expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Stunning Sunsets over Crystal Clear Water in a family friendly setting

Sugarloaf Shores, Sugarloaf Key, FL, USA
  • House
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay28 nights

15 miles from Key West, ladder on sea wall, screened porch facing sunset

2 Bedroom /2 Bath with Futon and Sofa Sleeper (Sleeps 4-8) with new kitchen and baths. Dining area but most meals tend to be taken on the large, 2nd story, screened porch. Swimming, Boating, Snorkeling, Diving, Lobstering, Fishing, Kayaking in a Peaceful Paradise.

Property Manager

John Daniel

Member Since 2012
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few days
Calendar last updated:
Mar 20, 2018
Why John Daniel chose Sugarloaf Key

After bringing his wife and three daughters to the Florida Keys on vacation, our family patriarch decided Lower Sugarloaf Key was the place to retire. Jack and Audrey built their paradise retreat at an angle on their double lot, so they could make the most of the intoxicating tropical breezes and sunsets. Their three daughters and multitude of grandchildren have been spread across the South Eastern US (and sometimes abroad), but since 1978 'the house that Jack built' has been a beloved family getaway. When Jack passed, it was with thoughts of having yet another 'Lover's Moon' party for all of his family and friends to enjoy dancing and togetherness from his beautiful spot on Sugarloaf Key. This home has been lovingly renovated and we would now like to share with you!

What makes this House unique

The water off of this house provides some of the best swimming in the Florida Keys. This bay of sparkling clear water provides a whole day of water activities and sunset views 365 days of the year.


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
        • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)


        • 2 Bathrooms
          • 2

          Location Type

            • Oceanfront
              Nestled on a picturesque bay.


                • Away From It All


                    • Guests provide their own meals


                        • Air Conditioning
                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                        • Washing Machine
                        • Wireless Internet


                            • Cooking Utensils
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Ice Maker
                            • Kitchen
                            • Microwave
                            • Refrigerator


                                • Dining Area


                                    • Books
                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Stereo
                                    • Television
                                    • Video Games
                                    • Video Library


                                        • Balcony
                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Kayak / Canoe
                                          Kayak and paddle available
                                        • Lanai / Gazebo
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                          Chiminea on the water front
                                        • Outdoor Grill


                                            • marina
                                            • restaurants

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • bird watching
                                                • boating
                                                • scenic drives
                                                • walking
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                    • deepsea fishing
                                                    • fishing
                                                    • fly fishing
                                                    • kayaking
                                                    • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                    • snorkeling/diving
                                                    • sound/bay fishing
                                                    • swimming


                                                        • The upstairs for stunning screened porch views of the sunset is the primary rental area. Downstairs inside is for storage except for the laundry room open to the guests.

                                                          14 Reviews


                                                          Latest reviews

                                                          Owner did not refund security deposit, did not notify or contact with reasoning, and avoided contact

                                                          jim l.

                                                          We enjoyed our stay at this home during mini-season. Our family took great care of the property and left it in cleaner than we found it. When we arrived the walkway, stairs, and balcony were covered in wet leaves. We cleaned the house as instructed upon departure. 3 months later we had not received our deposit nor did we receive any notice for a non-refund. We finally made contact with the owner and he said we did too much damage though he could not described the damage or provide any photos or invoices for damage repair. He very quickly ended the call. I would never rent from this person again and caution those considering it.

                                                          Owner's Response:

                                                          Due to specific damages done and explained, refund of the damage deposit was withheld. This was only the third partial or complete refund withheld in the four years we have been renting the property. The deposit is mostly being refunded ($450 out of $500) now after renter denied some of the damages. Refund to credit card was not possible due to the card number being changed. The wet leaves covering walkways, as complained by the renter, were due to lush foliage and the tropical climate. Yard cleanup is done twice per month. When the renter called, I explained that I was leaving for a doctor's appointment. I called back later and left a message. They did not return the call.

                                                          Calming property

                                                          Mike K.

                                                          Stayed in January. Comfortable weather that time of year. Able to sit outside and enjoy the view, relaxed in the hammock, did some swimming, kayaking, fishing even tanned a little. Enjoyed our stay immensely. There are neighbors on both sides of the property but it was not an issue. We had some rain but your able to sit outside either under the lanai or out on the screened in lanai. Had trouble deciding where to sit and enjoy a morning cup of coffee, there is seating all over the property! No hustle and bustle in this area, yet you can be in Key West in less than 1/2 hour. The place was clean and well maintained. Mangrove mama's not to far away for a decent meal. Boondocks about 10 minutes away had the best swordfish we ever had! I hope to be there again someday.

                                                          Great place for a relaxing vacation. Water conditions were perfect!

                                                          Jeffrey T.

                                                          This was our 2nd trip back for the opening of the regular lobster season and this trip was as good or better than the last. The house is great and the location even better. We had a great time and we are looking forward to next summer already. The owners are awesome and easy to deal with and communication was easy.


                                                          Holly C.

                                                          We had a wonderful visit to Sugarloaf. The home was exactly as described, and the view was spectacular. We rented a boat for a portion of our visit, but not knowing the waters, we saw more sea life behind the home than we did trying to navigate the waterways. Most afternoons were spent snorkeling the ledges behind the home, or just floating on a noodle.

                                                          The fish were well fed while we were there. We saw mangrove snapper, Lane snapper, cubera snapper, lots of parrotfish, and loved watching the lobster at night.

                                                          The owners were helpful in finding a boat rental, and they were very responsive. In addition, they were very fair in handling an item we damaged.

                                                          We loved our stay and hope to return!

                                                          Wonderful place to stay

                                                          John A.Norfolk, UK

                                                          This is a very comfortable house in a quiet neighbourhood with super views over the water towards Highway 1 (very distant). The house is well situated and enables easy visits to Key West and the lower Keys. We were there for the wildlife and saw plenty, both from the dock side and on trips to Big Pine Key and other places recommended by John Daniel who did a great job in providing information suited to our needs and interests. The Kayaks gave us the opportunity to gently paddle around the bay and see the area from a different perspective. The water in the bay opposite the dock was a little shallow for snorkelling (but nice and warm), but snorkel tours to local reefs are offered close by and are well worth considering to get fantastic views of the colourful fish. We enjoyed our week in Sugarloaf and really appreciated John Daniel’s local knowledge which helped us to make the most of our short stay. Highly recommended.


                                                          Ron I.Broad Brook

                                                          I hope that everyone can enjoy this wonderful home on the water and have the vacation that my wife and I were so very fortunate to have this past week. It was by far the best vacation we have ever had. This home is by far the most perfect place for couples or families who want to get away, who don't want the hustle and bustle of a resort but yet are only a 15 minute drive to all the fun of Key West!! Anyone considering a vacation home on the water with OUTSTANDING sunsets need to take a week or two and enjoy this Oasis of beautiful views.....the silence of a quiet street surrounded by beautiful scenery, with marine life awaiting your visits each morning by the water.....Enjoy! You will make memories to last forever! We hope to return to your home away from home very soon!!


                                                          Sugarloaf Shores, Sugarloaf Key, FL, USA

                                                          Rates & Availability

                                                          Additional information about rental rates

                                                          Cleaning Fee
                                                          Damage Deposit
                                                          Tax Rate

                                                          No Pets allowed. Minimum rental is 28 nights. If paying by check, the first payment of $500 security deposit is due immediately to complete the reservation. The remainder needs to be received 45 days prior to check-in.

                                                          14 Reviews
                                                          Excellent 4.7/5
                                                          Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                          For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                          Property # 430548