Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SKY VALLEY--ONE OF A KIND--ABOVE THE CLOUDS--PANORAMIC MT. VIEWS

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom/2 bath with panoramic mountain views--'Somewhere Over the Rainbow'!!

This property is located on the highest point in the only gated community in Sky Valley--'HANGING TREE RIDGE'. The historical 'hanging tree' is on this property and is a sight to see! The home is a personally designed and decorated mountain retreat. You will relax in a wonderful Great Room with wood burning fireplace and SMART ULTRA HDTV 4K with BLU RAY DVD. A most comfortable leather wrap around sofa for family/friend time or watch a movie or football game--all the while with breathtaking view of the mountains.

The private Master Bedroom suite is appointed with a King Size bed with TEMPUR-PEDIC mattress. It also features a Samsung HDTV with Samsung BLU RAY DVD. It has panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and glass doors exiting to the deck. The bathroom is ensuite. Completely private are 2 bedrooms sharing a bathroom. One bedroom has panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and HDTV. Both have queen size beds.

The gourmet kitchen has brand new Jenn-Air stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. There is also a laundry room with Bosch front loading washer/dryer. A fabulous deck expanses the entire back of the house with access from Great Room and 2 bedrooms. It includes a table for 8 and a WEBER gas barbecue grill, adirondack chairs and 2 rocking chairs. There is also a WEBER charcoal grill and a chimenea. All of this faces the fabulous Blue Ridge Mountains. The morning sunrises and evening sunsets are spectacular. Some mornings you wake to actually being over the clouds, and some days literally 'somewhere over the rainbow'!

Every aspect of this wonderful home exudes complete comfort and relaxation. It is a place you will never forget.

***You will also have access to the amenities of the Sky Valley Time Share (pool, jacuzzi, fitness, tennis, playground) and to The SKY VALLEY COUNTRY CLUB (golf, lunch, dinner).***

More Details

Owner
Kayren Whiten
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2017

About Kayren Whiten

Wallace visited Sky Valley searching for the perfect mountain house for many months and finally found his perfect mountain retreat. In 2008 he met and married the love of his life, Kayren. She completely redecorated the house to its present fabulous state. Wallace was born in Toccoa, Ga where he has owned his own business for 40+ years. He graduated The University of Georgia School of Phamacy and is an avid Bulldog football fan. He lived on Lake Rabun for many years until he desired to live in Sky Valley.

Kayren Whiten purchased this house in 2004

Why Kayren Whiten chose Northeast Mountains

Sky Valley was a 'dream' for Wallace to own a home. After marrying his wife, Kayren, he began to share her home on Lake Lanier in Harbour Point Yacht Club. They spend their time between the two vacation homes. They are thrilled to share this beautiful, personal home with the fortunate quests who will stay here.

What makes this house unique

The breathtaking views, the quiet and serene surroundings, the luxurious and comfortable furnishings. It is the most relaxing and beautiful atmosphere that anyone could ever possibly enjoy. Many mornings you awake to the clouds below you in the valley.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! What a wonderful time we had. Your home is truly sensational. Everyday we enjoyed your breathtaking view and every night we sat by the fire. A few nights here was just what we needed to relax and rejuvenate. We definitely plan to return late Spring.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Sky Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master Bath is Ensuite--STANDING SHOWER only 2nd Bath--TUB AND SHOWER
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) TempurPedic mattress, Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Swimming, fitness center, golf course, picnicking, hiking. New 'HIGHLANDS AERIAL PARK'-zipline/rope courses, ANTIQUES, GIFTS, CRAFTS, CLOTHING, local art, fabulous restaurants.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

SKY VALLEY--ONE OF A KIND--ABOVE THE CLOUDS--PANORAMIC MT. VIEWS
average rating of 4.9 based on 25 reviews
5

Fantastic Mountain House!

  • 5 of 5

We just loved our visit to this perfectly nestled home on top of the mountain! Great fireplace, beautiful views and every room is well appointed with every comfort you need! Kay was fabulous and we look forward to staying there again

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time and that the 'fires' co-operated! Please come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, decorated beautifully, everything you need for a great stay, and million $ view!

  • 5 of 5

Great for 3 couples, and the owners are the nicest folks that had our experience as their priority! Our group of friends will be back. Thanks to the Whiten's for a memorable weekend!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed ourselves in Sky Valley. The view from "above the clouds" was even nicer than the online photos show. Your home is beautiful and we really appreciate being able to stay on top of the mountain!

thank you

Brian

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you in our home. Your family is precious and my only regret is not being there to welcome you. Please come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Georgia on my mind

  • 5 of 5

The only complaint I have is that my family had to leave the mountain top and return home. The owner was a true joy and it was great meeting her the first day. If u need to relax and recharge look no further. My family had an exceptional time. The house has all the comforts of home. You will not be disappointed staying here. The Fitzgerald Family.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a great time. It was wonderful meeting you and your parents. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Mountain Bear Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Description is very accurate for this mountain retreat. The views are spectacular. The home is warm and inviting. The weather for our trip was perfect. Upon arrival we were a little tired but rallied and ventured to a little hiking and Highlands. We ended up at Meritage for a glass (maybe a bottle) of wine. We came to the home to enjoy the sunset and grilled salmon and corn. Lovely evening. Friday we ventured to Brevard for lunch with family and back to Old Edwards Spa - so nice. Enjoyed Old Edwards Inn Spa (very nice, relaxing, and affordable) was a great place to recharge our batteries. Ended up at the Wine Shoppe for a nice selection of wines. Back to the mountain to once again enjoy the sunset and dusk. We dined on items from farmers market and made up the perfect salmon/bacon spread (both left over from previous meals). After breakfast on Saturday went for a hike. We enjoyed Glenn Falls trails near Highlands. We want to come back to try the zip line and foliage tours. We ended up in Highlands for a little shopping and dinner. Back to the mountain home to enjoy our last sunset - beautiful. Make sure you wake up in the mornings to enjoy your coffee and views. Truly inspirational. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kip and Jere...you were such wonderful guests and I feel that we are friends with the way you shared your time in Sky Valley each day and with you sending pics of your adventures. And thanks for the card and gift you left us! You two are very special. Please come again. Kayren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beyond Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Four of us spent five nights at this welcoming house in the mountains. The owner had placed flowers in every room for us, & a bottle of wine awaited us on the kitchen counter! The property is impeccably clean and comfortable, with a deck that is where we spent ninety nine percent of our time when we were at the house. The view is most likely one of the best in the neighborhood, offering the opportunity to witness clouds rolling in & out, gorgeous sunsets, birds (including hummingbirds at the feeders) flying above & below, and limitless mountains of many different colors.

There is a lot to do in the area. We visited three wineries one day, enjoying the tastings at each one. We went white water rafting, an exhilarating & fun experience. There are numerous hiking trails in the area, from easy to difficult. We hiked Whiteside Mountain one day, a hike of moderate difficulty. I highly recommend this hike, as long as you are able to hike steep inclines. One side of the loop is a smooth trail, the other side is rocky, requiring sure footedness & good balance. The views are phenomenal.

Be aware that it takes a good 15 minutes to get up & down the mountain to the house. At the bottom of the mountain there are two places to eat -- the clubhouse at the golf course, & a quaint little restaurant named Bella's Junction Cafe. We ate once at the latter & the food was good. Other than these two restaurants, it is necessary to drive to Clayton, Highlands (NC), or Dillard to go out to eat. However, the drives to these places are easy drives. We discovered a place in Franklin, NC that is rated the best restaurant in this city, & we were not disappointed. Called Caffe REL, it is actually connected to a gas station, & does not look like anything special. However, the food is superb!

I can guarantee you that, after vacationing at the Whitens' house in the mountains, you will return home happy & refreshed!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you ladies had such a good time...wow...I'm impressed with your many adventures! As you found out, you can't have the fabulous views with out the climb or drive up the mountain!! You were great guests and please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Sky Valley is a beautiful mountain, golfing resort. It is minutes from famous Highlands, NC with fabulous shopping and great restaurants. Scaley Mountain is close by with tubing and ice skating in winter. There are numerous beautiful waterfalls to visit...one in Sky Valley with a picnic area and hiking trail. The famous 'Dillard House' is just down the mountain from Sky Valley in Dillard, GA. The food is world famous and there is horse back riding available and a petting zoo for children. There are antique shops and specialty shops galore in Dillard and also Clayton, GA.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sky Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
$4,025
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties