Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

the ideal place to stay for the river, the water park or downtown shopping

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

World's #1 water park...a 3 minute walk over the Comal River Bridge (see photo)

3 Bedroom, 2 bath...( 4 Queen beds...2 in master BR)....One of the most charming homes in downtown New Braunfels...wake up with a hot cup of coffee and step out to the back deck and count the deer....situated between Austin and San Antonio, there are unlimited tourist attractions within driving distance. Everything from the Schlitterbahn water park....(5 min walk from the house) to the best live music venue in Texas (Gruene Hall)...Wurstfest is within walking distance the first part of November. Sea World, Natural Bridge Caverns, the Alamo, the State Capital of Texas, the outlet malls of San Marcos are all just a few minutes away and needless to say, some of the best restaurants in south Texas. Come see us......


Owner
RC Irwin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 11, 2018

About RC Irwin

Carol & RC Irwin have the award winning Buttermilk Cafe in New Braunfels..Carol is an award winning chef having been named Chef of the Year in San Antonio and also the state of Texas...

RC Irwin purchased this house in 2000

Why RC Irwin chose New Braunfels

This property will offer visitors to our city a comfortable, upscale residence, perfectly located in beautiful downtown NB at an affordable rate...

What makes this house unique

With a perfect climate in the fall and winter months, it's an ideal get away...The house features 4 Queen size beds, sleeps 8 adults comfortably, has a beautiful kitchen (why wouldn't it ?..it's owner was previously 'Chef of the Year' in Texas).. In the spring, it will be available to groups looking to enjoy the Schlitterbahn Water Park and the pristine Comal/Guadalupe Rivers a short 5 minute walk from the house.....No hassle with having to park the car, just walk to the front gates of the water park....walk home for lunch, avoid those high food prices at the park....

Amenities

New Braunfels House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
the ideal place to stay for the river, the water park or downtown shopping
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
5

We will be back for sure!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our weekend get away. RC and I communicated a couple of times earlier in the week and once we left I made a quick call to update him with our stay.

We absolutely loved waking up and ending both days with the deer so close. House had plenty of room and fit 8 of us without any problems! No one ever felt like they were on each other or in the way. 444 tube rental is literally 2 streets away and you are able to access the comal from there.

I would definitely recommend!

Thanks RC and Carol!!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thx so much for the good review.... we hope you will consider us in ur future vacation plans...!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location and lovely owners

  • 5 of 5

The location of this house is even better for tubing than I had imagined. Our group was able to float the river twice with an easy visit back to the house in between. We met the owners and they were extremely friendly and accommodating.

One tip to visitors would be to buy some extra toilet paper and toiletries. The house had a couple toilet paper rolls but we ran out and there was not any shampoo or other shower supplies. The house was spotless when we arrived but we wanted to wipe down the counters before leaving but we could not find any cleaner. Overall I would highly recommend this rental!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location and comfortable spot.

  • 5 of 5

Great location if you are planning on floating the rivers or going to the water park.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and better hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. The house was very clean and in a great location within walking distance to the Comal River. The hosts were great to work with and the whole experience was just about perfect.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect spot

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend the Napoleon house! A group of friends and I were visiting New Braunfels to go tubing on the Comal and there's a tube rental location that is walking distance from the house. Schlitterbahn park is also around the corner. You can find restaurants that are walking distance as well. It was the perfect house for our party of 8!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thx jorge.... it was a pleasure to have you & ur group... Carol & I hope that you will come back to see us soon.... RC
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston
5

Great House, Great Location, Wonderful Owners

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this house for a weekend getaway to Schlitterbaun. The location was great! It is within walking distance if someone is interested in tubing and is only a 3-4 minute drive to Schlitterbahn. Everything was as promised about the property. It was very well maintained and in very good shape. There is a new deck on the back of the house that is great in the morning time or evening to sit and watch the deer come up.

To me, the most important thing is to have responsive owners. We communicated with the owners with a few questions and they always replied within a very short period of time. In fact, on one night, one of the owners came by just to make sure that our stay was good and to ask if there was anything else that was needed.

Overall, I couldn't have been happier with the house and would definitely recommend it to others looking in the area. I will definitely come back when we take another family trip to the area.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thx Jay... we look forward to having you again... RC & Carol Irwin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The house sleeps 8....it has 4 queen beds...inquiries will be addressed in a timely manner...

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties