Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Premier Oceanfront Top Floor Alii Villas 331 Near Town

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

OCEANFRONT, VIEWS!!! Relax and enjoy Kona's premier ocean & coastline view into Kailua Bay and the cool ocean breezes. Watch the cruise ships, whales, dolphins and stunning ocean vistas. Tastefully furnished with a tropical decor for carefree seaside living. Living room and master bedroom open to the view and to a large oceanfront lanai from which you can enjoy our balmy Hawaiian climate and gorgeous scenery.

GREAT LOCATION: 1 mile south of Kailua Town. Five minutes to shopping and restaurants in town, White Sands Beach and Kahaluu Beach Park (our famous snorkeling beach). Only 20 minutes from Kona International Airport.

PRIVATE and QUIET: Located away from the main street, Alii Drive. We offer a wonderful place to relax and from where you can explore our Island Paradise.


C.J. Kimberly Real Estate, LLC

75-5875 Kahakai Road

Kailua Kona, HI 96740


owner's TA Tax Lic # W 40941400-01

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM
  • /
  • Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
Premier Oceanfront Top Floor Alii Villas 331 Near Town
average rating of 3.0 based on 4 reviews
Vancouver BC

Incredible oceanfront condo in a quiet complex close to town.

  • 4 of 5

We spent most of our time on the huge lanai gazing at the dolphins, whales & outrigger paddlers. Also did yoga there & ate all our meals. CJ Kimberly we’re very responsive to any requests. The furniture is dated and we removed the foam top from the king bed as it was too soft for us but otherwise everything was wonderful & we’ll return.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thanks so much for your nice words. We always pass along reviews and suggestions to the owner. Hope you can come back again! Allie @ CJ Kimberly Realtors
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Views views views.......

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about staying at the Alii Villas. The community feel is amazing. The condo was so well stocked for us when we arrived. There was no shortage of towels, linens, condiments, paper products, etc. Yes, the condo may need a little updating, but who cares? You are in have the best view in the whole entire complex! The sunsets from the lanai in the evening, the birth of a humpback whale right in front of the lanai and watching it play with its mother all week just below you in the bay. Watching spinner Dolphins from the lanai daily.....just breathtaking.

We had a small issue with some noise from construction we weren't aware of and the condo owner and property manager did everything they could to compensate us for our inconvenience.

We had no issues with any appliances or anything in the condo. It was so wonderful for us.

Just so you know this complex does not have any elevators and this unit is on the third floor....if you can walk up stairs it's no problem.

I loved staying here for the 6 weeks.....would definitely stay here again. The property manager was always on call if we needed anything at all.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Colleen, thank you so much for this lovely review. We know that the construction outside was unexpected (for all of us!) and we truly appreciate your attitude. We hope to see you again next year. C.J. Kimberly staff
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA

Good location but unit needs much updating & repairs

  • 2 of 5

This is a good location but the unit is in need of updating. Furniture is dated & sofa had broken arms. The faucet dripped in master bath & master bed was too soft. Dishwasher does not wash well.

There are lots of plates and utensils, though not new, & we kept running out of silver ware. Please add another set. The lanai is large and spacious & being close to the ocean is a plus. Update and make improvements & we would return.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know about things you thought needed attention. We would have been happy to have any repairs done or utensils bought while you were here, if we had known about it at the time. We certainly will pass your comments on to the owner immediately. We value your business and always want our guests to feel happy about their stay in the property. Mahalo, CJ Kimberly Realtors
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Broomfield Colorado

Dont rent until Owners and Managment fix major problems

  • 1 of 5

We were "guided" to this rental by the management company for a three week IM stay, and it was a disaster. The unit had bugs on counter when we arrived, and the drains were plugged in the master bath shower. The unit is advertised as "Premier" and "upgraded" but it is not, and the couch had two broken arms, with tired furniture through the rest of the unit. On the first day of our stay, the washer was dead. We reported this problem, but there was no repairman for several days. When the repairman did come, initially we were told to wait for him in a 4 hour window, and later we were told he had the code to the unit. His repair worked for four days, and then died. We were stuck without a washer again, which was extremely important because we were working out, and had brought minimum clothing expecting to wash it daily. The management company told us it would be repaired right away, but it was not done until the night before we left (almost 10 days), and we didn’t know it because we were out to dinner. We advised management of the broken couch and plugged drains, and they sent people to enter the unit without advising us, and without having them leave notes. That was extremely creepy, and we told them so. The manager advised that it was probably someone spraying for bugs. Without our permission, which is unacceptable. This was all taking place in the two weeks before the IM, and the management company was not responsive at all. The washer was never fixed until the evening before we left, and the plugged master bath repaired only days before we left. The guest bath shower feature rusted off and the shower didn't work, and that was never repaired. We pointed out to the management and owners that these had to be longstanding issues, especially the washer, but neither cared. Because the manager would not get a quality repair of the washer, we had to spend two trips a day getting wash done. After the stay, we asked for a refund, and the Owner offered a token refund, and was dismissive of all the problems in the unit. Because the advertisement is extremely misleading as to the condition of the unit, we felt that the Owner substantially overcharged. We also paid a premium during the IM period, but the management company was so overworked they did not return calls, did not timely address issues, and they later admitted they were overworked and unprepared to address the issues we had. That being the case, we should not have been charged a premium.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Numerous bars and nightclubs in town or Keauhou
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Car: recommended

Great location near Kona village!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.42%

Call our office if you have a booking for less than 14 days during Premium High Season. If we can fit your booking in between 2 other bookings, we are happy to accommodate you.


CANCELLATION POLICY If notice given 60 days or more prior to arrival: 100% refund
Less than 60 days prior to arrival: Forfeiture of all monies received to date No Exceptions.
Please refer to Guest Contract.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties