Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Large family Lake Superior lakefront vacation home - 3BD/2.5BA

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Perfect for families, groups, and retreats. AuTrain on the Bay boasts an exceptional view of Lake Superior from the large living room and master bedroom. Features include a kitchen with dishwasher, oven, and microwave; master bedroom with lakeview on main level; two large guest bedrooms; two baths; and washer and dryer for laundry. Additional living space in basement includes a bathroom and pull-out sofa sleeper. Large patio deck facing the lake is a perfect spot for sitting and relaxing next to the water.

The small quaint town of AuTrain is a resort community. Lake Superior's AuTrain Beach is clean, sandy beach as well as the AuTrain Local groceries, canoe liveries, and family owned restaurants are all within a short distance.

Located just 10 miles from Munising making a trip to Pictured Rocks National Park just a short drive away, as well as Grand Island which is accessible by boat. A day on the water or just sitting and relaxing on the large patio deck overlooking beautiful Lake Superior will make your vacation one you'll never forget.

More Details

Property Manager
Maria
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Amenities

Au Train House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) 1 King bed in the master bedroom., Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1) Chair that folds out to a single bed., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Additional living space in basement with sofa sleeper.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Large family Lake Superior lakefront vacation home - 3BD/2.5BA
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 15 reviews
5

Wonderful as always!!

  • 5 of 5

Once again this home provided my family with the perfect get away. The views are breathtaking and the cottage had everything we needed. We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying, Nicole! Talk to you soon for next years stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
2

Nice setting but house needs a lot of help -- and a new property manager

  • 2 of 5

We rent on services like Home Away a lot so have a point of reference. This house needs a lot of help. Upon arrival lock box didn't work. Had to call for help. Only one key. Key didn't work in front door and we had to walk around to back door, which was very difficult to jimmy open. A hassle every time we got back to house. Major road noise especially when windows are open -- be warned. There are no shades or curtains on a single window in the place including bedrooms. So no privacy or relief from sun at dawn. The full bathroom in the basement has no mirror (try shaving), no bath mat, no soap in shower, busted off towel rack and missing towels. The bed downstairs is an oversized single -- doesn't work for two. Two of three smoke detectors didn't have batteries. Oven was filthy. No duvet covers on any of the quilts, which smelled like last few renters. No place to put clothes in any bedrooms--need small chest of drawers in each. No mirrors in any bedrooms. Dining room light switch broken off though operational. Bedside lamps don't provide enough light -- and are needed on both sides of beds, not just one. No instructions for TVs with multiple remotes and hundreds of channels. WiFi code was scratched on the back of a piece of paper -- not easy to find. Good wifi though. Faulty lamp caused electric to short out wherever plugged in. Water softener ran low on salt and beeped nonstop -- very annoying. No soap for laundry -- yet we were told to start washing linens before leaving. Great potential view of lake but trees are so overgrown you can only see bits of it. Bottom stairs to beach are tumbled down and have no railing so older visitors won't ever see the view or enjoy beach. No beach chairs provided (though there were tons of beach toys for kids). No light on deck so would have to grill in dark. Property manager was so unresponsive that we called owner who came over to assist with electrical issues. I'd get a new manager if it were my place and make a punch list of the many repairs and updates that this place needs to be marketed as a rental. On the plus side nicely equipped kitchen and nice dining area. Someone in charge needs to walk through this place and try to experience it as a renter to see where it's falling short.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great beach!

  • 5 of 5

Nice private sandy beach to sunbathe, swim, and enjoy camp fires. Close to hiking and atv trails.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The Little Things

  • 4 of 5

It's hard to review this property including the negatives, as the positives greatly outweighed them. That said, life is measured by the little things. The house was in order when we arrived. Every room was clean enough for the busy and short Superior summer season. All amenities promised to us in the contract were delivered. Bedrooms are clean and bright with plenty of space to sprawl out and make one's own private area for gaming, music, reading, or other alone time.

The kitchen is bright, and all appliances were in working order. Fridge bulb needed a wee jiggle to stay on. Oven held temp and cooked nicely. Unfortunately the kitchen is drastically understocked. I read this information in reviews like this one before our trip to Au Train. When I first used the kitchen I didn't notice how deficient it was. Plenty of spoons and forks. Plenty of plates and way too many different glasses to drink from. As I cooked, I realized we would need to find a store to remedy what was lacking. If you are mostly making light meals and sandwiches, this kitchen is set. But if constructing anything from scratch, the cooks will need to improvise. This kitchen was the most understocked of any house we have rented so far. Two dish and hand towels were the bare minimum. This said, I was the main cook on the trip. So I searched for spatula, tongs, serving and mixing bowls more than others. We left much of what we bought around the area to help the next guests.

When we stayed there was a coffee style table before one of the sofas. It had thick blue legs and the table top extended. One of the legs was completely broken off. When a pair went to eat a meal on it the leg dropped and most everything took a tumble. I tried to repair, but it needs to be professionally done-- or replaced all together. I wondered how many people had struggled with that heavy table.

Now for the beach. Superior is why we rented this property. We were pleased with calm seas and sunsoaked shores. Lucky us, we swam every day but our last. The water is what this house is all about. The rocky path down to the shore was treacherous in spots, though. Some of the rocks had fallen out of their sandy homes. Flying up to the house or back down to the beach is nothing for kids, but unnecessarily difficult for those over 40.

Finally, the welcome binder didn't have current info. Wi-Fi password was a mystery. Anytime we called the listed contact numbers, we never recieved a call back. What if we were locked out?

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

3 stars for location & beach. 1 star for accommodations

  • 3 of 5

Visited with kids (ages 30+) & grandkids (2 & 4 yrs old). Great location. Short distance to Pictured Rocks, Shipwreck Museum, Presque Isle, many waterfalls & hiking & restaurants & grocery stores. Beach very nice for all. Did not use basement. It smelled bad & was dirty Kids slept in their sleeping bags on the floor in their parents room. Master bedroom had beautiful beach view. Took off top blankets as the instruction sheet for guests said they aren't washed between every guests stay. One had a blood stain on it. Yuck. Instructions said to wash dishes & towels before leaving but we had to buy soap to do so. We did all the chores in instructions before leaving (put trash in bin in garage but it was full when we arrived) & left it probably better than on our arrival. The pictures look much nicer than it is. We liked the privacy. But we will not be returning.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Barbara, I appreciate you staying and spending a moment to share your experiences. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I wish these issues were mentioned when I inquired after check in during your stay when the home was claimed as perfect at that time. Proper action could have been taken promptly during your stay. I will be looking into all points you have mentioned. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roosevelt, NJ
4

Nice house, great location.

  • 4 of 5

Stayed there early October, our first time in the UP and our 5th beach/vacation house rental. Really love the outdoor decks, close proximity to Lake Superior, great home layout for two families. 10 minute drive to Munising and pictured rocks, close to a general store and two restaurants. Right off 28, and never felt like it was a busy road.

House did lack kitchen wares I tipically expect, like a mixer, measuring cups, spoons, larger pots, etc. but not sure what's typical in this area.

Rusty colored water isn't welcoming either.

But.... Again it's right on Lake Superior! And the beach behind it is top notch with excellent sand, very quiet too!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Sawyer International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Brownstone Inn
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Pictured Rocks Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Brownstone Inn
Nearest Ski
28 Miles
Marquette Mountain

Photography, waterfalls, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, ATV/ORV riding, birding, and canoeing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $200

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties