Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Come play and relax at this oasis on the route to 18 Road! Must look!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Studio Bunkhouse on Private Land - Sleeps 4 or 6

If you are looking for an outdoor oasis in Fruita, you have found it! This studio includes two queen beds and sleeps four comfortably. An optional air mattress is available to extend sleeping space. Please reference rate information for more than four.

Located on a huge piece of private land, this property is all about the outdoors and enjoying the people you are with. Included is a pond, fire pit, horseshoe pit, cornhole, a disk golf course and outdoor bar. Throw in the charcoal and gas BBQ grills with a covered outdoor dining area and you have the makings for a very relaxing vacation.

While you might be leaving the TV behind, the property does have WIFI so that you will not completely disconnect.

The owners, Winne and Jim, are on site and love to host travelers from all over the world!

More Details

Property Manager
Michelle Melgares
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2017

About Michelle Melgares

My name is Michelle and I own Fruita CrashPad a vacation rental management company in Fruita, Colorado. I grew up in the area and feel very fortunate to get to call it home. I love cycling and want to share the great things this community has to offer with the world. If you can do it outdoors, you can do it within 45 minutes of Fruita. Skiing and wine country tourism too!

Michelle Melgares purchased this studio in 2001

Why Michelle Melgares chose Northwest

This is by far on of my favorite properties. When you are here, you really feel like you are away from it all but really you are close to anything that you would need. Most importantly, it is on the route to our famous 18 Road mountain bike trails.

What makes this studio unique

Fruita is in the high desert and this property is shaded with mature trees, it really is an oasis in the middle of the desert!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time at the bunkhouse. I’d like to thank you and the owners for an enjoyable trip. We all had a blast and hope to return!
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Fruita Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom is located in the studio.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 6
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Property can sleep six with an air mattress, however the rate is higher. Please check rates. Also, additional camping space is available for an extra fee. Please inquire for a specific quote.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Come play and relax at this oasis on the route to 18 Road! Must look!!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 15 reviews
5

Great place to stay with wonderful hosts!

  • 5 of 5

The bunkhouse has aircon, just what we needed at this time of the year. Great surroundings, our 4 year old son really enjoyed playing in the shade close to the pond. Winnie and Jim are very friendly and helpful hosts. We can defiantly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Martin! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Bunkhouse! And we agree - Winnie and Jim are wonderful hosts - two of our favorite people!! Please come see us again! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5

Such a perfect spot! We enjoyed a great girls weekend of mountain biking and pizza! Thank you so much for your hospitality. :)

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stacey! Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope you will come back and see us again soon! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Bunkhouse, Fruita CO

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bunkhouse. The property is located in a rural part of Fruita, and we appreciated being in a beautiful, quiet setting while still in close proximity to town and many of the biking trails in the area. The owners are very lovely hosts, and it was a pleasure to meet them. We felt very welcome! We would love to return and stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the bunkhouse Kathleen! I hope you come back and stay again some day! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
5

The perfect Fruita Hangout Spot

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at The Bunkhouse this spring for a dudes bike trip. This was the perfect place to stay. Comfortable lodging, close to trails & town. Great spot to grill, relax under the trees by the pond, or talk with friends round the fire. Plenty of bike wash & storage locations on property. Michelle was a great facilitator & the on-property hosts were amazing.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed the property and also enjoyed meeting Winnie and Jim. They really are gracious hosts and great people too! We hope you are able to come back and see us again! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great pad for Fruita area adventures

  • 3 of 5

The Fruita bunkhouse is a tastefully re-done loft. It's in a great location for both hitting the mountain bike trails up 18 road, and a quick bike/drive into Fruita. There were 4 of us that stayed comfortably and enjoyed some awesome mountain biking.

However, a couple points from our trip:

-Great location, nicely redone loft. Excellent shower.

-We didn't expect the homeowners to live 5 feet away from the bunkhouse. This wasn't an issue (very, very nice couple, we had a great time with them and they were very accommodating and friendly), but something to note.

-The homeowners didn't know we were coming. We showed up and they were shocked that we were there, as they weren't expecting anyone for a few more days, which made for an uncomfortable initial greeting.

-We didn't have garage access. This was a selling point for us for bike maintenance and secure bike storage, but we ended up locking bikes outside.

-The bunkhouse hadn't been cleaned from the previous renters. Not a big deal, we went into town for a few hours and came back and it was ready.

-There is no stove, and the fridge is extremely small for 4 guys. However the BBQ and hotplate worked well.

-Mattresses could definitely use an upgrade.

Overall, we had a fun stay!

One thing that I found irritating with this property which I had not experienced with any other VRBO property, is that I have been asked to write a review on it 6 or 7 times since we checked out less then 2 weeks ago. I finally broke down and wrote one.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cam, We regret that you had an experience at our property that was less than we like to deliver. We pride ourselves in always being the best that we can be and providing clean and comfortable accommodations for our guests. On the day of your arrival, we had a miscommunication with our cleaner and we regret that this delayed your check in by one hour. This is not the type of experience we like to provide. While knowing we missed the mark, we tried to make up for it by purchasing your group dinner at the famous Hot Tomato and we hope you all enjoyed your experience there- it is always a fun place! We also agree that this property is well suited for one or two couples. Or perhaps, two friends, or maybe a max of three friends. Winnie and Jim (the property owners) are great! Our guests rave about them in our guest book and really love the peaceful tranquility that the property provides along with its safety of being off of the beatin' path but only minutes from town. They are very gracious and generous people to open up their slice of heaven to travelers. It is always our goal that our guests enjoy their stay - and again, we are still very apologetic regarding your less than stellar stay. We also regret that VRBO has asked for your review so many times and that became bothersome, we will contact them about that and see if there is anything that can be done to change their practices.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway for the family!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing place and hosts! A great location for kids (and adults alike) to explore. Feels like you are out in the country but never too far away from town with a grocery store and great places to eat. We had a fantastic time on our trip, much thanks to Jim and Winnie and their beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Chris!! Please come see us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Grand Junction Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Suds Brothers Brewery
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Adobe Creek Golf Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-70
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hot Tomato Cafe
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Powderhorn Ski Resort
Car: recommended

Fruita is an outdoor enthusiast’s haven! We are a world class destination for mountain biking, road cycling, white water rafting, hiking, dinosaur tourism and of course if you climb... you must climb Independence Rock in our back yard, the Colorado National Monument. Fruita is also home to a brand new Community Center with exercise facilities, basketball courts, an indoor and outdoor swimming pool and much more! Our mild climate makes this a popular destination year round, but we must say that spring and fall are the best times to come see us! Enjoy one of our many festivals, come to listen to music at Country Jam or Rock Jam, or just come to tour the vineyards in nearby Palisade. Whenever you come, we know you are gonna love it!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fruita Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Sale!!
Jun 20 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$115
$750
 
 
Winter Rates
Nov 30 2017 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$115
$749
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning and Restocking $50
Tax Rate 4.9%

Six can stay at a rate of $150 per night. Camping spots with running water and outhouse also available for a fee. Call or inquire for a quote if combining the Bunkhouse with camping spots. Rates and fees are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Reservations are not considered “guaranteed” until $300 initial payment has been received.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties