Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Parrot House in Fort Lauderdale

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 bath, detached cottage. Can sleep more than 9

The Parrot House was built in 1918 and is on the Historical Registry of Fort Lauderdale. It is the 5th oldest residential home still standiing. The three bedroom home is nestled in mature landscaping with a 4th bedroom available in the detached cottage. Heated swimming pool. The existing vegetation and wooden fence around the border of the property create a private tropical oasis. The home has been thoroughly restored and each room holds the charm and harmony of an older tropical home combined with new furnishings and interior design that compliments the historical character of the home. The kitchen is complete with top of the line stainless steel appliances. The living room has the original fire place. The den has 11 windows with views to the heated pool and gardens.

The previous owner was a landscape architect and over 15 species of palm trees along with stately live oaks create a tropical ambiance that is nothing short of superlative in its beauty. Landscape lighting at night around the heated pool makes you feel like you are in a 5 star tropical resort.

There are parrot feeders in the front gardens that attract over 5 species of wild exotic parrots that visit the feeders in flocks throughout the day. A host of resident and migratory native bird species like painted buntings, cardinals, mockingbirds visit the mature vegetation of the gardens and neighborhood.

In addition to the central AC there is a separate split level air conditioner on the upper floor that allows guests to custom control the temperature throughout the home and in the cooler seasons windows can be opened with screens to enjoy the cool micro climate created by the mature vegetation.

Majestic Royal Palms border the large swimming pool which is tucked into the landscaping and surrounded by a stone and wooden deck which is located just off the first story porch and protected from the rain. This area is accessed from the den and two bedrooms and is a major hang spot for guests. The 2nd floor balcony off the master bedroom puts you in the canopy of the live oaks.

The Parrot House is a unique property in Fort Lauderdale.

More Details

Owner
Jeffrey Dietrich
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, german, spanish, Tagalog
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 14, 2017

About Jeffrey Dietrich

The current owners are the founders of two eco resorts, one in Panama (Mount Totumas Cloud Forest) and the other in Thailand (Koh Jum Beach Villas) . They spend most the year managing these resorts and maintain the Parrot House as their home when in the US. Jeffrey was born in Pennsylvania, lived over 25 years abroad and is educated as a naturalist having graduated in Environmental Science from Antioch College. Alma was born in the Philippines. They have been married 25 years and have two daughters. Their passion is nature and preservation of bio diversity.

Both Alma and Jeff lived over 20 years in South Florida and have visited natural areas throughout the sate. They are wealth of information for visitors interested in visiting some of the remaining preserved areas of 'Real Florida'.

Jeffrey Dietrich purchased this house in 2010

Why Jeffrey Dietrich chose Fort Lauderdale

With the past boom and busts of real estate in South Florida and the transient nature of the local population, older historical homes have largely been wiped off the map as poor city management allowed developers to tear down many of the historical homes. The Parrot House will celebrate its 100 year anniversary in just a couple of years and is the 5th oldest residency in Fort Lauderdale located in an old historical neighborhood where older vegetation still echoes back to the virgin Oak hammocks that once lined the New River. These attributes are what attracted us to this home. Open windows in the cooler season create breezeways that still show the intelligent architectural design present before air conditioning. Mature landscaping creates a cooler microclimate during hot summers.

The gardens and trees in the neighborhood and property hold a large number of native species of birds and butterflies, both resident and migratory. Together with the exotic flocks of feral parrots the home and neighborhood is shared with a large diversity of flora and fauna.

What makes this house unique

You are in a tropical oasis when you are a guest of the Parrot House, whether you are in the hammock on the porch by the pool or on the upper porch looking into the canopy of live oaks and royal palms. The historical Parrot House is a luxurious escape into the tropics and the past.

Amenities

Downtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Up to 3 Pick and Play cribs available for small children
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 4 (detached cottage) - 2 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (1). Can provide queen mattress futon for additional sleep arrangement.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We own the neighboring property (see VRBO listing 392559) and can open gate to join both lots for accommodating groups up to 15 people when combined. Please inquire. Check in time on day of arrival is 4:00pm Check out time on day of departure is 10:00am We try our best to accommodate guest requests for early check in or late check out when possible.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
The Parrot House in Fort Lauderdale
average rating of 4.810811 based on 37 reviews
5

I love it Spend an incredible weekend with my friends we are thinking about a future come back to th

  • 5 of 5

Spend an incredible weekend with my friends we are thinking about a future come back to the house...

Pasar un fin de semana increíble con mis amigos estamos pensando en un futuro volver a la casa

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, Virginia
5

Amazing Ft. Lauderdale Rental

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends rented this house along with the bungalow next door for a long weekend and we absolutely LOVED it. The houses were perfect and were stocked with everything needed to have an amazing vacation. The pool was perfect and the house is in a very convenient location. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay and the whole group wants to rent the place again next year! Jeff and Jimmy were both fantastic and made the booking and entire trip very enjoyable. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Definitely not a 5 star experience

  • 2 of 5

Was looking forward to what I thought would be a 5 star experience based on other reviews. The property manager Jim was very nice and communicative which I really appreciated. But, not much to be done about the main issues - there was a stifling moth ball and mildew smell in the house, my friends staying in the guest house had to flee after an allergy attack from mold in the air conditioner there, the water in the main house for bathing was literally yellow (I was told that is how it is in Ft Lauderdale which may be true, I haven't had other experiences, but bathing my kids in that was extremely unnerving), the only shower in the house was the lowest flow imaginable and there was visible mold on the tiles, and the gasket in the washer had visible mold and reeked of mold (obviously needs to be changed). There were a bunch of lights out around the house and pool - Jim fixed what he could - I just feel like someone should be checking these things before a guest checks in. The heated pool was great but the heat didn't work for the first 2 days of our 5 day stay which made it way too cold for us to swim to my kids' great disappointment. There is also a dangerous situation for young kids in the master bedroom rendering it useless to us - part of the staircase has no railing so little kids could easily fall down it. The nice parts were the parrots and the pool/tropical trees/outdoor situation is enjoyable. And this is not the owner' fault but there is currently massive construction next door - it ruined any relaxing vibe during the weekdays and no one mentioned it at all. Overall it was a pretty disappointing stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is a great opportunity for perspective guests reading this to pay attention. If you are used to sterile accommodations there are thousands to choose from here in South Florida. Try the 20th floor of a condominium for example. The Parrot House is a fully restored historical home, wood framed, richly landscaped. Staying here is an organic experience. We meticulously clean the home before every guest visit. There will always be those few who may find the home a bit too historic and organic for their tastes. If you feel you might fit this category please don't rent the home! If however you are looking for a fabulous alternative to sterile faceless accommodations in South Florida please consider staying with us Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property and a very private setting.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Parrot House. As promised, parrots (conures) visited the feeders every morning. The house was comfortable and we especially enjoyed the outdoor space and pool. The fencing and landscaping helped us to feel we were in a tropical retreat, even though we were in the middle of a neighborhood. We were concerned with the construction going on next door, but the noise never reached an obnoxious level.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2

Not what was advertised

  • 2 of 5

For as expensive as this property was, we really expected a lot more. The house is beautiful on the outside but on the inside it smells rather moldy. In addition, the place was advertised with three showers and it really is only one inside shower and a tub with an attachment and an outdoor shower that's exposed to the elements.

The dishes were sticky and seemed like they hadn't been cleaned at all. We found slugs and spiders in the cottage beds, so no one really wanted to sleep out there.

All of this was disappointing but the final nail in the coffin was being asked to wash all the towels and the sheets and put the dishes away on the day we left. Now of course we do try to pick up after ourselves, but we paid a cleaning fee and it should be their job, not ours. When we told the property manager this, he told us that he has a tight turnaround to meet and that he could have charged us for checking in early.

Basically, if you want to be ripped off to stay in a sub par property, stay here. Otherwise, save your money and find a better property.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the second review from the same party who never contacted us about any problems. This guest asked for a late check out. We had new guests checking in the same day.In order to accommodate their special request our property manager Jimmy agreed under the conditions that the guests strip the beds and start a load of laundry of towels so that he would be able to flip the home in time for the new guests. This apparently upset the guest who we never heard from except for writing these two bad reviews. This is not responsible communication and we welcome the guest to contact us directly instead of choosing this open review board to express their unhappiness. For any prospective tenant reading our response please note that our property manager is frequently mentioned in the over 2 dozen 5 star reviews as being outstanding, excellent, helpful and accommodating. Also we as owners of The Parrot House are also owners of the following international resorts: Mount Totumas Cloud Forest Koh Jum Beach Villas I welcome any and all to please see the reviews of these other properties together with the 30 plus 5 star reviews of the Parrot Hosue. We pride ourselves in providing excellent accommodations on all our properties and our care to detail in unsurpased. This is a vindictive guest. There is not much you can do when they do not even have the courtesy our courage to contact us directly and instead resort to immature tactics to try to discredit both our excellent property manager and the unique Parrot House which will celebrate its 100 year anniversary next year as a truly unique lodging experience in Fort Lauderdale. Thank You
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5

I rented the entire property to host Thanksgiving. We had an amazing 4 days. New memories were created and my family couldn't stop talking about how impressed they were. The kids enjoyed the pool everyday and loved feeding the parrots that came daily to visit. This handsdown was the best Thanksgiving ever! The owner Jeff and his property manager Jimmy were GREAT!!! From my family to yours, we thank you😊

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Tri Rail
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I95
Nearest Beach
22 Miles
Miami International Airport

The Parrot House is located in historical Riverside Park and is a 10 minute walk from The Riverwalk and downtown Fort Lauderdale. Riverside Park is bordered by 2 branches of the New River where access to the neighborhood is restricted to local traffic. There are only two entry points, one of which is a historical swing bridge on Palm Ave. . Add the mature vegetation with tall majestic live oaks and older homes and you have the perfect quiet location as a base for walking or driving to Fort Lauderdale and the surrounding attractions. The beaches are only a 5 minute drive. The airport and interstate are both within a 10 minute drive as well. Also within a 10 minute walk is the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, the Museum of Discovery and Science, Imax Theatre and the beginning of The River Walk. .

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Aug 5 2017 - Nov 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

The Parrot House is next to the Riverside Bungalow (VRBO Listing 392559) and can be offered as a compound for larger private groups that will sleep up to 15 people. The fence bordering the properties is opened and pathways join the two properties. Inquiry about rates for renting both properties.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties