Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The **Foosball Cabin** - Relax and Play in a beautiful setting

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3bdr/2ba with loft and beautiful big backyard

This Tahoe Donner home will make you feel right at home!

Enjoy the warm mountain atmosphere and beautiful decor on one of the best and quietest streets in Tahoe Donner.

*We'll consider monthly or ski lease *

• In summer, relax in the backyard hammock, play a round of horseshoes, then roast s'mores in the fire pit at the end of day.

• In winter, have your kids sled on the mini natural sledding hill just across the street!

After skiing, relax in the cozy living room with wood stove, soak in the master bath jetted hot tub, play a game of foosball in the loft, or board games or a video game on the PS3.

Other info:

• Sleeping: King in master bedroom (sleeps 2), Queen bunk in bunk bedroom (sleeps 4), Queen in bedroom 2 (sleeps 2); Additional pull-out sofa in loft (sleeps 2)

• Flat driveway makes it very accessible in snow

• Kitchen: Fully equipped with gas range, microwave, granite countertops

• Dining: Table for 6, plus 4 barstools

• Foosball table in the loft

• HD-Dish TV with Samsung flatscreen TV, Apple TV,PS3, and many board games for entertainment

• Home is at the far end of an already quiet street - very few cars!

• Access to all Tahoe Donner amenities with guest passes good for 8 people:

- Equestrian, cross-country ski, Donner Lake Beach and Marina, and more.

- The Tahoe Donner Recreational Center has community pools, hot tubs (also in winter),

Tahoe Donner Recreational Center charges every person $8pp per day. The fee is for all, visitors and owners alike. There is an option to pay a one time fee for a longer validity period, call the rec center at (530) 587-9437

All facilities are excellent.

More Details

Yvonne Baur and Soren Detering
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Yvonne Baur and Soren Detering

We are a family of six and have visited Tahoe Donner often. We love the peace and beauty of the mountains. Hiking and swimming in summer, or just relaxing in the backyard. We love to ski in winter, and so decided to host this cabin to other folks and families to enjoy.

Yvonne Baur and Soren Detering purchased this house in 2012

Why Yvonne Baur and Soren Detering chose Truckee

We love Tahoe Donner to give our kids more opportunity to experience nature year-round, and to create a family tradition in the mountains. We looked at many places, but this one made us feel at home the minute we walked in.

What makes this house unique

Thoughtful decorations, the flat lot towards the end of the street, the big backyard, and general build-quality made us cherish this house. Whether lying in the hammock in the backyard and listening to the birds, or playing a round of foosball, vacation bliss is all around you!


Truckee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Bedroom 2, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Pull-out sofa in loft, Bunk Beds (1) Queen bunk in bunk bedroom sleeps 4
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
The **Foosball Cabin** - Relax and Play in a beautiful setting
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews

Comfortable home and beautiful scenery

  • 5 of 5

We spent our Christmas holidays at this home and we were very comfortable. It has plenty of space and beds to sleep in. The kitchen is stocked well enough that we cooked a turkey for Christmas dinner. Comfortably furnished with plenty of pillows and blankets, close to everything but still feels far away. We would definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our needs (family of 4, plus dog) and we love the Tahoe Donnor neighborhood. I'm pretty sure the bunk beds are queen size, which my girls loved and the king bed was very comfortable! On the chilly nights, the heavy duvet comforter was perfect! We roasted smores, played horseshoes, and spent a day at Memorial Park. We enjoyed unplugging and having quality family time. There was a small issue with the internet, but the owners were quick to help/resolve. We would say here again! Thank you Yvonne and Soren for sharing your cabin.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice words, Johanna, we'll be happy to have you at our cabin again any time! The queen bunk is our kids' favorite, too..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay again

  • 5 of 5

Perfect cabin and location for summer fun in Truckee!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous House!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Foosball Cabin during the week of Thanksgiving with our two children and fur child. The home is warm and inviting with a well stocked kitchen, super comfortable beds, and plenty of room for everyone. We had everything we needed and then some. The kids loved playing on the foosball table and also enjoyed playing with some of the toys the owners were kind enough to provide. Yvonne and Soren were lovely to deal with. We highly recommend this home and look forward to staying there again in the future!!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Kelli, we are glad you enjoyed your stay - it was a pleasure having you as our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakewood, CA

A lovely stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Foosball Cabin last week! The home fit the 8 of us (4 adults, 4 kids + a dog) perfectly. We felt right at home...there's a coziness to the decor and layout. Yvonne was wonderful and quick to respond to my inquiries. There was much fun had playing horseshoes in the backyard (if it's even fair to call it a "yard" because it's trees, foliage, and loveliness), making s'mores over the fire pit, bbq-ing, lounging in the hammock, kayaking at Donner Lake, hiking, a concert in the park, and much more. It's a quiet Truckee neighborhood so we felt just the right amount of secluded but within close distance of 'town' for groceries and necessities. We had the pleasure of chatting with a few of the really nice neighbors while walking the dog and got some good "things to do" tips. The master bedroom is huge! The other 2 bedrooms are perfectly-sized and well outfitted. We also used the upstairs pullout for a few of the kids...who seemed to happily sneak in a game of foosball before going to sleep. We all slept really well because it was comfortable and really quiet. Everthing was clean and tidy upon arrival. The kitchen has what's needed and to-be-expected for a vacation home. Everything worked and we took advantage of the condiments/spices, etc. cabinet with donations from previous guests (and left a few of our own). The arrival and departure instructions were clear and simple. Really, it was a lovely stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Tracy, thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and you have so adequately described how we feel when we are up at our place, the peace and quiet, relaxing in backyard, and letting the kids have fun with the various activities. Thank you for sharing your experience, Best, Yvonne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We have used VRBO's for 5 years now and have never had such an awful experience. After driving for 14 hours all we wanted to do was get into the house and sleep but upon arrival the house had not been cleaned - it was filthy, food and debris all over the floors (we couldn't even use the vacuum because it was so packed with stuff and smelled so bad), dirty coffee pot in one sink and a dirty cutting board in the other side of the sink not to mention the coffee maker had the filter with coffee still in it and growing a nice mold culture. The bathrooms were even worse, the toilet down stairs had poop all over the seat and the counter top had something that looked like lotion or toothpaste all over it. The upstairs bathroom toilet was not much better and the tub had enough hair that it looked like Sasquatch had bathed in it. There weren't even any cleaning supplies so I could clean it. The beds had the dirty lines all balled up on and not even made so had to do laundry before we could even have a bed to sleep in so ended up sleeping on couches and chairs the first night. Woke the next morning to the garage door open and we hadn't opened it - then it happened again so we called the management company and they said they would send someone - that guy calls and tells my husband how to temp fix it as it is the neighbors remote opening this garage door - the temp fix wouldn't work because the locking mechanism was all bent and broke itself. The yard does not look anything like the pictures as it is over grown with brush and has wood chips and pine needles which is not real comfortable for your dog to walk on. I sent email to owner about the bad experience and still have not heard back. It would be nice if she would have offered at least some type of refund considering I paid a cleaning fee to come to a dirty house and clean it myself. I left the house with clean bedding on all the beds and all the towels clean as I would not want the next person to have to walk into the same situation.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kim, I am sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay in our house. We had the garage door lock fixed upon being notified by our management company. Unfortunately, we did not receive a call from you upon your arrival, otherwise we would also have sent out our cleaning company immediately. But I am glad we got to connect since and clear up the issues including refund. Thank you and we hope we can show you another time what makes this house a favorite with our many repeat visitors - as you said in our subsequent exchange: "Your home is a beautiful home in a beautiful area". Best, Yvonne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Squaw Valley Resort
Nearest Beach
4.5 Miles
Lake Donner has great beaches
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $140
Pet Fee $10
Damage Insurance $59

Special rates of $400/night and 3 night minimum stay apply to Holidays (Christmas, New Year's, MLK, President's Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, and Thanksgiving).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties