Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eliza Ann Jewett -- Jones Street 1850's Townhouse

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 8 adults and up to 3 small children)

Entering the “Eliza Ann Jewett House” on the 2nd floor you will find an open floor plan with ample seating in the two living areas. Each offers high ceilings, original decorative fireplaces, and a large LCD TV with DVD player, DVD and book library are available in the rear living room. A marbled half bath is conveniently located off the hall.

The dining room is open to both living areas offering seating for 8 comfortably. The gourmet kitchen has black granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and is well stocked for cooking a meal for your family or friends. The open bar area makes service to the dining room easy.

Taking the staircase to the 3rd floor is the Two Master Suites. The 1st Master offers a King Sleep Number Bed with fine bedding, a large LCD TV with DVD player, and an original decorative fireplace. A full marble bath is right off the Master with a deep soaking tub and separate shower.

The 2nd Master offers a King Memory Foam Bed with fine bedding, a large LCD TV with DVD player, and a full marble bath with extra large shower.

The guest bedroom is on the 4th floor offering a high quality queen bed and a single futon, perfect for families with children. A full bath is off the hall.

The guest suite is located on the 1st floor offering a King Memory Foam Bed with LCD TV, separate living area with double futon for added guest, two original decorative fireplaces, a table for 4, a mini frig, a Gaming Table that easily converts between Foosball, Mini Air Hockey and a Pool Table, a tiled bath, and a private entrance.

The charming courtyard has Adirondack Chairs, a Savannah brick patio, high walls for privacy, and a private two car garage. A laundry room with washer/dryer and deep sink are added extras. Wifi access is also available.

This is a pet friendly property with 20lb. weight limit and extra deposit and cleaning fee.

Walk to museums, our beautiful squares of Savannah, shopping, restaurants and cafes’, art galleries, antique shops, and tour pick up extremely easily. Clary’s Cafe is a staple for a great breakfast or brunch with Old Savannah Tours and The Sixth Sense tour pickup just steps away. Enjoy Savannah like a true native and stay at the “Eliza Ann Jewett House” for your next vacation, girls getaway, accommodation for weddings, or business trips. Come Stay Savannah!

STVR Permit # 15-000398-BA

More Details

Property Manager
Stay Savannah Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 12, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We book three vacation homes a year using VBRO and some give great reviews but when you get their you wish you were back home! The Eliza Ann Jewett house is everything and more. Walk everywhere. A breakfast place 30 yards away, wonderful spacious house. The management company were outstanding from start to finish. If you are looking for a big house, great location and furnished perfect this is your house. Thank you everyone at Stay Savannah Vacations.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Historic District - South House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Hall Bath off of Master #1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , On Suite Bath on Master # 2
    Bathroom 3 - tub , On 2nd floor off of tv room and dining room
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , 4th floor hall bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , garden level bath
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In Garden Level Living Room
  • King size beds (3), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Eliza Ann Jewett -- Jones Street 1850's Townhouse
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 28 reviews
New Orleans
4

Lovely stay in Savannah

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time in Savannah. Location was perfect and the house was clean and perfect for our weekend stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, walking distance to many of the charms of Savnnah.

  • 4 of 5

The Eliza Ann Jewett house was a great selection for our stay in Savannah. There were 4 couples and it was nice to have enough room to share space with everyone for a movie in the family room or have some alone time in the house. The Early risers could move around without waking up The whole house, which is not always The case in older houses. The house was comfortable and a great location to get to everything from Forsythe Park to The River walk and City Market; From Mrs. Wilkes to Clerys.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marietta
5

Perfect Home for our reunion!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house! Great location. We parked car in garage, and walked everywhere during our stay. Beautiful large rooms/furnishings. Very clean.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words! Glad you enjoyed our home and your time in Savannah. Look forward to your next visit to our great city.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice family time.

  • 5 of 5

Home had plenty of space and rooms to escape or be with family.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, a plus to have 2 parking spaces, appreciated early check in.

  • 3 of 5

We could on,y give this property a 3 for the following reasons.

1.) Beds not very comfortable, especially the one on the top floor. Also, the battery not working for the select comfort bed.

2.) Shower on lower level bath needs repair. Usable but not in good working order.

3.) No soap or hand towel in main floor bathroom.

4.) if you require guests to wash and put away all dishes before leaving you should provide more dish soap and kitchen towels. Guests can't always wait for the dishwasher cycle to finish.

5.) I you want to preserve the integrity of your dining room table and coffee tables more coasters would be helpful.

6.) Chair pads on dining chairs were very soiled. Hesitated to sit on them. Also, one chair is in need of repair for safety reasons.

7.) For safety reasons there should be better lighting on the stairs.

While none of these concerns are major, they all added up to a stay that could have been a lot better with a little effort and attention on the owners part. We enjoyed our stay in Savannah but would be hesitant to recommend your place to others.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Your comments are important to us. I wish you would have called to let us know the battery wasn't working for the sleep number bed and we would have changed it immediately. We have a manager on call 24/7. Bedding for each guest preference is difficult but we have NEVER had anyone complain and actually only get great comments on the comfort level. We have inspected the lower level bath and find it in good working order so we are not sure as your comment is vague. We only ask that you load the dishwasher before you leave. We do not ask anywhere that you wait on the dishes to finish and unload. There are also coasters on every single table in the living and den that are available for your use. We pulled all cushions for inspection and found 1 to have a small dime size spot (after check out). All cushions are new and in beautiful condition. We found 1 chair which needed a very slight tightening but not broken at all. Very confused about your comments but know we checked every single detail you outlined. Please call with any concerns upon check in to assure yourself and us of any issues. Its our priority to have you happy from the time you arrive until departure. Thanks so much, Stay Savannah Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice Property in a good location

  • 3 of 5

Starting with the good:

Very spacious property with a lot of character ideally located to explore Savannah. Good accommodation for a large group. The bathrooms and kitchen are very well-finished. With parking being at such a premium in this part of Savannah, the private garage is a really good feature.

The not so good:

The furniture in the property is a bit old and tired. There are some nice pieces but these are the exception. The courtyard could be a nice feature but it's really a mess with quite a bit of junk lying around. The kitchen is nice but small and not suitable for catering to a large group. This was not a problem for us as we ate out but the website pictures are a bit misleading.

We all enjoyed our stay but everyone in the party found the threatening notes taped all over the property very irritating - examples include - make too much noise and you may be evicted immediately, block the toilets and you will be charged a fee, mess up the TV wiring and you will be charged a $75 fee. These made me and other members of my group feel quite unwelcome. I understand that there are things that guests need to be made aware of but I would have preferred these to be communicated more politely.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Andrew. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We inspected the property thinking maybe the furnishings needed cleaning but have found them in great condition. The pictures are exactly as the property sits so we were a little confused. The courtyard is always cleaned the day of check-in and only has a table and chairs, bench, and the new water feature that was added. I'm not sure if maybe we had a storm that day but there is nothing in the courtyard so junk lying around doesn't make since. There were 2 notes that were to be removed as I agree with your comment and now are no longer there. We certainly did not want to upset anyone by them and they should have been removed before. We are glad you found the home in a great location and clean and comfy. It was our pleasure accommodating you and please know your comments are very important to us. We inspect our homes before every check in. You prompted our complete inspection which we found the home to be in wonderful condition. Thank you again, Stay Savannah Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Savannah-Hilton Head International Airport
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrak Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Paula Dean's 'The Lady & Sons'
Nearest Beach
17 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: not necessary

Brick paved street, lined with massive live oak and magnolia trees. Jones Street, is one of the most elegant streets in the city, runs through the center of Savannah's Historic District.

Running east/west and spanning nine blocks Jones Street is home to some of Savannah’s most elegantly restored historic townhouses and private residences.

Visitors will find a multitude of interesting shops and antique stores within walking, including a collection of high-end shops and art galleries, which specialize in everything from fine linens to local art. The area is an excellent place for purchasing gifts, and you may rest assured that items found here are either local, rare, or both.

You'll also find restaurants like Mrs. Wilkes and Clary's Cafe, both Savannah traditions, right on Jones Street. Forsyth Park, The Mercer House and many other historic houses and points of interest are all located within a block or two.

• 2 blocks from The Mercer House

• 2 blocks from St. John the Baptist Cathedral

• 5 blocks from Forsyth Park

• 6 blocks from Savannah Theatre

• 5 minute walk to Paula Dean's 'The Lady & Sons' Restaurant

• 10 minute walk to River Street

• 17 miles from Tybee Island Beaches

• 30 miles from Hilton Head Island, SC

STVR Permit # 15-000398-BA

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Processing $140 + Tax
Housekeeping $200 + Tax
Pet Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Housekeeping Policy
Guest must leave the property in the same condition as it was rented, needing only laundry washed and basic cleaning procedures.
Guest must wash all dishes and take out the trash to the proper facilities.
If Housekeeping Policy is not followed, guest CC will be charged accordingly.

a 5% credit card processing fee will be added quoted price.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties