Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Almost Famous" Monthly rentals available for $1200/mo- Pet friendly- new AC!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bdrm, 1 bath. Sleeps up to 8. Clean and open concept house close to the beach!

*MUST BE 25 YEARS OF AGE TO RENT- ID REQUIRED BEFORE CHECK IN*

Check in is at 3pm on day of arrival. Check out is at 11am on day of departure.

This open concept, nautical themed house is perfect for small groups, families, couples, fishermen or to just getaway. This home is cute, clean and was RECENTLY REMODELED with everything you need to have a fun and relaxing vacation including hotel toiletries (in case you forgot something)! New memory foam mattress toppers, furniture, flooring, new Mitsubishi AC/Heating unit AND an brand new additional unit for each bedroom to keep you cool! TV etc etc! 2 bedrooms (1 full size bed in each room), 1 new futon and 1 sleeper sofa. 1 bath- Sleeps up to 8 guests. Full kitchen with all the conveniences of home including: Stove/Oven, Refrigerator, Washer/Dryer, BBQ Pit, Cookware, Microwave, blender, coffee maker and other small appliances. Also, there is FREE WIFI, FREE U-verse cable , new TV and DVD player.

Front deck and downstairs patio are great for enjoying the ocean breeze and scenery.

You can walk, bike, drive/park or golf cart to the beach, only 0.5 miles away.

Jamaica Beach now has a brand new community pool! It's only one block west of the property on Jolly Roger Road. (Open during summer months)

Hours are 10 am- 8 pm

Fees are $5 per person per day

Children 6 years and under are free

Covered parking and driveway

Linens provided. Beach towels included

Pets are welcome for NO additional charge

Military receives a 10% discount!

More Details

Property Manager
Lara Coursey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Lara Coursey

I grew up in the area and always loved spending time in Galveston as a quick getaway with my family and friends. My dad worked as an entertainer in Galveston and surrounding areas his entire life and his logo was 'Almost Famous' One Man Band. So I passed on the name to my new vacation house!

Lara Coursey purchased this house in 2012

Why Lara Coursey chose Galveston

There are so many attractions and things to do without the big city feel. Galveston is laid back and fun for all ages and groups. I recently bought and remodeled this quaint little house so things are fresh, new and comfortable. Me and my dog, Honey, love spending time here!

What makes this house unique

When I was looking for a vacation home, I wanted to be in Jamaica Beach where it's quiet, safe and close to everything you need. This neighborhood is very friendly and clean and so is the beach. The front deck looks over the green grass and the breezes are so relaxing. With the conservatory down the street, it's a great place to watch the wildlife, relax and take in the views!

Amenities

Jamaica Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Travel size shampoo/conditioner, body wash and toothpaste is available (just in case you forgot yours!)
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Convertible bed(s) - Brand new sleeper sofa/chaise that IS comfortable!
  • Double Beds, Ceiling fans in each room complete with new mattresses and bedding. Brand new sleeper sofa that is very comfortable and also a new leather futon for additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
27% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
"Almost Famous" Monthly rentals available for $1200/mo- Pet friendly- new AC!
average rating of 4.5084743 based on 59 reviews
5

It was AWESOME

  • 5 of 5

We had 5 adults 1 child and our small 3lb dog and it was perfect size for us. It fit everyone comfortably, the beds were very comfortable and it was nice and cold in the house! Loved having the patio to sit on at night and having a table outside and inside to accommodate everyone. We had a great stay and loved how it was only a few minutes to the beach. It was a quiet area, the beach was nice and not overcrowded and the locals were all so nice! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other people

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not a good fit

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately, the place was too small (the two bedrooms could barely fit full beds in them) and had an overwhelming smell of dog urine throughout the house. Lara was very helpful but we cut our stay short due to the conditions.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I had everything removed and professionally cleaned as cleanliness is my top priority. Per the rental agreement you're supposed to notify me of issues upon check in not after check out. I would have made sure to have everything replaced asap. The rooms are described with a full size bed, end table, luggage rack and a bar for hang up clothes. I'm sorry my rental did not meet your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place and location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed being able to bring our dogs and have a quieter area of the beach close by. The house was great for us!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cute little house

  • 4 of 5

First time to the area. Had a wonderful time. There were 5 kids and 4 adults. Tight on space but we made it work. Tropical storm Cindy made it even more interesting. Thank you Lara for checking in with us during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute house for two small families

  • 4 of 5

The house was small and cute. The beds were comfortable. Two full size beds so just enough room for two adults. The living room fold out and sofa were both actually pretty comfortable. The air conditioners worked insanely well. At times I was almost freezing and just turned them off. Drive way very small- would not fit two large pickups well but fit two small cars. Full sized fridge and small stove but big enough for vacation cooking. nice large family dining table and plenty of extra towels included. 5 minute drive to beach access in nice quiet community. Overall good stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Not horrible but not the best experience

  • 3 of 5

Ants got into our food in the kitchen and living room a/c wasn't working. Tech could not fix a/c for our stay due to having to order a part

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that 1 of the 3 AC's broke during your stay. I did call the tech for an after hours weekend house call ASAP. I was unaware of the ants as that was not brought to my attention. I have inspected the property and see no ants. They could have come with the large amount of rain we had, however I have requested additional pest control to make sure there are no additional issues. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hobby Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Buck's Bar
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Galveston Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Blue Water Grill
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Jamaica Beach

Schlitterbauhn (open year round), Moody Gardens, the Strand and the brand new Pleasure Pier are all just a few minutes away! Golf cart rentals are available to ride around town and see the sites. The public boat ramp is around the corner, and the conservatory is close to sit, relax and watch the wildlife.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $85
Damage Insurance $59
Tax Rate 15.0%

A VRBO Service fee is calculated on a sliding scale of 4% to 10% of the total booking. The charge applies to the cost of the rental and will not exceed $499. The service fee is for features such as 24/7 customer support etc.
Payment can be paid in full at time of reservation or 50% at time of reservation and 50% 30 days before check in.
***Reservations can not be held without payment***
Rates are subject to change.
10% DISCOUNT FOR ACTIVE MILITARY AND VETERANS
NO security deposit required.
NO fee or deposit required for pets!
MUST BE 25 YEARS OF AGE TO RENT.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.