Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Montana Rustic Elegance near Flathead lakes' eastern shore!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,630 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6-8 adults and 2 kids

Amazing custom architecture and design in the "Mountain Modern" style.The property is nestled in a natural landscape of ferns, evergreens and flowers less than than 600 yards from the eastern shore of Flathead lake. 3 fully furnished bedrooms with queen sized beds and a fourth loft bedroom with a daybed/ trundle bed perfect for the kids. Custom kitchen with soapstone counter tops and all of the latest conveniences such as stainless steel appliances. The property is less than 40 minutes from the West Glacier entrance to Glacier National Park, Whitefish Ski Resort and the Bob Marshall Wilderness, yet still convenient to shopping, restaurants, movie theaters and grocery stores.If jet skis and fishing are your passion, Woods Bay is a 5 minute walk away!

Property Manager
owner/property manager
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2018


Bigfork House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2630 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First floor Bathroom - toilet , downstairs
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Loft Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Daybed with pullout trundle
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , en suite full bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Montana Rustic Elegance near Flathead lakes' eastern shore!
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 9 reviews

Beautiful Home - Owner is Great to work with!

  • 5 of 5

This home was so beautiful was only minutes from our event. lots of space and very pretty. location was nice to our kids were able to play outside as we sat on the Nice Deck. We will be reserving again next year. The kids can't wait either they already want to go back.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matthew, Thank you for your kind words! We loved having you and your family stay at our Glacier Getaway, and more importantly that you had a great time in Americas Last Best Place. We would love to have you guys back next year! Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A spacious family home

  • 5 of 5

A good spot for a family. Plenty of room for everyone in a quiet neighborhood. Beautiful decks for outdoor dining.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, Thank you for the fine review! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay and welcome you back if you need a place in Bigfork again in the future. Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious house with fun layout

  • 4 of 5

We had a group of 7 adults and 3 children for my dad's birthday this summer and even though forest fire smoke obscured a lot of the mountain views, we had an amazing time!

My first impressions of the house were that it was even larger and more open that it appeared in the photos with the lofted upstairs and natural light from all the windows. It was also surprisingly cool when we arrived, which was likely helped by the stone floors on the ground level. The upstairs bathroom was partially open-ceiling, which was unique and I felt complemented the modern feel of the home.

The kid loft room was a great touch (my nephews were thrilled to see superhero artwork and "poo emoji" pillows on the love sac) and having a roll-out bed made sleeping arrangements that much more comfortable. There were portable air-conditioners in the kid loft and one of the bedrooms, though we only used the fan mode and that seemed sufficient to cool things down in the evenings.

The property owners were very helpful and courteous even before officially booking--they reached out to clarify that the property was not actually ON the lake, in case we were expecting access from the property. There was a public launch less than a mile from the house and we had no problems taking our jet skis to and from the launch (there's also a gas station on the way to fuel up).

For those expecting vistas from the house, there are adjacent neighbors on one side (though we never saw them during our stay) and private property with a rock pile and a few marine trailers down below the house; however, there is ample natural beauty all around the property and a balcony for every room (except the kid loft).

We prepared and ate meals at the house (gas range and modern appliances, as well as a barbecue grill) and there were restaurants and grocery options a few minutes up the road (Bigfork was probably 10 minutes away with a few restaurants and small local shops; Kalispell was about 25-40 minutes and had Costco).

Flathead Lake is one of the most beautiful areas I've ever visited and this house was a great way to relax with my family. Thank you!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alan, Thank you very much for the good review! We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you pick us for any future stay in America's Last Best Place, Bigfork Montana. Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Sweet Time With Mom and Sisters

  • 3 of 5

Our overall experience was wonderful, how can it be any different when you are with the ones you love. The house is very beautiful and the kitchen was very nice.

I can only restate the other reviews that I have read.

We assumed that at least one of the bedrooms would be on the main floor even though wheelchair inaccessible was stated. I guess wheelchair inaccessible could mean a couple steps or the doorways are not sized for a wheelchair to fit through them. Either it should be restated in the description of the property and renters should clarify before you rent, but it worked out well because our mom was able to walk up the two short flights of steps with help each night and down each morning.

As has been stated it was a warm July and there were only 2 fans in the house the week we stayed. It would have been nice to have adequate air throughout the house for comfortable sleeping. We were able to make it work though.

To our amazement we had to call to request extra toilet paper and paper towels while we were there. It surprises me that there is not a supply closet with these necessities. The bathrooms had run out of soap before we came so to remedy that, water was added so we washed our hands with watered down soap. My texts were answered immediately and necessities were delivered. Thank You

We found there to be more than adequate amount of towels and wash cloths as we knew there was a washing machine there to do some laundry. With 8 of us staying there though 3 pods of laundry detergent were not adequate.

The drive to the lake and to wonderful dining was very short and beautiful surroundings. We were also surprised that we were not closer to the lake, somehow in our minds we might have been able to see it but then again all we would have had to do was ask. There were some walking path signs but after looking on google maps we decided to just drive over to the state park.

There were also kayaks available in the garage which is a real nice amenity.

The neighborhood is quiet although the patio looks over what looks to be a gravel pit? Boat Storage area? There were no trucks or noise so that did not bother us at all.

The house was very clean and the seating area in the main living room was a nice area to sit and visit.

We had a wonderful week

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sue, Thank you for the review. As we have stated in the previous review, the weather is obviously beyond our control. We have made portable A/C units available, and the owner is planning on installing central A/C before next summer season. We have spoken to our property manager about the lack of toiletries, and they assure us that they will remedy that. The handicap accessibility issue is a little baffling, as we have repeatedly made it clear that the house is not handicap friendly, and there are no first floor bedrooms. The Woods Bay marina has a boat storage area that backs up to the property, but they are exceptionally good neighbors and will even allow our guests to keep their boat there during their stay. You only have to ask. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Montana. Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, Michigan

33535 Cherry Lane

  • 4 of 5

The house worked very nicely for us. The grown-ups all had their own rooms, and the little ones seemed very content in the room over the garage. Every day we were at Glacier National Park, except for one day when we drove to Holland Lake and hiked to Holland Falls. We cooked two meals on the excellent gas grill. The weather was unseasonably warm the first few days, which made for tough sleeping. Janet was very responsive to questions that came up. I'd certainly recommend this house to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Neil, Thank you so much for your review. We found your suggestions spot on and will be incorporating them onto our website. We hope that you guys chose us again for any future visit to Bigfork Montana! Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was awesome, great layout

  • 3 of 5

No lake access within walking distance was kind of a bummer . Also the shower leaked pretty badly, not enough seating in the dining room and air conditioners were brought in due to temps in the 90s but they didn't work with the windows so it was pretty hot at night . Property manager was easy to reach and very responsive.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt and Sandy, Thank you for your review! We cannot control the weather (obviously) but we did install 2 more portable AC units and an evaporation cooling unit. We agree with your suggestion about more seating, so we added 2 new chairs for the dining room. The owner is considering adding central air to the home in the off-season for next year. You guys are welcome back anytime. Janet D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Glacier International Airport
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Eagle Bend
Nearest Ski
36 Miles
Whitefish Mountain Resort


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties