Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront apartment with a stunning sea and pool view Sal Island

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

1 bed first floor apartment fantastic location directly on the beach

IDEAL FOR A RELAXING BREAK IN SUN.

PLEASE ENQUIRE BY EMAIL FOR UP TO DATE AVAILABILITY AND PRICES.

LATE CHECK OUT AT NO EXTRA CHARGE - ( subject to availability)

DIRECT FLIGHTS FROM THE UK FROM LONDON GATWICK, BIRMINGHAM, MANCHESTER, BRISTOL & GLASGOW

One bed light and airy corner apartment on the first floor of the prestigious Porto Antigo 2. Perfectly situated within the complex to benefit from superb views of the large freshwater pool, gardens, sandy beach and bay of Santa Maria from the spacious balcony.All furniture and fittings have been carefully chosen personally by the owners. The apartment is South facing making full use of the year round sunshine. Porto Antigo 2 has a unique, setting which borders the white sandy beach yet is only a short stroll from the captivating town where there are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants to suit all tastes. Perfect for a relaxing beach holiday in the sun with plenty of water sports on offer.

Porto Antigo 2 has a prime beach-front setting with a fantastic south facing beach literally on the doorstep. It is perfect for a wide range of watersports or simply swimming, sunbathing and relaxing in the fantastic year round climate.

Our apartment benefits from the superb view of both the swimming pool, beach and sea of Santa Maria.

The apartment will be cleaned & sheets and towels changed once for a 7 night stay and three times for a 14 night holiday.

Beach towels are included and can be exchanged at no extra charge. (€20 deposit required refunded at the end of your holiday)

We offer a 24 hour English speaking reception service.

Santa Maria is one of the worlds top locations for wind and kite surfing as well as being an excellent destination for fishing, diving and sailing. There is a good selection of mini-markets and delicatessens in town as well as the local bakery situated on the street behind Porto Antigo. Fresh is landed daily at the nearby pier. Alternatively there are plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes from Italian, Portuguese and Mexican to superb local Cape Verdean cuisine.

The airport on Sal is just an easy 15 minute drive from Santa Maria. The cost for a taxi is just around 15 euros. Pre-booking is not necessary as there are always plenty available at the airport. Car hire is not essential as most things are within walking distance from the apartment.

More Details

Amenities

Santa Maria Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Modern bathroom with walk in shower and vanity sink unit. Towels, including beach towels provided and included in rental price. Beach towels can be exchanged daily at no extra charge. Hairdryer provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • king size bed, 2 bedside cabinets with lamps and USB ports. Large triple wardrobe with mirror and extra storage. Center ceiling fan. Double sofa bed in lounge. Apartment suitable for 2 adults.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The apartment has a well equipped kitchen complete with all necessary cooking utensils needed to self cater. Gas hob, microwave, large fridge/freezer, electric kettle and toaster. Dining table and 4 chairs. The light and airy living room has a double sofa bed, flat screen satellite TV and DVD player. There is a coffee table and additional storage in the corner unit. Large sliding patio doors lead out onto a spacious balcony where there are 2 reclining chairs, plus table and chairs for dining outside. The apartment has air-conditioning and a ceiling fan in the bedroom (a must in the summer months) A safe is provided without charge. Suitable for couples or friends. Non smoking apartment. In 2017 over 30% of our bookings were from repeat guests or directly from a recommendation.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront apartment with a stunning sea and pool view Sal Island
average rating of 4.8 based on 35 reviews
4

Enjoyable Short Break

  • 4 of 5

My partner and I needed some accommodation just for a few nights after travelling around the the Cape Verde Islands.

We spoke with Sandra as she was in Santa Maria at the time and she quickly arranged for us to stay in her apartment.

It was great to have a few days relaxing on the beach before our flight home.

The apartment was just what we needed, clean, well maintained and the swimming pool on site was a bonus.

We were more than happy with the location as being central to everything in town meant we didn't have to rely on taxi's for getting around.

Would liked to have stayed longer and would definitely choose to stay here again.

I Rose

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ian, It was very nice to meet you and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the apartment. I too believe that the location is one of the best on the island. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sal Cape Verde. Sandra Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Apartment & Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Just what we needed a week chilling out in the sun. Location of the apartment was perfect for us. It was great being so close to the town and only 2 minutes walk from the beach. Apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. We didn't eat in much but could see the kitchen was well equipped. USB ports by the bed and in the lounge were very handy. The pool was a little too cold for us to use but imagine in the summer months it will be great. We used the restaurant on site for breakfast and found some lovely places to eat in Santa Maria in the evenings. Overall we were very pleased with our choice and thank the owner for all the information & communication before we travelled. Have already put it on the calendar to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your valuable comments. It is always great to receive positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the apartment and had a relaxing stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sandra Clarke Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great location,perfect for a good chill out

  • 3 of 5

Perfect location (in about 12 months time) due to the erection of some new apartments within 12 feet of us,they started banging and drilling from 8am till 6pm so therefore we could nt relax for a couple of hours in the mornings or afternoons on the balcony as we like to on our holls we had to go out to avoid the noise(no ones fault i know) . Now to the left of the apartment there s a massive brick wall blocking out what was a lovely view to the left,the view to the right was stunning (the owner must be very annoyed ).One other thing was the smell of the drains directly below us.However on saying all this i will deffinately return, i loved the place the people and the whole laid back attitude everyone has, really chilled out beach bars and within 5 minutes walk and the beach on the doorstep.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Deborah I am pleased you loved the location of the apartment and the view from the balcony. Both the beach and the town of Santa Maria is only a short stroll from the complex. It is disappointing to hear that part of your stay did not meet your expectations but you were made aware and informed of the nearby building work and kept updated before you travelled. You were also offered the option of cancelling if this was a concern for you with a full 100% refund which you chose not to take. Sal is a small developing island becoming more popular with holiday makers and as a consequence it is normal that there are small building developments taking place around the island. The project will be completed within the next few months and will be a great asset to this already prime location. I do hope you will decide to visit Sal again in the future. Kind Regards Sandra Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unable to stay

  • 5 of 5

Sandra contacted us a few weeks before we were due to travel to Cape Verde, to explain that a nearby hotel had notified her that there was going to be work happening during the summer which could affect Porto Antigo. Sandra said that she had no idea how much it might impact on our stay and so offered a full refund. We accepted the refund and thought that Sandra was incredibly honest and reasonable even though it affected her booking. We did stay somewhere else but checked out Porto Antigo during our stay. There would have been little noise, but we weren't to know that before we went, so again we feel that Sandra was a very trustworthy host and we would not hesitate to book with her again. It's a beautiful complex and perfect location and we wish Sandra all the very best for all her future bookings.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Annmarie, I am pleased you had time to view the complex and loved it's location in Santa Maria. I look forward to hearing from you if you plan any future holidays to Sal Cape Verde. Sandra Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment in great location

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed my stay - the apartment was great and well equipped with everything you need.

Great position near the beach but also nice to have a pool where you don't have to fight for a sunbed!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Richard I am so glad you liked the apartment and it's location. Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated. Kind Regards Sandra Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing Break

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time we had done self catering in quite a few years and I must say we were glad we did. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The kettle didn't work but after letting Sandra know this was replaced the same morning. We were very pleased we had chosen to stay here. We loved the location, lazy days spent by the pool or on the beach.

As we were there for just one week we only had breakfast in the apartment eating out in Santa Maria each evening. We found some great inexpensive restaurants and it was so easy as they were all close by to the apartment.

Thank you to Sandra for patiently answering all my questions before we booked and we would definitely stay here again.

Paul & Jan

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Paul and Jan, I am pleased you loved the apartment and had a great holiday. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you when you plan your next visit to Sal. Sandra Apartment Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Sandra Clarke
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018

About Sandra Clarke

Hi my name is Sandra, I am married and I live in the north of England.

We visit Cape Verde as often as possible have made lots of friends there. We really enjoy the outdoor living and fantastic climate and relaxing lifestyle it has to offer.

All enquiries for the rental of the apartment are dealt with personally by myself and I am more than happy for future guests to contact me with any questions or for more information about the apartment or the island of Sal.

Sandra Clarke purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Sandra Clarke chose Santa Maria

I first heard about Cape Verde from the "Place in the Sun" TV show shown in 2005.

We fell in love with the island as soon as we arrived although back then there was very little tourism here!

We loved the laid back feel and mix of Portuguese / African culture different to anywhere else we had visited before.

We could see immediately what huge potential the Island had to be a great relaxing holiday destination.

When we first came across Porto Antigo complex it was nothing more than a piece of land where once the old tuna factory had once stood.

But it was the location that took our breath away and we knew instantly that we had found somewhere very special.

What makes this apartment unique

The unique benefit of our apartment is it's fantastic, location. We feel one of the best locations on the island.

The apartment is South facing to make the most of the fantastic sunny climate and it sits directly on the beach with views of the sea, pool & pretty gardens.

In addition to this the charming town of Santa Maria with all it's amenities is only a short stroll away from the complex.

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Sal
Nearest Beach
Santa Maria bay
Car: not necessary

Porto Antigo is one of only a few true front line developments actually situated in Santa Maria with apartments to rent. It benefits from a large freshwater swimming pool. There are new comfortable sun loungers round the pool on the sun deck. The complex is attractively landscaped as the photographs show and you are literally only steps away from the beach, sea and fishing pier. There are no roads to cross.It is a peaceful complex yet is within a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Santa Maria with it's bars, restaurants and colourful shops. A fantastic beach location in a much sought after complex.

Other Activities: Great for all types of water based activities and enjoying life in the sun.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Direct flights available from the UK with TUI Airways (Formerly known as Thomson) and Thomas Cook.
Check their websites for up to date fares as prices can change on a daily basis.
WWW.TUI.CO.UK
WWW.THOMASCOOKAIRLINES.COM
UK airports offering flights are -
London Gatwick
Birmingham
Manchester
Bristol

Please email for information on flights via Germany, Amsterdam or Lisbon.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties