Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Old Convent with Terrace 1 Minute from Palazzo Vecchio

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,399 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms + Sofa , 3 Baths, 6-8 Sleeps


Via del Corno was also mentioned by the famous italian writer Vasco Pratolini in 'Chronicle of Poor Lovers', his best book, where he tells stories of Florence between 1925 and 1926. The novel is almost entirely set in Via del Corno, located between the Palazzo Vecchio and Santa Croce,in the same street where the author had spent some years of his youth.

The protagonists of the novel are the inhabitants, mostly working class and the author develops love affairs that involve the young people resident in the street. In the background, the scenery of Florence in the early years of Fascism, a city in the struggle for the assertion of conflicting values. In the small universe are well represented the many faces of Florentine life but also of the Italian reality.

This Pratolini novel came to the attention of critics and in 1954 the director Carlo Lizzani directed a movie based on the book with actors such as Marcello Mastroianni, Antonella Lualdi, Rowena Greek. The film, despite the problems of censorship, won the Special Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival.


'La Terrazza apartment" is located in one of the oldest parts of the center of Florence, in the medieval triangle that leads from Piazza della Signoria and from the Uffizi Museum to Piazza Santa Croce, exactly one minute walk from Palazzo Vecchio and from the Bargello Museum and two minutes walk from the Uffizi.

LA TERRAZZA APARTMENT Hospitality for 8 people

The palace, though very old, has an elevator and the apartment, although it lies on a high first floor has a large and pleasant terrace of 30 square meters furnished with sofa and chairs and a canopy for shelter from the sun in the summer.

The apartment is divided equally into common areas, consisting of a living room with two sofas and two armchairs that overlooks the terrace and has a beautiful decorated wooden ceiling; a kitchen with vaulted ceiling, fully equipped with all the convenience of 20 meters that also overlooks and has access to the terrace, equipped with a bar and a dining table for 8 people; and a study, also with access to the terrace, with TV and DVD.

The master bedroom, very large and with a beautiful ceiling made with terracotta panels of the 16th century decorated with original gold and blue colours, has a king size bed and a bathroom en suite with a large shower and has direct access to the terrace.

The second bedroom also has a king size bed (160 x200 cm) and wood decorated ceiling as the living room and a bathroom with dual access from the living room and from the bedroom with a Jacuzzi bath tub.

The third bedroom is very spacious, in addition to the king size bed it is also equipped with a private balcony of 10 square meters and a loft of 10 square meters with a sofa that converts to a comfortable double bed (cm 195 x 140).

The apartment has a total of 130 square meters plus 30 square meters of outdoor living almost all year round.

The renovation has been completed recently, so the apartment is absolutely new and accurate in every detail.

Everything to let you have a suggestive stay in Florence.


"La Terrazza apartment" is extremely centrally located, few minutes walk to all the major sites and touristic attractions of Florence, though is also very close to food shops and and markets.

Please don't hesitate to contact us for further informations.

More Details

Remo Bellagamba
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2018


Santa Croce Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1399 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub , bidet , with Jacuzzi
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3/loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , mattress 140 x 195 cm
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 160x200
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 160x200
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 160x200
  • The 3 bedrooms have their own private bathroom
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Old Convent with Terrace 1 Minute from Palazzo Vecchio
average rating of 4.869565 based on 46 reviews

We loved it! Perfect for our family!

  • 5 of 5

Stefania was a huge help giving us recommendations. The apartment is in a great location and was perfect for our family of 6. They even went out of their way to provide us with 2 cribs for our toddlers complete with bedding. We were in town for a wedding the night before checking out and Stefania very generously allowed us a later check out time. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, We will be very happy to greet you again in Florence!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for a group

  • 5 of 5

It is a great place for 3 couples each had king beds and their own bathroom. Not easy to find in Florence. Great location for seeing all the best parts of Florence. We loved our week in Florence. Thanks Mark

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you do much for your review, you are absolutely right, the location is perfect everything is within walking distance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We booked this Apartment for our family and partners as it was ideally situated adjacent to the Palazzo Vecchio where our daughter was getting married. This turned out to be one of smartest choices We have ever made as not only was the apartment immaculately clean when we took it over the size and layout was perfect for our needs as the Bridal HQ. The rooms are all on suite and with AC the reception area and kitchen also have AC. There is a small laundry room complete with a washer dryer which proved invaluable. The crowning glory was the square patio with doors in each side that could access all areas of the apartment. As you can imagine there was a lot of coming and going in the build up to the wedding day and after and the kitchen and patio proved invaluable in hoisting the numerous visitors. The best way to sum this apartment up is to say that not only is it a beautiful place to stay in but it also helped to make our daughters wedding a wonderful day. We cannot thank Remo & Stefani enough for allowing us to book there apartment, and I hope they did not receive to many complaints from the neighbours about the sound of the bagpipes as I escorted my daughter to her wedding. 😂?

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your beautiful and enthusiastic review. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the apartment and that it helped to make your daughter's wedding a wonderful day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not really

  • 2 of 5

There is no question that the location of the apartment is perfect, however , on the first night we arrived the toilet in one bathroom did not work. It was fixed the next day but as they say in Italian “ durava poco” . One night later the water would not stop running and we lost a night’s sleep. Again, the handy man, who was very cordial and apologetic (but spoke only italian) had to spend an afternoon fixing the toilet. I can understand that problems arise, but was disappointed that I heard nothing from the owner about the inconvenience. Also, FYI: the back bedroom is very noisy. A garage opens at 4:30 in the morning and because the apartment above is rented to Cornell university students you can expect to hear the Cornell fight song often throughout the night. Lastly, perhaps in connection with a rather rowdy party, the glass in the front door to the street was smashed making it possible for anyone to reach in and open the door. The glass was not replaced during the following three days we stayed at the apartment. I took a photo for the owner, but heard

Nothing. I do not like to give negative reviews. Despite everything, I had a wonderful time, but I feel strongly that reviews should be honest. I would not return.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay despite the toilet. As you wrote, the maintenance man was called as soon as you informed me of the problem and he immediately attempted to check the leak and fix it temporary to let you use the bathroom, after which he changed the entire piece on the following day. Regarding the students and the front door. We called the condominium in order that they immediately fix the door after which the door was attended to. They also called the students to inform them of their responsibilities regarding their respect of the condominium rules; which includes the avoidance of noise during the night. Stefania is the person in charge of the apartment and she arranged everything in order to resolve the problems and she has always been in contact with you during your stay. I am so sorry for what happened during your stay and should you wish to return we will be glad to offer you a special discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Decatur, GA

Lovely Apartment, Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Our family group of 7 adults stayed in this wonderful apartment . Stefania greeted us upon arrival and provided a tour of the apartment. There was plenty of space for everyone and we enjoyed sitting in the courtyard with covered shade. We loved that this apartment was off a quiet neighborhood alley that opened onto a street full of cafes , shops, and museums. So close to everything we needed. Minutes away for Uffizi Gallery and Santa Maria Novella. I really enjoyed walking around Florence and having a lovely place to return to at the end of the day. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, AZ

Perfect VRBO experience

  • 5 of 5

This property was everything we had hoped for and more. The home is on a quiet street, but so close to everything. The three bedrooms were all the same size, which is nice when you are sharing with more than one family so it doesn't feel as if one couple gets the bigger room. The beds were very comfortable after a long day of sightseeing and the kitchen and family room were comfy and very serviceable as well. We never used the patio because it was cold while we were there, but I imagine it would be wonderful to sit out there with a glass of wine when the weather is nice. We would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. I will be very happy to greet again in Florence!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit $352.49

The Total is all inclusive, apart City tax 1,5€ per person, per night and Transaction fee 3% of total amount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties