Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Estate featuring 2 acres of flowering gardens - private pool- ocean/sunset view

Bedrooms 1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (sleeps 4) Ocean Views, Surrounded By Botanical Gardens

A short 5 minute drive from Kailua-Kona, our spacious, 2,500 square ft., ocean view, 1 bedroom custom home is centrally positioned on 2 very private acres of peaceful gardens. This unique home includes a swimming pool amidst abundant flowering trees, shrubs, orchids, and fruit trees. Stroll through the extensive garden paths and marvel at the life's work of a master gardener. Depending on the season, our guests are welcome to harvest - for on site personal use - ripe oranges, limes, papaya, lychee, mango, passion, guava, banana, avocado, jabuticaba, figs; there is always something ready to harvest! In the morning, enjoy ocean views with fresh Kona coffee in the gazebo. In the evening, take in the gorgeous sunsets on the expansive lanai. Our property is conveniently located in Holualoa, a quaint artist's village in the heart of Kona coffee country, yet is just a short 5 minute drive to historic Kailua-Kona with its famous beaches, restaurants and shopping. Other unique activities include exporing Volcano National Park, world class Blue Marlin fishing, snorkeling with turtles, or take a front row seat to view the stars from the top of Mauna Kea! Our property manager is located nearby in the detached ohana to assist you with any help/information you might need.

More Details

Property Manager
Kyra Jones
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 13, 2017

About Kyra Jones

My wife and I purchased the Garden House property in August of 2012, and we feel blessed to be the new owners of this unique Holualoa property. We are lifelong educators, currently living and working in Kenya, Africa. After 27 years as public school teachers in Juneau, Alaska, we chose to begin teaching overseas. During our travels we made notes of locations we might want to find ourselves when finished with our education careers. We first came to the Big Island of Hawaii 25 years ago. After a long, worldwide search for our retirement spot we came back to Kona and purchased the Garden House. Until we decide to conclude our life's work as educators and move to Kona, we invite you to be our guests at our Hawaii Garden House. We feel certain you will love this magical property as much as we do. Our daughter, Amber, lives on site and manages the Garden House.

Kyra Jones purchased this house in 2012

Why Kyra Jones chose Kona Coast

The Big Island of Hawaii: world class golf, ocean sports, perfect weather, and a community of people who practice the aloha spirit. When we came upon the Garden House, we knew we found our sanctuary. The previous owner was a master gardner whose passion for the spacious two acres of gardens can be seen in every square meter of the property. It is our plan to continue his legacy.

What makes this house unique

We absolutely fell in love with the gardens! Walking through the paths of exotic varieties of fruit and flowering trees, dozens of flower varieties at the Garden House brought us back to the many places we have visited around the world. The previous owner cultivated these gardens for the last 30 years, and we are blessed to be the new owners of this property. A perfect location; private country living, yet just a few minutes from beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Include the ocean and sunset views, a very private pool, perfect temperature at 940 ft. elevation, and it doesn't get any better than this!


Hōlualoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , Large walk-in double size shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Currently under construction, ( est. but Jan. 2017)
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Very large master bedroom
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , 1 double , Couch in living room opens to double bed.
  • King size beds (1) California King in master with memory form mattress, (1) Queen sofa sleeper in living room
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
This is a very unique and very private property. The 2 acres of manicured gardens are a feast for the eyes and the table! Our guests may help themselves to the many varieties of fruit growing in the lava rock bordered gardens. Something is always ready to be harvested; oranges, tangerines, limes, figs, avocados, mangoes, papaya, banana, passion, and more! The Garden House offers a retreat for those travelers looking to get away from it all and surround themselves with the beauty and spirit of Hawaii. Additionally, the Garden House has recently gone completely solar! All power needed for the property is generated on site:)


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Estate featuring 2 acres of flowering gardens - private pool- ocean/sunset view
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews

Potentially great place but Not

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this home for 9 nights recently. After the first few nights, we should have left…it became much worse with near-constant daytime chainsaw and tractor noise during the last 5 days.

Poorly maintained grounds. Many wonderful birds. Great views. No fruit.

Many sirens and chainsaw/construction noise nearby. and on the property.

Large tired house, and very outdated with strange design, poorly expanded multiple times in the past.

The house is in need of a through cleaning; the rugs and bath mats have not been cleaned for a long time. The house smelled bad. (The shower was very nice)

I like geckos, but not in the house. We saw many dozens scampering around throughout the house. They would stream in through the many separations in the screen door frames. They had easy access into the house 24 hours per day. As the days wore on, the floors became quite dirty…we realized that this was gecko droppings!

We did not have a working washer most of the time, so we had to use the laundromat.

There was no TV in the living room; just a small one in the bedroom. The controller and TV worked poorly.

There were no hand or dish towels. No beach chairs or beach towels. No beach stuff whatsoever.

The kitchen was poorly and minimally stocked with Salvation Army throw-a ways; one pot, terrible dishes and utensils. No salt.

We had planned to spend most of our time pool-side. But the pool surround and yard had many piles of excrement on it! At first I thought these large mounds were some kind of plant debris. I jumped into the pool and swam to the shallow end, to discover several large clumps on the bottom and floating. On looking at the stuff closely, I realized that was animal scat! I guessed that it had to come from a large animal, a large dog perhaps. This mess was never cleaned up while we were there.

Then two days later I saw a very large (about 200 pounds) feral pig in the yard! This was truly disgusting to realize I had been in a pool loaded with pig feces. The green grass back yard was gorgeous, but loaded with pig feces. The yard and pool were not fit to be used. Subsequently, we saw several more wild pigs in the yard and on neighborhood roads.

We are older people and tired…too tired and disgusted to complain. We should have left within two days…refund or not.

The previous six reviews were glowing with no mention of the shortcomings we experienced. I cannot explain that.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tim, We are sorry you did not like your stay. If you shared your concerns with us during your visit we would have either rectified them or helped you find another location. Your message reads more like a personal attack than an honest review. Sorry that you didn't like the design of our house. The Garden House was custom built to blend in with the environment and the outstanding views. From the interior wood made from old-growth fir, to the floor-to-ceiling screen doors that frame the view of garden both above and below the property, this home was designed for those who appreciate nature. We employ a landscaper to service our property. We try to schedule when there are no guests, but sometimes it is unavoidable. Holualoa sits on the flanks of the Hualalai volcano and sound does usually travel. That said, the Garden House is about 2.5 miles above the Queen’s Hwy, so if emergency vehicles respond to someone's needs, you may hear their sirens. We will inspect our rugs and towels, however, our home is thoroughly cleaned after every guest - in fact, new towels were purchased just prior to your visit. We have no idea what smell you refer to as the house is completely open to the gardens. In fact, other guests have commented on the regular night blooming jasmine scent that drifts through the living room. Nothing in the house came from Salvation Army, as the house is stocked with our personal items. We are sorry you couldn't find the set of pots, which are in the drawer to the left of the stove. We are puzzled that you discuss not having a washing machine: as we explained to you that we were replacing the washer to be delivered as soon as possible. We apologize that you were without a washer for part of your stay. Our home is located in a rural setting, yet close to all Kona amenities. Yes, there are wild pigs, turkeys, and chickens that roam. Unfortunately, sometimes the turkeys come to drink at the pool. That is why you found the owl statues at the pool, as turkeys fear them. Most likely you found turkey droppings, which are surprisingly large. In 7yrs we have never seen pigs inside our fence. Our pool man does come once/week and meticulously cleans the solar heated, saltwater pool. If we knew, we would have called to have it cleaned right away. You spoke with the caretakers, yet did not share these issues. Had you done so, many of your concerns could have been addressed. In Hawaii embrace the aloha spirit, we are truly sorry you didn't feel it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful private location in Holualoa

  • 4 of 5

This was a perfect private getaway. We'd rent this again

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Logan, Utah

Great home in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a week at this home and really enjoyed it. The onsite manager was extremely welcoming and helpful. She greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the home/property. The gardens were amazing, and we enjoyed collecting ripe fruit and making smoothies and fresh quacamole dip every day. Honestly, the avocados were incredible! The home and property are extremely private which made for a perfect Hawaii get-away-from-it-all vacation. It is in a very good location relative to many of the things we wanted to do and see while we were on The Big Island. Aloha and Mahalo!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely home and property

  • 5 of 5

Especially enjoyed waking up to the birds singing. Open air home was great. Comfortable and peaceful. We really had a chance to relax. Glad it was available.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stunning private estate in Holualoa

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment at this beautiful private home. We were stunned by the plethora of fruit and flowers in the garden that surround the house. The views of the Pacific were perfect for sunset watching and swims in the private pool. We enjoyed making fresh juice from the fruit trees on the property every morning. The house was exactly as described in the listing and really even more private and more spacious than we imagined. The owners were very helpful during the initial orientation to the property. The location in Holualoa is superb with a great local cafe restaurant; art galleries and jewelry and craft shops only a few minutes away. Kona is about a 12 minute drive down the hill.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gerald for your kind words about your Garden house stay! Privacy, peace and quiet is what we believe make our property stand out from the rest - yet located so near the shops and ocean front activities:) We hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at this home for about a week and a half and had a great time. We loved having the whole pool to ourselves and relaxing on the huge lanai. My kids liked running around and playing in the massive garden, and we all enjoyed watching different sunsets each night. I recommend this property to anyone who is seeking a private getaway for great deal.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sarah for your kind words about your Garden House stay! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the very private solar heated pool:) The Garden House has recently gone completely solar - all energy needed to power the property is generated on site - complements of the hawaiian sun!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Holuakoa Cafe
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Mauna Kea
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Kaloko Beach Park
Car: necessary

Holualoa is a quaint artist's community set in prime Kona coffee country. If you tire of the wonderful ocean/beach activities, golf and shopping, enjoy any of the activities located nearby. Coffee plantation tours, surf school, deep sea fishing, volcano viewing, or just relaxing by the pool. Be as active as you like, or, simply enjoy the peace and quiet of the 2 acres of botanical gardens that surround our vacation home.


Rates & Availability

Hōlualoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Iron Man
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
High Season
Oct 20 2017 - Feb 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.4%

Regular Rate: (all dates other than high season), $250.00/night+tax + tax (3 night minimum)

High season: "Iron Man" (October 6 - 17) and (November 15-January 31), $300.00/night+tax + tax (6 night min.)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties