Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Front, Modern, Spacious Home, Incredible View and Access to Lake

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

On the water, comfortable, roomy house with plenty of creature comforts

Location: Lake Lure, Blue Ridge Mountains, North Carolina, USA (near Asheville, NC and Greenville, SC; Charlotte 1.5 hrs)

Accommodations: Single Family Home, 6 bedrooms, 3 baths (sleeps 12)

A special property, on a large quiet cove on Lake Lure, provides that feeling of vacation from the minute you walk through the front door into a light and airy main living area. The entrance to the house is on level ground for easy access when loading/unloading the car or while making the most of the amazing views from the two large decks overlooking the boat house and the pristine Tryon Bay Cove. Level parking in front of the house offers space for up to three vehicles.

A relaxing environment with some of life’s necessities included such as satellite television. Wi-Fi Internet available.

The house offers over 3000 square feet of living space and includes a large master suite upstairs (with a king bed, double vanity and 500 square feet of space) featuring a jet tub, wood burning fire place and a walk in closet.

On the main level, a large living area with vaulted ceilings, double paddle fan, 55” flat panel TV with DVD/VCR players and views of the boat house and the quiet cove. A full kitchen (refrigerator, double oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher and disposal), dining area, laundry room with washer and dryer, two private bedrooms (one with a queen, one with one twin bed) and a full bath are conveniently located on this level. The large deck provides comfortable chairs, a picnic table and a charcoal grill for your use.

And managing the excitement of the children is easy in this house. The lower floor offers a pool table, 49" flat panel TV, stereo, a full kitchen (full refrigerator, oven, stove and sink), one bedroom with three twin beds, a second bedroom with two twins, a third bedroom with two twins and a full bath. Two sets of French doors provide lots of natural light and great views of the cove and boat house. The lower deck offers chairs to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Lake Lure.

Of course the great outdoors is a huge feature of this property. Take the stairs down to the boat house deck or onto the swim deck and relax. You can take in the views while sitting 10 feet above the water or go for a swim in the no-wake protected cove. There is a table with an umbrella and plenty of chairs available to enjoy the quiet and beauty.

The full kitchen has all the comforts you expect: side by side refrigerator, double oven, stove, dishwasher, microwave and disposal. Also you will find a coffee maker, toaster and plenty of dishes and utensils, pots and pans for cooking and eating. For entertainment, there is a 55' flat panel TV, DVD/VCR and plenty of board games for children and adults. There is also a full size washer and dryer available to help keep packing to a minimum.

This house has a convenient location at the south end of the lake. The full service Ingle’s grocery/pharmacy/gas station and the town golf course are less than 5 minutes away. The town of Lake Lure is 5 minutes drive and Chimney Rock Village/Chimney Rock State Park are 10 minutes away. For dining Larkin’s on the Lake and Point of View restaurants are 5 minutes travel or less.

More Details

Owner
Dan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Dan

Our family has enjoyed Western NC for more than 20 years. We began searching for that special property more than a decade ago. After much research we are thrilled to have made Lake Lure the final choice.

We have been married for more than 29 years, have three children.

Over the years many of our family activities have revolved around the great outdoors and particularly the water. From hiking, scuba diving, sailing and kayaking are all included in the activities we enjoy doing together.

Dan purchased this house in 2012

Why Dan chose Lake Lure

Quiet, relaxing Tryon Bay Cove with less than 5 minutes access to restaurants, Ingles super market, golf course and the main lake by boat.

What makes this house unique

Parking for three vehicles on concrete driveway.

Level entry way to house

Amenities

Garner Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath upstairs, double vanity and walk in closet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , located on the main floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on the lower level
  • 3 full bathrooms, one on each level
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master is on the upper level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This room is located on the main level, no steps
    Bedroom 4 - 3 twin/ single , This room is located on the lower level
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , This room is located on the lower level with a trundle bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , This room is located on the main level, no steps
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , This bedroom is located on the lower level
  • King size bed (1) in the master suite; main level: Queen size Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1); lower level: One room with three twin beds, two rooms with two twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Two boat rental companies for half or full day rentals (Town of Lake Lure Marina and Lake Lure Adventures). Town golf course 5 minutes away. Zip line adventure in Lake Lure. Great hiking in Chimney Rock State Park. Gem Mining too!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Lake Front, Modern, Spacious Home, Incredible View and Access to Lake
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
5

Great lakefront rental home!

  • 5 of 5

This was a great rental! The house is in excellent condition, and is better equipped than any other home rentals we've experienced in many trips to Lake Lure. The boathouse and dock are in good shape equipped with kayaks and a standup paddle board. The entire outdoor living space was very nice. The house is situated in Tryon Bay Cove which is a perfect place for kids to swim and for paddle boarding. The neighbors in the cove are very friendly. Also was nice to be right around a the corner from Latkins on the Lake for a drink or meal and very close to Ingles for groceries. Would definitely recommend this house and our family plans to stay here again. The owner, Dan, is very responsive and easy to work with. He was quick to help when any issue came up.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great place for Great times

  • 4 of 5

This is my first time using VRBO and I was skeptical that I would find a good place for a college reunion. I was completely wrong. This location is located on a quiet section of the lake and had all the amenities you need for large groups. I will definitely bring my family next time.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A Christmas Reunion Escape

  • 4 of 5

This home was very comfortable and accommodated everyone nicely. We particularly enjoyed the pool table and the master suite. It is conveniently located and I love the fact that you can walk to restaurants. Asheville offered many attractions including Grove Park Inn's Gingerbread House Competition. Instead of snow we had shirt-sleeve weather over the Christmas holiday. We really appreciated an owner who would accept pets.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing time here, what a great vacation! The house really has everything you need, and after a day or so, we really didn't feel the need to do anything other than hang out there. A very relaxing vacation. Dan made everything easy for us, and was a pleasure to work with. Hoping to come back again this summer...l

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not lease again

  • 1 of 5

We did not find the property to be of the quality described in the listing. Owner gave us the wrong key box combination for entry which created a problem when we arrived after dark in the rain. I specifically asked about parking space for a trailer and was told yes there was room - there was NOT and we had to haul it to Asheville 45 minutes away to store it as the home is on a very narrow one lane, one way street with limited parking. We had issues also with what we call "waterbugs" on the coast - a large type of roach in the main floor bedrooms and bath. Also it would only take 5 minutes for a maintenance person or housekeeping service to sweep dozens of huge spiderwebs away from the porch/deck patio area of the lower level - it looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. There is a pool table but not a full set of equipment to play with so it was useless. Satellite service for tv viewing had poor reception and extremely limited, basic number of channels so as there is no internet provided be prepared to bring your own dvds. Overall this rental was very disappointing for the substantial monies we spent.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have made our house available to over 50 families in the past few years. This is the first review that has not been very positive. The renter references a conversation we had in advance of the house being rented. We did discuss available parking for a small to standard sized trailer. The house has a nice concrete pad and extra grassy space to park longer vehicles parallel to the road. A number of previous renters, including one in September bringing several personal kayaks and canoes, have had no issues. If there was a problem a quick call to me would have resolved it as there is available parking, at no cost, less than 1 mile away. There are several other points that warrant comment: 1) Internet - we do not state internet is available in our listing. In fact there has not been cable based internet in the area for several years. Satellite service is now being advertised and will be investigated 2) Pests - our house is serviced by a regionally known and reliable pest service. While the housekeeper saw no evidence of roaches after the renters departure, we had the house serviced immediately 3) Pool Table - one billiard ball was missing. A full set was purchased and placed into service immediately We take pride in offering a beautiful waterfront home for short term rental and will continue to strive to offer a great get away experience on Lake Lure.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fun times were had by all (ages 86 to 23)

  • 5 of 5

We chose this beautiful home to return to Lake Lure with our family. It is described accurately and we all enjoyed our week there. The house is modern and comfortable. There are lots of stairs down to the dock, but they are built well and easy to navigate. The cove is quiet and we spent lots of time in the water without worrying about boat traffic. We also rented a pontoon one day so we could tour the entire lake. (the house comes with one kayak, one child kayak, and lots of floating devices)

Our outings were to Chimney Rock, Little Bradley Falls, and the Biltmore Estate, but most of our time was spent together in this spacious home.

As a family of 12, we would have liked to have a dining room table big enough for all of us to sit together. That would be my only negative comment. The kitchen is on the small size, but well equipped. There is a wonderful grocery store about a mile away and we found every ingredient we needed, including fresh produce.

The one way circle drive to the property is lightly traveled so taking walks was easy, but hilly. We met nice neighbors during our walks.

I would definitely recommend this home. Owner Dan was easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Asheville, NC and Greenville Spartanburg,SC
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Larkin's Bayside Cafe and Sports Bar
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Public course in Lake Lure
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
US 64/74
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Larkin's on the Lake
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Town of Lake Lure
Car: recommended

This house has a convenient location at the south end of the lake. The full service Ingel’s grocery/pharmacy/gas station is 3 minutes away. The town of Lake Lure is 5 minutes drive and Chimney Rock Village/Chimney Rock State Park are 8 minutes away. For dining, Larkin’s on the Lake and Point of View restaurants are 3 minutes from your vacation home.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Garner Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,250
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2017 - May 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $175
Tax Rate 11.75%

Tax of 11.75% not included in quoted rates; Short term stay insurance policy coverage not included in quoted rates; End of stay cleaning IS included in the rental fee.

Pet fee is per animal, per week. Maximum size is 25 pounds.

Checks, credit cards and PayPal are accepted

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable