Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

**Coming March 2018, we will be listing 2 new properties in the same area on VRBO! Please inquire if you are looking to book beyond March.**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and open sleeping loft sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing! We keep the sauna open all winter to allow as many guests as possible to use the amenity. When there are extremely cold temperatures, the sauna may not heat up to the desired temperature. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details

Owner
Roxanne
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently traveling throughout North America implementing business excellence principles within the forest products industry..

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the organizational development field within the forest products industry.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Duluth

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18

Amenities

Duluth Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , The loft, open to the living room, contains four twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(105 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
15% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.7714286 based on 123 reviews
5

More than just a cottage!

  • 5 of 5

The photos on the website do not do justice to how beautiful this cottage really is! Extremely clean, modern, spacious, sensational view of the lake, nice sauna. Despite 6 inches of snow, the stay was fantastic for our group of 8. No kayak or pontoon use due to weather, but we left a snowman in the yard instead! Went in knowing there would be no WiFi. Would've been handy but not a necessity. Also knew there would be little to no cell service (no Verizon but AT&T worked). Limited TV stations but not a problem for us either. Kitchen well stocked with utensils, plates, glasses, etc. Highly considering returning for another stay in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to ensure our guests have a great stay and enjoy the cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Dulth Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cabin/cottage was beautiful. We stayed two nights. Enjoyed sitting by the fire the first night, the second night it was a lot colder so we stayed inside. We didn’t see the games in the closed until the end of our stay. We would have played some during the day if we would have known that sooner. Instead we watched movies at the cabin due to the weather. If you have Verizon you will have no phone service but if you have AT&T you should be alright. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

a wonderful gem

  • 5 of 5

Our group had a fantastic time here, I've stayed once before but my friends were really impressed. It is clean, durable, cozy, and peaceful. We enjoyed the sauna and functional kitchen. I can't wait to stay again!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Many guests use the sauna and really seem to like it. We hope you can come back again and stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful View of Pequaywan Lake

  • 4 of 5

Thanks so much for the extra amenities that you supplied. Also appreciated that it was nice & clean. Would be nice if there were some hooks on a wall in the bedrooms for hanging things. 😊 Overall it was a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have hooks on the back of each door, but we'll check to make sure they are still there and haven't been put away at some point. We hope you can come back again and stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5

This property is absolutely gorgeous! You have an amazing view on a crystal clear lake and enough room in the yard to move around a little bit. The kitchen is top notch for a cabin and the grill is a great amenity to have. Inside the cabin is a cozy feel with plenty of seating. I loved not having cell phone service, makes you truly unplug and enjoy nature. The road is not busy at all so we were able to walk and bike without any worry. We enjoyed ourselves and the changing falls color made for a beautiful sight!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It is a beautiful time of the year in the Northland. We hope you can come back and enjoy our property again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A comfy place with a great view, despite the storm

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. After arriving we really didn't want to carry out our plan of driving up the shore and were especially happy to return after. The beautiful kitchen worked to prepare meals with basic cookware, the dock was a meditative place, the beds were comfy. It was great!

Suggestions-

1) bring a flashlight. A wild storm came thru and we lost power for 2 1/2 hours. Beautiful but the bathroom was pretty dark.

2) we brought a meal delivery box with us (Blue Apron-like) so we had all the makings but wish we had checked on what cookware was available. But we successfully improvised.

3) Roxanne - please post instructions about turning on the sauna

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We certainly can post instructions on how to turn on the sauna. Thanks! We hope you all can come back and visit our place again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.
-no Wi-Fi available, cell phone coverage quality depends on the provider, some have no reception, be prepared
-If folks need to contact you at the cabin or you need to make a call, there is a land line available for (218) 848-2601 for urgent or emergency use.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties