This property is amazing. Nestled amidst apen and fir trees at the end of a 6 mile dirt road you will experience a beautiful new cabin following an 1800's theme. You can be secluded away from everyone and everything or enjoy the attractions in Jackson Hole. This cabin is not like any other.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties