Beautiful stone home with large back porch in beautiful east York County countryside. Unimpeded views of country from back porch. 3 acres of landscaped lawn from the front. 5 bedrooms in main house. Master bedroom is a private suite with bath & dressing room. Fully furnished eat-in country kitchen. Large dining room with country view out French doors onto the back porch. 3 acres for children to run around and play outdoors. Includes all conveniences.
- Farmhouse3200 sq. ft.
- Half Baths2
- Min Stay4 - 6 nights
5-Bedroom Georgian Stone Farmhouse On 3+ Private Acres
- Calendar last updated:
- Oct 17, 2018
Jim and I manage the Family Friendly Farmhouse for our sister-in-law, who owns the home. We are both York County natives and I grew up on a dairy farm about two miles east of this home. In fact, I babysat the children who lived here in the 1970s! We live in the suburbs of York and began hosting an Airbnb apartment in our home two years ago. We now manage the Farmhouse and a third Airbnb apartment in Downtown York. Jim is a "jack of all trades" who can fix most of the basic problems that an old house has. My love is decorating and gardening. Our goal is to make you vacation as stress free as possible.
Kathryn purchased this Farmhouse in 1999
Why Kathryn chose York
(From Gale, the owner) This stone house is larger than the typical farmhouse in the Pennsylvania countryside. It has a unique & private setting away from the road. The quarry, from which stone was extracted for the home's construction, borders the property. Most stone homes we surveyed were located on busy streets or in downtown areas. We like the private setting within an easy distance of Rt. 30, approximately one (1) mile away.
What makes this Farmhouse unique
(From Gale, the owner) Sitting on the back porch at night with a glass of wine, listening to the crickets is just - relaxing. We enjoy wandering around the yard looking at the flower gardens which are interesting in all seasons.
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Fantastic place to stay,
Enjoyed our stay in Pennsylvania, the house was comfortable, convenient, we had plenty of room for a family dinner. Can't wait to come back next year.
Thanks so much for understanding that we were rushing to clean up from my son's wedding and I was called away to a family emergency. We hope to host you again next year.
best family vacation
when you can keep 3 teenager entertained something was right. amazing house location was spot on. hope to do it again!
Thanks, Gary. And you had nearly perfect weather, too. Hope you can come back next year. Kathryn
Restful country farmhouse estate.
Thank you for opening your home to us. The week that we spent there was restful and comfortable. I felt like I was staying at my aunt's house because it was so warm and inviting. The back porch was where we spent most of our time. Great views of the countryside.
Thanks for the review. We were glad to be able to offer a restful retreat from your hard labor during your stay in York 😁 Kathryn
I will definitely be returning if traveling back to York!
We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Kathryn checked on us multiple times during our visit to see if we needed anything and to see how we were doing. Everything was as it should have been and I would highly recommend staying here to friends and family in the future. Very clean inside and out and the back porch made for a very relaxing area to watch the local wildlife. Deer came within 20 yards while sitting on the porch. Very peaceful environment. We loved it :)
Thanks, John. We worked hard on the recent remodel and update to provide a relaxing stay in the country for our guests. Hope to see you again. Kathryn
A Suite would have been Sweeter
Upon arrival the propery appeared to be not as well maintained as in the photos. The outside grounds were unkept and the owner decided to garden after we arrived. Unfortunately she did some weeding directly in front of the property and left the weeds in two big piles.
The inside of the property was also unkept, my son had to go around sweeping and getting rid of cob webs under the furniture and in the corners of some rooms. The kitchen appeared to have items for use for our stay, but upon further inspection items were out of date, some going as far back as 2011. The refrigerator freezer was unusable and would not keep anything we place in it. Apparently this is common, as told by the tenant that lives over the garage. One of the most upsetting things for me in the kitchen was there was an infestation of large, black ants and I was afraid to have my grandson in that area. This was obviously a problem prior to arrival as I noticed some ant traps on the floor and in the corners of the counters.
The tenant was not something that was covered and shocked us that he had access to the entire home. The kitchen door led directly up to his bedroom and down go the garage/laundry area and was unlockable. The garage was in disarray and the laundry area smelled of mold. I imagine this is what gave off the musky smell that was upstairs in our living area. Unfortunaly, several of my family members had severe headaches...I'm sure it was due to the mold & musky smell.
The bedrooms were mostly what was advertised, but one bed was almost unbearable as it rocked and squeaked with the slightest movement. The children's room was supposed to have 3 beds, but only had a bunk bed and a mattress to throw down on the floor.
The bathrooms were fine, but one did not have a window covering and anyone outside could see directly in. The house had a lot of personal belongings, consisting of books, photographs, clothes, shoes, etc. It made us feel like we were invading someone's home that we did not know.
The last thing I will mention is the owner asked my husband to start a load of towels and to remove all bedding before we left. I will stay in a suite next time, as it will allow me more comfort, no risk of a stranger walking into the kitchen, no bug infestations, better mattresses, and no cleaning...just to mention a few things.
I hope this review will encourage the owner to reconsider how the farmhouse is prepared for guests and allow them a better experience.
Update: July 2018 - Many of you have asked about the "Caretaker" mentioned in several reviews. The "Caretaker" no longer lives in the apartment over the garage. It is unoccupied and will remain so. You have the entire home to yourself. As the Property Manager, I will only "appear" at the house if you request it or if maintenance is required. You will be notified in advance.
Since this review was written, the entire house has received a thorough cleaning, updating and remodel. You will love your stay here. Kathryn, Property Manager
Melissa and Arthur,
Sorry you did not find The FarmHouse satisfactory althought I was at the house three times and you mentioned none of these complaints. Typically, if guests have an issue, they simply call and let us know. We live 15 minutes away and could have taken care of any issues immediately. The house is advertised as 4 bedrooms and actually has 5 bedrooms. The extra bed from the children's room is in a downstairs bedroom we set up in what was an office to accommodate folks who find it difficult to make it up and down the stairs to the 2nd floor bedrooms.
There is a brand new chest freezer in the basement so I am unclear why you would not have made use of it. The Subzero freezer was recently repaired and had you informed us it was a problem, the repairman would have been out the next day.
It is late summer, you are staying at a farm, that has at least 10 gardens which makes it likely there will be weeds somewhere. I am sorry you found it offensive that I did some yard work while you were there.
The house does have a tenant in the apartment over the garage and this is CLEARLY STATED IN THE AD and as he does maintenance in and around the house, he has a key. He always coordinates with guests prior to entering the house as would any maintenance service.
Sorry for an inconvenience you may have suffered, but your best response is always to call the owner to let them know there is an issue. Since you can see there are many very nice reviews about the house, it is obvious these circumstances were unusual and we should have been informed immediately. We have a cleaning service as do most VRBO rentals and if something is amiss, every owner wants to know ASAP. If nothing else, we would have refunded your money so you could stay in your suite where you would have been more comfortable.
Gale and Gardner
Stone Farm House Stay
We had a great time in your beautiful home. We were having an early Thanksgiving celebration/family reunion. The house was perfect, we especially enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings and the back deck in the day.
Thank you so much Gale, we will definitely be back.
Penny M/ New York
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We always like to hear our guests enjoyed their stay. The country setting is beautiful during all seasons so we are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the porch. We've been lucky this year with reasonably warm days even into November. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to your future visits!
Gale and Gardner
This 5 bedroom stone farmhouse is located in the serene countryside of east York County near the Susquehanna River & within an easy distance of Downtown York or Lancaster county sightseeing and outlet shopping. Perfect for that weekend getaway or business travelers to Harley Davidson or other local businesses. 20 minutes to Dutch Wonderland, an hour to Hershey Park or Gettysburg, the farmhouse provides a convenient, yet private home base from which to enjoy the delights of the Amish country and York County countryside. The FarmHouse is also a place to just relax, on the back porch with your favorite beverage or take a chair to one of the many private views and read a book while listening to nature around you. Many families enjoy bringing the extended family together in the comfort of a house large enough that you can always find a private spot.
All holiday weeks require a minimum weekly rental. If your stay is within two weeks and there is no weekly booking for that week, please send an email email@example.com to inquire about stays of 5 days or less. $49 of the booking fee is property damage protection.