Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reflection Cabin a unique experience

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

This brand new 1800 style cabin is 480 square feet of beauty. It is one room that includes a kitchen, eating area, living area, bedroom, wood burning stove, and separate bathroom area. Beds can be set up as 2 extra long twins or king bed with a queen size futon. There is a small deck for grilling,and a table and chairs for outdoor eating. Wildlife viewing happens daily and calls to the wildlife photographer, journalist or individuals looking for a complete relaxed get-a-way. The property may be rented with or without a personal chef serving breakfast and dinner. All linens and needs are provided for the cabin as well as daily housekeeping.


Owner
Melissa
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Melissa

Dave and Melissa Shipek are both retired from their careers as a firefighter and teacher. Born and raised in California they decided to live in the wilderness and share their experiences with all who wished to have an extreme contrast from urban life. They live on the same 30 acres and offer a wide variety of activities plus gourmet meals.

Melissa purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Melissa chose Wyoming

This property is one of a kind with the combination of solitude, nature, a personal chef and access to Jackson Hole to enjoy the towns' many diverse offerings. It was a dream come true for Dave and Melissa and we hope it is for you too.

What makes this cabin unique

Reflection Cabin is dedicated to Melissa's grandfather who lived during the same time as Geronimo and was a pioneer in every sense of the word. It is also dedicated to her father who is 95 years old. It carries the antique feel of a wood burning stove and ice box and is decorated in western and Native American style.

Amenities

Bondurant Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Also can be made into twin beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a teepee located on the property for use and also a firepit area for roasting marshmallows etc. Snowmobile rides, ATV rides and guided hikes are also available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Reflection Cabin a unique experience
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
2

It was cozy and peaceful but the unique experience was more than I bargained for.

  • 2 of 5

When I made the decision to stay it wasn't clear enough to me that I would be without water and electricity. I was hoping to just adapt but the longer I was there the harder it became. My challenge was more Dave than anything.

When I arrived at the cafe Dave couldn't leave until he closed. Melissa left on a family emergency so he is the only one around to help me. When I get to my cabin Dave did help me get my stuff inside. I planned on staying a month so I had plenty to unload. He shows me how to operate all the solar lights, fireplace, camp stove, compost toilet, shower, etc. The shower is 50 feet or so from the cabin. One of the first things I noticed is water standing on the shower floor. Dave tells me it will not be up and running until Monday afternoon. I was supposed to be at the cabin on Thursday, but because of a snowstorm I didn't arrive until Saturday. Those are not words you want to hear.

The shower experience was not the best. The water was lukewarm at best so I had Dave adjust it. He did tell me the temperature was good enough for the last person. Ugh! Because it was colder the second time I showered I adjust the water temperature myself. It still took a couple tries before I got it right. The mat I stepped onto after I showered did not feel the cleanest so it was an unpleasant experience.

This was the first time I had ever used an icebox. It is located on the deck. It actually seemed to work okay but there is no way of knowing what the temperature is. I kept asking for ice but Dave didn't always give it to me when I asked for things. The last bag Dave brought came 4 days after the last one he gave me. My voice needed to be heard.

Because I felt I was at Dave's mercy I was concerned when I ran out of toilet paper. When I asked for some he wanted to know if I looked in the cabinet. I'd been there 9 or 10 days by then. I was annoyed and frustrated. This was not the experience I was hoping for.

I chose to take my dirty clothes to a laundry mat in town rather than use Dave and Melissa's. I was also glad I could charge my phone and iPad in my car whenever I was traveling. The compost toilet actually works better than you would imagine.

Leaving early was a good decision. However, I don't believe vacation rentals work like a hotel. If you give hotels a 24 hour notice you won't get charged for the days you aren't there. Really makes me think about the next place I stay.

Deb Petersen

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Deb, We sincerely apologize for your less than delighted stay with us. We had no idea you were unhappy as you never revealed that to us. We thought everything was fine. I wish you would have at least called me and we could have discussed what your thoughts were. As it was, our son was hospitalized and we were extremely worried about his health otherwise I would have been there to assist. When you left without telling us, we were completely confused. The wilderness is a special place but not for everyone, which is fine. You did have water to drink and wash by and people have always said the 92-105 temp. in the shower was great. At any rate, we wish you well and we're very sorry. David and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lenoir City, TN
5

Happy trails

  • 5 of 5

A quiet oasis in a true wilderness. We were so impressed with our visit. Our cabin was cute, immaculately clean and very private. Our hosts were accommodating and very friendly. Wildlife everywhere, mule deer, moose, snow-shoe hare, the list goes on and on. Although we came to visit the parks we felt even more in the wilderness during our stay at reflection cabin. Such a peaceful experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Brevard, NC
5

Excellent Getaway from Reality

  • 5 of 5

Coming out here, I was not sure what to expect, but as soon as I stepped foot in the cabin I immediately fell in love with the scenery, rustic lifestyle, and the the feeling that I was the only person in the world. There is so much privacy and allows for one to meditate and relieve all of their worldly stresses. The owners some of the nicest people I have ever met! They are very accommodating and make sure that you have what you need. Dave, the owner, is an expert chef and owns a cafe just down the road from the ranch- called Branding Iron Cafe. The food is the best in the area and, in fact, the best I have ever had anywhere. I highly recommend this for anyone that needs to escape reality or just needs to relax for a while.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Luxuriously Rustic

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent two nights at Reflections Cabin and we enjoyed every minute of it. The cabin itself offers comfortable bedding--a queen, I think, and a futon--as well as plenty of space for food and clothing storage. Lots of candles and lamps allow for more than enough light after dark. The sawdust toilet was a hit with our 10 year old son, who marveled at this natural and ingenious sanitation. Cabin is decorated with beautiful artwork and there are shelves jammed with books. Plenty to do right outside your door--ATVs to ride, a teepee to investigate, friendly squirrels that will eat peanuts right out of your hand, and some great hiking both at nearby Tetons and the Wind River Range--but the best thing about this cabin will no doubt be your interactions with its owners, two of the nicest, friendliest and funniest people you'll have the privilege of meeting. Do yourself a favor and request some of Dave's cooking--the mini breakfast souffles, meatloaf, & sliders were absolutely exquisite. I can't think of a better place to stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Sugar Grove, IL
5

Romantic Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We booked this cabin for two nights as part of our honeymoon and it turned out to be the highlight of our two week trip! This cabin is sooooo romantic! Beautifully built by the owner's loving hands, not a single detail has been ignored. It is very rustic, and nestled in the Bridger-Tetons. We hiked trails on the property and nearby trails in the Bridger-Tetons, my husband went fly fishing all three days and we enjoyed the stores in nearby Pinedale and Jackson. We had intimate and peaceful dinners on the front deck and saw a mother moose and her newborn. Such a wonderful place to connect with your significant other, yourself and nature. David and Missi are amazing hosts! We have already booked the cabin for our anniversary :-)

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Jackson, WY
5

Peace, Quiet, and Comfort

  • 5 of 5

Reflection cabin is definitely the place to go if you need to escape the frenzy of everyday life. This gorgeous cabin is the perfect spot to reflect, reset, and reconnect with what life is really all about. Dave and Miss have created a wonderfully comfortable rustic cabin where you can enjoy peace and solitude. Or, take a short stroll over to the lodge for a fabulous dinner created by Dave, and wonderful conversation with these two great people.

The day and night we spent here was magical. The light of candles and oil lamps in the evening brings out the warmth of the cabin while imparting a sense of rest and simplicity. It forces you to slow down and relax, which is what this cabin is all about. The cabin is spotless and comfortable. The antique wood stove makes it as cozy as can be.

If you’re looking for a break from the noise, and a natural place to explore and relax, Reflection Cabin is it!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

This property is amazing. Nestled amidst apens and fir trees at the end of a 6 mile dirt road you will experience a beautiful new cabin following an 1800's theme. You can be secluded away from everyone and everything or enjoy the attractions in Jackson Hole. This cabin is not like any other.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bondurant Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties