Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mission Beach Penthouse Condo with Bay Views, best location!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,450 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Three Bedroom, Three Bathroom With Large Water View Deck

This beautiful Penthouse condo comprises all of the top floor and half of the second floor in this extremely well-kept, ten-year-old, 3-story building. New wood floors throughout! South Mission Beach has long been the preferred area in Mission Beach, and this home is in the best location in South Mission. As you enter the condo you walk up to the second floor where you will find two master bedrooms - each with a master bath, as well as a cozy office for your computer. On the 3rd floor is the large, fully equipped kitchen and a smaller 3rd bedroom with a queen bed. The attractive dining table seats 8 people and the living room is very bright with lots of windows, a convertible queen sized sofa and flat-screen TV with cable and wifi for your laptops and tablets. What really sets this courtside condo apart are the 2 patio/decks on each end of the top floor. The large south end deck has a nice view of Mission Bay, while the north deck has a broad view of Mission Bay and a peek of the ocean, which is across Mission Blvd, just a couple minutes walk from the condo. For parking we have a nice tandem 2-car garage that will fit most vehicles @ 32 feet long by 8 feet wide and 7 foot vertical clearance. Just outside the garage is a hot/cold water outdoor shower to wash the sand off after a great day on the beach. Speaking of the beach, we have beach chairs, umbrella, two boogie boards, two inflatable boats (electric pump) and more. You're not going to find a nicer home for your vacation in this very affordable price range. Come on down to Mission Beach and get a taste of the SoCal beach life that you have read about and seen in movies - it is here waiting for you now. Contact us and let's see if we can make it happen for you.


Property Manager
Dave
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
July 16, 2017

Amenities

Mission Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Master bath with master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - Another master bath with master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - On 3rd floor for upstairs bedroom and guests
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , With own master bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , With master bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
21% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mission Beach Penthouse Condo with Bay Views, best location!
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews
3

Good location and clean but...

  • 3 of 5

Good location and good price. You can walk 100 steps to the sand of the harbor. You can walk about 200 steps to the ocean in the opposite direction. Place is very outdated but was clean and a great place to stay with a big family. There are three levels to this unit with a lot of stairs so it may not be ideal for older folks or really little kids.

Here's why I gave it three stars...upon arriving, we were locked out of the unit for a couple hours because management did not provide an access code to the house before arrival. I had called several times with no answer and my call was eventually returned a couple hours later. Not a huge deal, the person was very nice and pleasant over the phone.

The second and biggest issue was parking. In the advertisement, it said there is a garage for parking two cars which was perfect because our group came in two vehicles. Upon arriving, construction crews had the concrete in front of the garage torn up with large trenches outside so the garage was unusable except for ocean toys and bikes for our entire stay. So we had to park our cars about a half mile away when we could find a spot on the Main Street. It would have been nice to know that the city had major construction going on and provide the renter with some kind of concession for not being able to park cars when advertised that we had a two car garage available.

This kind of oversight is typical of a property management company that has many rentals in its portfolio and things like this fall through the cracks. I usually like vrbo because you are dealing with owners instead of corporations I.e. Property management companies.

I would rent again if I knew there was access to the garage!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tempe, Az
4

Great location, clean, spacious

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this conveniently located property. Steps from the bayside. Oceanside was easily accessible as well. Market close by for food items. Plenty of beach chairs, beach towels & toys.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The location was very good.The cleanliness and functionality of featured items were poor.

  • 3 of 5

1. The featured BBQ was so rusted that it was unusable.

2. All electrical outlets on 3 walls in the family room were unusable...no contact and arcing.

3. The clothes washer could not process with hot water. The defect was verified internal to the washer.

4. Kitchen cleanliness was poor. Most cabinet doors were sticky, refrigerator doors sticky, and the oven door had dried food stains down the glass front.

5.The mattress cover and mattress of one of two single beds had urine stains.

6. The television was frustrating. Two locals channels, if you are lucky. Most all programming was sourced through ROKU. The ROKU process of streaming was very slow and did not respond well to the remote control.

7 Called the owner, who did respond and come to the condo. These issues seemed to be a complete surprise to him. He needs to take more ownership, before guests are signed up.

8. After our departure, we were owed a refund for 2 nights. After waiting 2 weeks for some indication of how and when we'd receive our refund, I began contacting the property manager by phone and email. She was not responsive to voicemail or email messages for almost 10 days. I then decided to email VRBO customer support. Within hours the property manager responded. By then VRBO had taken responsibility to transfer the refund back to my c/c. Apart from getting us $75 from the property owner to compensate for the above deficiencies, the property manager was asleep at the wheel for any other renter support. The property manager also needs to take responsibility on the front end to assure properties are clean, functioning, and ready for renters, when they arrive.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rookie Renter...totally impressed!

  • 5 of 5

This was my first rental and I was impressed with the house and all the extras. We loved the balconies! The kitchen was totally stocked with all the necessities and then some. The kitchen had plenty of kitchen utensils, plasticware with matching lids, glass ware, pots, pans, and bakeware. The outdoor grill had lighter fluid, charcoal, and a lighter. The bathroom had plenty of towels, tp, and cleaning supplies. The closet had extra blankets, pillows, and towels.The outdoor fireplace was warm inviting.The storage area had bean bag toss, swim noodles, ice chest, boogie boards, fishing poles, beach towels, beach umbrella. The house also had board games, books, cards, and constellation map. Lots of extras and I would rent this house again. We parked our car in the garage and vacationed. Our rental was 1 house from the bay and 10 houses from the beach, 5 houses from coffee shop and market and pizza. We walked everywhere because it was close to everything that we needed.

Bring a volleyball because there are sand courts at the beach and the bay near the house.

The house had 4 flatscreen TV's and 1 old school TV with kid movies. The house also had huge closets and storage area. Keyless entry was nice with 4 teenagers and 3 adults entering a digital code to open the door just made things that much easier.

The cons, lots and lots of stairs and the tandem garage was smaller than expected. The beds were stiff but mattresses are unique to the individual.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property near open ocean and bay.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice property with many amenities. Enjoyed both balconies very much. Great location within walking distance of beaches, bike, rentals, pubs, Belmont Park, markets and shops. Wifi, Cable and Roku did not work well in the downstairs bedrooms, but for us was not used much. Having a washer and dryer on the property is a huge plus. really enjoyed the outdoor fireplace as well. I would definitely do this again. Ginny Jones, property manager is wonderful to work with as well.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was awesome

  • 5 of 5

Great location and plenty of room for the 7 of us that stayed there. Having a kitchen and 3 full bathrooms was a huge hit too. We rented a mini van and had a hard time trying to park it in the garage but we made it fit. Great place overall and right on the beach. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: recommended

Enjoy the world-famous boardwalk. Sea World is 5-minutes away and the San Diego Zoo is 15 minutes. Drive the historic Pacific Coast Highway through the old surf towns of Encinitas, Solana Beach and Cardiff. Downtown San Diego is 12 minutes away with nightlife, and next door to Mission Beach is Pacific Beach, attracting a younger crowd.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$385
$2,700
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
$6,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,650
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Housekeeping $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties