Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Professionally Decorated Beach Basket Just 4 Homes from the Beach W/Heated Pool!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,175 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Master Suites, 1 King and 1 Queen & Two Twins

If you are looking for that Old Florida feel, Beach Basket is located on Oak Ave which dead ends to the white sand beaches and the perfectly clear waters of Anna Maria Island. You are just 5 homes or a 53 second walk to relaxation and sunshine! Built in 1920, this home was restored recently by the owner who is a professional decorator keeping with the classic cottage look. The detail in this home is incredible, from ceiling accents to bead board cabinets with glass doors to the comfortable furnishings by the Pink Pineapple.

The beachy feel continues into both the king master suite with a seating area that leads to the bright and sunny master bath and the queen suite which has a private entrance to the pool area where you will find citrus trees including an Avocado tree and rich tropical landscaping.

Having an occasional guest or bringing the kids? The air conditioned sleeping porch with 2 twins is a perfect place for them or a perfect nook for you to relax and enjoy a good book and a frozen cocktail! Beach Basket is one of our most popular homes so book well in advance to find out why!!

Small Pets Considered!

For our other “Basket”, 1 of the finest vacation rentals on Anna Maria Island please see Mermaid’s Basket (VRBO Listing #557763)

PLEASE NOTE A MONTH IS BASED ON 4 WEEKS OR 28 DAYS!

PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR RENTAL AGREEMENT!

CANCELLATION POLICY: FUNDS ARE FULLY REFUNDABLE MINUS A $150 CANCELLATION FEE IF HOME IS REBOOKED FOR YOUR EXACT DATES!!

More Details

Owner
Ellie
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

for providing the perfect location for a special birthday celebration.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 23

Amenities

Anna Maria Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1175 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellation-Fees collected will NOT be returned unless the unit is re-rented for the same period. If re-rented all fees will be refunded minus $150.
  • Please include size & breed of animals for permission to bring them. $150 taxable pet fee per pet will apply.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Sleeping Porch - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) Master Suite, Queen size Beds (1) Guest Suite, Twin or Single Beds (2) On Sleeping Porch
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Professionally Decorated Beach Basket Just 4 Homes from the Beach W/Heated Pool!
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 57 reviews
5

Great Week at Anna Maria

  • 5 of 5

The location is fantastic. Everything was very comfortable and welcoming. The house is decorated so cute, and contains everything that you need. There is even a beach tent and cart, etc. available for renters. We rented a golf cart also, and were able to run to get dinner - snacks - shopping & go to the piers easily . Everything was so cozy and comfortable that we didn't want to leave. - - - for families with small children, there are a lot of shells and little decorative things sitting around, so head's up

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cynthia and Family, Beach Basket is located so close to one of the best beaches on the island and we do take full advantage of it as well. Being walking distance to the shops and restaurants is another of our favorite things about the home. Glad you found everything you needed and enjoyed the décor and found out home comfortable. Please do come back and see us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING STAY!!!🦀

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location! The house and beds were comfortable. The shower in the second bedroom is very small, however, the covered outside shower made up for it. You will need to bring dish and laundry soap, paper towels, foil(other food coverings), baggies. The pool was very warm(could be 5-10 degrees cooler) in the summer. Try to bring everything you need for groceries Publix isn't far but with traffic it does take 20-40 minutes to get there. Not far from Pine street and other restaurants, it's a short bike ride. The sunrises and sunsets are breathtaking. Loved everything about our stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lori and Family, We love having guests like you that take such good care of our home! Thank you for that and for taking the time to review. Glad you liked the beds and yes, I love the outside shower and use that all the time that I am there! Unfortunately there isn’t much we can do about the temperature of the pool in July. It is actually cooler than the Gulf Water this time of year! Just an FYI for your next visit. There is a large Publix grocery store just before you hit the island. We always advice guests to stop there on the way in as the selection is much better, it is not as crowded AND the prices are MUCH better!! Pine Ave with all of its shops and restaurants is worth the bike ride or short walk. We usually walk along the beach to get there and it makes it even more pleasant and you can catch a sunrise or sunset on your way!! Please do come back to visit soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

THANK YOU Beach Basket from CT!

  • 5 of 5

What a trip! We've traveled to Florida religiously since 2007 and vacationed at Anna Maria Island for the first time back in April 2014. We decided to come back this year and stayed at...111 Oak Ave. It was beyond what we expected. Homey, comfortable, clean and close to the beach. No complaints! WE LOOK FORWARD TO STAYING THERE AGAIN! Warm regards, Scott, Amy & Syd from CT

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, Amy & Syd, The Beach Basket misses you already! I can’t tell you how much we appreciate people like you who take such wonderful care of our home. It means a lot to us and it makes our agents job that much easier. Please do come back and visit us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Would stay again!

  • 5 of 5

This house is only a few blocks from the beach. It is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a fun beach vacation. I would recommend this home to any couple or family wanting a nice beach vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anjonette, So glad you enjoyed the Beach Basket and the décor’ and hope to see you back next year! I assume you mean that it is only a few house from the beach, not a few blocks as we are in the middle of the first block that dead ends to the beach!! Only 246 feet from the sand-maybe a minute walk!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakewood Ranch, FL
4

The Pros and Con of Beach Basket

  • 4 of 5

We loved the location and decor of the Beach Basket. It was also very clean which is important to me. My main complaint was the size of the shower in the second bathroom which is extremely small. I am 5'2" tall and weigh 130 lbs. and I felt claustrophobic trying to use the shower. The other 4 people ended up using the shower in the master bedroom which was not what we had planned when we rented a place with 2 bathrooms. The air conditioning worked well and it was nice having a washer and dryer. The pool is unscreened so we spent a lot of time skimming the pool to remove bugs and debris that fell in but we did have quite a bit of rain during our visit. Had the second bathroom worked out better I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do apologize for not addressing you by name by unfortunately you posted your review anonymously. Thank you so much for reviewing Beach Basket. Glad the AC worked well for you as it is a brand new unit as well as the washer and dryer! As you mentioned the pool is unscreened and we had an amazing amount of rain and wind the week you were here but skimming the pool is just one of those things that needs to be done beside the normal weekly service. The location can’t be beat and thank you for your wonderful comment on the décor. The home was originally built in 1926 and although we have done extensive renovations we wanted to keep the Old Florida Cottage feel and back in the day they certainly did not make bathrooms the size we are used to today!! We are a bit spoiled!! We have had many guests in our home and this is the first complaint we have had on the shower. I believe we accurately show the bathroom in photo #16. We do apologize if it was not up to your standards. Perhaps most people also take advantage of the large hot and cold outdoor shower by the pool area which is totally enclosed for privacy. I know that is where I shower when we use the home. Please do come back us and see us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage, old Florida feel, we will be back!!!

  • 5 of 5

Anna Maria appealed to us because it is truly one of the few places left you can get a private island vibe meaning NO large chains, NO high rises, and sugar white sand on turquiloise water! What's not to love?! I searched for over a week to find the perfect combination of amenities for our family on AMI. We wanted something small hopefully a cottage, NO streets to cross (if not on ocean), private pool on northern (residential) part of island. Y'all...this little place is IDYLLIC! It hits ALL the marks. You can feel the character the moment you walk inside. Beautifully decorated, love the cottage old FL feel. Well stocked kitchen. I always bring my own trash bags, napkins, detergent, toiletries etc so unfortounately I didnt look for these things. LOVE washer dryer in unit, very helpful with a little one. Lots of beach toys, umbrella and beach cart available. Very short walk to beach. Outdoor shower is awesome for washing sand off your feets or whereever else before going inside! Pool was so lovely to use at night after young child went to sleep. (Bonus, it lights up at night.) We used the grill several nights and it was great, we even had spare tank of gas. Responsive and VERY on top of things management company. We had a couple contractors that needed to come by and we were never disturbed; all was handled by management company and they informed us well in advance. All work was for maintenance and upkeep- which I personally like to see because that means it's not being minimally maintained just to keep rentals. I was impressed they called a few days before our stay to make sure all was still as planned and we knew where/what/when. To be honest, we called and booked it for next year on the ride home! Thank you for sharing this little oasis with us. See you next year!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dara and Family, Anna Maria is unlike any other place that I know of in Florida with all single family homes and small local shops. Hope you got to enjoy some of the great local restaurants as well. Most are all family owned and have been around for quite some time. We do try to provide all of the amenities that are guests might need so glad we were on the mark with your family. Our management company, Gulf Islands Vacation Rentals with Ellie, Suzanne and Bob are THE BEST around and I can’t tell you how many compliments we get about their prompt and friendly service. We welcome you back next year and will be sure everything is exactly as it was this year for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Sarasota/Bradenton 18 Miles or Tampa TPA 50 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.04 Miles
Oak Ave dead ends to the beach! 53 seconds or 246'
Car: not necessary

This home is located on Anna Maria Island, a quaint barrier island nestled in the Gulf of Mexico south of Tampa Bay. Here is one of the only places you can find where the 'old' Florida charm still exists. Seven miles of pristine white beaches awaits you and beautiful sunsets grace the island with their presence every night. The Island has every convenience needed including a Publix grocery store, CVS pharmacy, and Walgreens. There are multiple award winning restaurants that call the island home, such as the Beach Bistro, Sandbar, Beachhouse, and Sign of the Mermaid. Others not to miss are Rod and Reel Pier, Anna Maria City Pier, and Ginny and Jane-e's at the Old IGA. There is plenty of shopping available with hot spots such as the historic Pine Ave and Bridge Street areas. With the beach and the bay just minutes away from your front door, there is plenty to do in the water. Kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, jet-skiing, paddle boarding, and para-sailing are popular activities around Anna Maria Island. With the Island only being seven miles long, there is no need to drive when almost everything is within walking or biking distance. There is also a convenient Trolley Service that runs the length of the Island every day, and is free for everyone to ride. Anna Maria Island has something for everyone, and everyone who comes to visit falls in love with the Island, we are sure you will too.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $150
Damage Deposit $49

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund