Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing! We keep the sauna open all winter to allow as many guests as possible to use the amenity. When there are extremely cold temperatures, the sauna may not heat up to the desired temperature. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details

Owner
Roxanne
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently making paper in Wisconsin.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Wisconsin.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Northeast

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18

Amenities

Duluth Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , The loft contains four twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(88 traveler reviews)

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.784091 based on 106 reviews
5

Unplugged girls weekend

  • 5 of 5

We stayed up here to have low key bachelorette party and it was perfect! Couldn't have found a better place to unwind and just enjoy each other's company! The cabin fit 8 girls perfectly! We definitely enjoyed our stay and have already talked about coming up again!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. How fun! What a great way to celebrate this wonderful event.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin in an even better quiet location with a great view

  • 5 of 5

We just loved our stay, it's a beautiful cabin with good facilities (we really enjoyed the campfire and the grill). Roxanne and Tony also really helped us out when one of the group had left his passport behind in the cabin. I recommend this cabin to everybody!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We certainly do our best to make sure our guest stay is pleasant from beginning to end.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well maintained, clean and efficient

  • 5 of 5

We were 8 adults and we managed comfortably in this cabin. Beautiful, quiet lake. A perfect spot for getting together with friends and famile

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It's perfect for a weekend away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is really nice, wood work is beautiful! It is also very cozy, had an at home feel. There is a lot to do at the cabin as well as in the area. We will be back and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
west fargo, nd, usa
5

Great get away spot!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very nice and clean. It was a good place to hang out and relax. The area was beautiful and the sauna was an added bonus! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin that is very well kept! We decided to explore Duluth for our anniversary trip. Unfortunately it was UMD graduation so any decent hotel was over $200 per night. I got on VRBO and found this place. It is approximately 30 miles from Duluth but is a very easy drive. Be prepared for no cell service or wi-fi. Not saying that is a bad thing...just be prepared. We arrived late Friday and left Sunday morning. We spent all day Saturday exploring Duluth so we didn't spend much time at the house. Hopefully we will be back! Thanks for the great cabin!!!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had one graduate from college this weekend in Duluth and now how busy it was! Yes, we do not have wi-fi, some cell phone carriers work at our cabin and some do not (we have AT&T and it works fine). We hope you can come back and enjoy our cabin again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Duluth Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
June 24 - July1, 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,599
Flat fee
 
 
July 1 - July 8, 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
July 8 - July 15, 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 15 - July 22, 2017
Jul 15 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 22 - July 29, 2017
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
July 29 - August 5, 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 5 - August 12, 2017
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 12 - August 19, 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
Flat fee
 
 
August 19 - August 26, 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,699
Flat fee
 
 
August 26 - September 1, 2017
Aug 26 2017 - Aug 31 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,399
Flat fee
 
 
Sept 1, 2017 - Sept 4, 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$599
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Colors!
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$159
$1,099
 
 
Winter Break
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$159
$1,099
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$169
Fri,Sat
$999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.
-no Wi-Fi available, cell phone coverage quality depends on the provider, some have no reception, be prepared
-If folks need to contact you at the cabin or you need to make a call, there is a land line available for (218) 848-2601 for urgent or emergency use.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties