Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy, charming retreat close to WWU and Fairhaven

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Apartment with Fully Equipped Kitchen, Laundry, Cable & Wifi

Popular VRBO since 2014 -- Under New Management. Ask for copies of the excellent to wonderful reviews from past guests.

Enjoy the comforts of home in this charming, clean apartment situated in a brick-row-building of six uniquely appointed guest apartments. Decorated with an artistic flair, each unit is filled with antiques, artwork, and some have quite a book collection. Relish the peaceful setting with lots of places to relax outside. Walk to Fairhaven, Interurban Trail, WWU or Boulevard Park.

The full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, blender, coffee bar, refrigerator and crock pot) is stocked with all basic cooking and dining utensils. The living room has a small dining table with a pair of side chairs and a television with cable and wifi. The bedroom has a queen-sized mattress and plenty of closet space.

Off street parking is provided. There’s a free-to-use laundry room on the backside of the property.

View our additional VRBO/HomeAway guest apartments in the same building:

Unit #1 (4293373) Western Washington

Unit #3 (4294568) The Boulevard

Unit #4 (4294971) Fairhaven Station

Unit #6 (4294986) Lake Padden

We are a 'self service' property, your key will be awaiting you when you arrive, our standard check in time is 4pm - earlier arrivals in the low season (after September) can generally be accommodated. Please contact us. We do not provide in-stay housekeeping services; if you would like housekeeping services we can provide you with the contact information for one of our staff housekeepers and you are welcome to contact them regarding services & rates.

For easy access, we’re centrally located in the Happy Valley district of Bellingham near Fairhaven Village & Close to I-5, Fairhaven Parkway and Chuckanut Drive. Situated near the Connelly Creek Walking Trail that connects to the interurban trail in South Bellingham, Joe's Gardens is a seasonal inter-urban vegetable garden, just minutes away. Western Washington University and the Sehome Arboretum are just a few blocks away. We’re about a mile from the Alaska Ferry Terminal, AmTrac and Greyhound at the Fairhaven Marina, Taylor Street Dock. The Boulevard Greenways Trail to Downtown Bellingham leads just 10 miles to Bellingham International Airport.

More Details

Property Manager
Amy Romanoff
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Amy Romanoff

We are a mother/daughter duo taking over a popular VRBO. We moved to Western Washington in April 2016 from Northern California and are loving this area. Danie (daughter) lives in Bellingham with her cat Jaguar and Amy (mother) lives with her husband Kent aboard their steel trawler in Blaine. In the short time we've lived here, we've discovered so many great places to eat and explore by foot and boat, yet we still have lots more to experience. This area is especially appealing to us because it's easy to enjoy the outdoors and it's very affordable. Our love for the area inspired us to start this business.

Amy Romanoff purchased this apartment in 2016

Why Amy Romanoff chose Bellingham

The minute we saw this lovely VRBO property we knew we wanted to manage it. The charming, well decorated apartments caught our eye. We also saw several opportunities to grow and add our own flavor, without disrupting the tasteful ambiance. This property feels very manageable because the apartments are in excellent condition and they are already uniquely decorated and nicely furnished. We feel lucky and honored to keep this tradition going.

What makes this apartment unique

What drew us to this property at first was its location -- being so close to our favorite parts of Bellingham. We especially love the peaceful setting, nestled in a quiet and safe neighborhood with private sitting areas hidden around the property. Unlike a hotel where every room is identical, here each apartment has it's own unique personality and character.

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Bellingham International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Fairhaven
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Alaska Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Lake Padden Golf Course
Nearest Train
1.4 Miles
Amtrak at Bellingham Station
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
I-5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fairhaven
Nearest Ski
59 Miles
Mt. Baker
Car: recommended

We’re centrally located in the Happy Valley district of Bellingham near Fairhaven Village & Close to I-5, Fairhaven Parkway and Chuckanut Drive. Situated near the Connelly Creek Walking Trail that connects to the interurban trail in South Bellingham, Joe's Gardens is a seasonal inter-urban vegetable garden, just minutes away. Western Washington University and the Sehome Arboretum are just a few blocks away. We’re about a mile from the Alaska Ferry Terminal, Amtrak and Greyhound at the Fairhaven Marina, Taylor Street Dock. We're very close to scenic Lake Padden, Whatcom Falls and Larrabee State Park.The Boulevard Greenways Trail to Downtown Bellingham leads just 10 miles to Bellingham International Airport.

Amenities

Happy Valley Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Clean, standard full bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • This comfy bedroom has a queen bed, two night stands, a dresser, book shelves, and ample closets. Upon request, and on a first come first serve basis, we can provide you with a folding twin bed & bedding for an additional person.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Our apartments are smoke free. However, guests are allowed to smoke in the sitting area outside, provided they clean up after themselves. There are two curb sized steps leading to the unit. We are an adult complex. There is washer/dryer in the laundry room located on the back side of the building (free to use).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
46% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy, charming retreat close to WWU and Fairhaven
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews
3

It could have been great

  • 3 of 5

It could have been great but when we arrived the keys were not where they were supposed to be. The assistant manager arrived & found the place had not been cleaned. Owners were nice enough to put us into a hotel for the night. We stayed 6 (supposed to have been 7) nights. A terrible outside smell started the 2nd day . Called & was told there was a salmon carcus in the vacant lot next door. Smell lasted through our stay so not sure if something was dead under the house. The place itself is very cute, laundry use is an added plus, parking is easy & safe, location is great. Just owner & manager need to put in a little more hands on to clean & care for property. Probably would not stay again....wish it would have been better cared for.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donald, Danie and I are very surprised and disappointed by your comments about our level of care for our property. We feel they are undeserved. When we discovered that your apartment was not ready for you, we were apologetic and accommodating. Danie escorted you to a hotel nearby where she paid for your room (twice as much as you had paid us). She then arranged to have your apartment cleaned by 11am and got a late checkout from the hotel.Then she ran to the store to get you a special welcome gift to show you how much we appreciate your business and understanding. We thought that was pretty good service. When we heard that there was a smell on our property, I was there within hours to investigate. The smell was clearly coming from our neighbors' property. I saw a salmon carcass on their property and attempted to move it further away from our property so it wouldn't disturb you. I called the police and animal control to have it removed and they told me I wasn't allowed to go onto our neighbor's property. They would take care of it. Other guests commented on the smell and said it was no big deal and that the odor was dissipating. Yes, it was disturbing to you but it wasn't due to our lack of care. We can't believe you would then accuse us of having something dead under our house. We work very hard to keep our property clean and cozy for our guests and provide the best level of service at an affordable price. Before I read your comments, I gave you a good review but I will be contacting Homeaway/VRBO to retract that. I will warn other hosts to beware of your lack of appreciation and understanding of what we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Weekend getaway in FairHaven

  • 4 of 5

Nice, tidy, well appointed unit that suited our needs for the weekend. Great to have tv with a ton of channels and a great selection of books

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

i loved being so close to work, easy access to I5.

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was clean, easy freeway access. quiet area. Thank goodness for the fan, it was hot while I was there.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland Oregon
4

cozy and convenient...

  • 4 of 5

clean and quiet too

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint, Quiet Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of room. A nice sitting area, cute little kitchen, good sized bedroom, and functional bathroom. Great ambiance. Lots of great books - you would never have enough time to read them all. The artwork on the walls intrigued my wife. The apartment was very clean - although the screen door needed to be cleaned - residue from a climbing plant didn't give a good first impression. Parking was kind of tight, but sufficient. It was a little far from Fairhaven for my taste. It would have been nice to have been walking distance. But it was a very short drive. But it was very quiet. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean, quiet, and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Was looking forward to this new experience and it was even better than I could have hoped. Very well set up and actually quite a bit bigger than I expected. The check-in and checkout process was easy. The kitchen was just right. The location and parking made it easy for both myself and family to come and go. I especially liked the walking trails and the ability to walk down to a small shopping center.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $55

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties