Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Thanksgiving special - 4 nts. $680! Dogs free - provide towels/l

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 11-12)

Great location/great price/great digs!

This home has a private Hot Tub Room and is only 2 lots back from the beach with great ocean views from both levels. You can even smell the ocean and sleep to crashing waves if you want. Distance to ocean access is 165 ft. Beautifully furnished and professionally decorated with cathedral ceilings. There is even a view of the Avalon fishing pier. You can walk to the pier, the beach, shopping, restaurants and local attractions. This is a reverse floor plan home so the living, dining, kitchen combination area is on the top level along with a half bathroom. On the mid level there is Bedroom #1 which has a King bed and a private bathroom, Bedroom #2 has a double bed and Bedroom #3 has a Pyramid Bed (Double on bottom, Single on top) and Bedroom #4 has 2 Bunk sets. All amenities listed below are provided along with baby equipment (play pen, booster chair and 2 gates) DVD collection, books and games, high speed wireless internet, and a whirlpool bathtub. Pets are permitted at this home. The turnover day for this home is Saturday and you can rent this property for either full week stays or for a partial week stays, except in the summer season.


Owner
Jay Mankedick
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Jay Mankedick

I am from Toronto, Canada and now live in Kitty Hawk. Our friends and family come to visit and stay in this house. We have also stayed here so many times over the years before finally moving here.

Jay Mankedick purchased this house in 1999

Why Jay Mankedick chose Kill Devil Hills

Very comfortable house near the beach. Suits our small family and friends when they come to visit.

What makes this house unique

Its location - close to everything yet on a quiet street. Walk to Avalon Pier, Awful Arthur's restaurant and bar and giftshop, KMart, Jolly Roger, and of course the beach!!

Amenities

Kill Devil Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , top floor
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Pyramid
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
  • King size beds (1), Double size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) part of Pyramid bed, Twin or Single Beds (1) part of pyramid bed, Bunk Beds (2 - 4 singles)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside shower,some beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, toys) provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Thanksgiving special - 4 nts. $680! Dogs free - provide towels/l
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 27 reviews
Brandenburg, Ky
5

Great location, comfortable home, and dogs welcome!

  • 5 of 5

Only about 1 block to Avalon Pier, this home is welcoming and comfortable. Great views, both sunrise and sunset, and the house stood up great to the winds of Maria! Clean rooms, clear water in the hot tub, comfy furniture. AC in the upstairs froze one day and the repair man was there within 2 hours and fixed it in about 30 minutes. Highly recommend this vacation home! Oh, yea, and the dogs were welcome!!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review - we really appreciate it! So glad you had a nice vacation - with the dogs - and that Maria did not bother us too much! Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great week!

  • 4 of 5

Great location - just a walk to the beach & reasonably priced compared to other pet friendly houses in the area. it can use some updates esp some kitchen stuff but for a short stay that didn't matter, most importantly we had a fun stay and will gladly stay here on our next OBX vacation. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved this house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and well appointed. We loved that is was so close to the beach, restaurants, stores and the movie theater. It has a nice kitchen and tvs in 3 of the 4 bedrooms. There is a hot tub and outdoor shower as well. We would definitely come back to this house!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking time to review! So glad when guests enjoy their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice stay for a week

  • 4 of 5

Pros: Location! 5 min walk to beach and nearest restaurant. Neighborhood was quiet. Easily accommodated our family of 10. It was hot and humid the first week of July, but the AC ran like a champ (pretty much 24x7) keeping the house very comfortable. Linens, beach chairs, and sand toys are included (most places you have to rent these). West decks are nice in the morning and east deck is nice in the evening. The manager Jay is very responsive, and even though he was out of town he arranged someone to come by and clear a clogged drain for us.

Cons: The house needs a thorough maintenance audit. The stove and fridge are older and have some issues that need to be addressed, but we got by. Some chairs were broken and one window started leaking in a hard rainstorm. Some interior walls were cobwebbed, scuffed and dinged. Drains seemed to run a bit slow. Couches could use a thorough scrubbing. At the end of the day it's a rental house with high summer turnover, but I would encourage the owners to give it some attention this offseason. Doing so would likely address some of the more common complaints seen in the comments.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the house met our needs for a week.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed useful review. We do feel it is a very good value for a family vacation. Thanks for staying at our place!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Pictures and description misleading-Old beach house in need of repairs

  • 2 of 5

The house is listed as 165' from beach access path, that's true if you cut through neighbors landscaped yards. All window screens missing or rotted out so you could not open any of them including the siding doors which the back door was very hard to even open or close and my teenage daughter needed my help to close it. The A/C system on the main upper floor stopped working the second day and I overheard the repair tech say on his cell phone "the systems shot and the owner doesn't want to replace it". This appears to be the case for the whole house and for the cost I expected a house cleaner and without almost everything worn out or falling apart. The deck boards had nails popped up all over and my daughter almost split her toe on one. Very disappointed in the condition of the house since it's obvious nothing has been done in many years. Don't believe renters response as another person had a similar issue and they responded they were addressing the issues which nothing was done.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the house. We knew of the AC problem and responded immediately. We had not heard any previous complaints about the AC. As you can see from previous reviews just a few weeks earlier several different renters enjoyed the house immensely. We feel it is a very good family value in a prime location just a couple of hundred feet from ocean and near the pier. It is hard to maintain a pristine condition during the busy summer season - but we try. We will look into your concerns about the sliding door being hard to open and the nails. Appreciate your letting us know about these issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Property had everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay. Easy walk to the beach, eateries and shops. Property well maintained. Would certainly come back in the future

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking time to review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Seascape

This property is very centrally located. Across the street is the Avalon fishing pier, a few minutes from the Wright Brothers National Monument, many restaurants and shops close by. Can see the ocean from the decks and ocean access only 165 ft. away - easy to walk to.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

For weekends or partial weeks, not during the summer season, call J for a quote: 252-207-6402.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties