Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

This Studio Is Located Close To Many Points Of Interest!

This Botanically landscaped home, on 4 acres, sleeps 2 people in a very comfy queen size bed upstairs & has a full use kitchen, including all cooking utensils and cooking needs. It includes cable T.V., washer & dryer, beach towels, umbrella's,paper goods, comfortable living space and an outdoor grill!


Amenities

Pahoa Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • The bedroom is an upstairs loft area and has a beautyrest pillow top comfort, queen size bed, including clothes hanging area and desk area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
average rating of 4.9714284 based on 38 reviews
Lake Villa, IL
5

Splendid Garden Oasis

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cottage in the rainforest. Beautiful fresh flowers throughout from the gardens. The cottage is very private making it a perfect get-away from home. Cindy and Jerry are great hosts and available when needed. They have a wealth of knowledge of the area.

The kitchen is well stocked with equipment if you choose to make some meals at the cottage. Otherwise Pahoa is just a few minutes away with great little restaurants. The bedroom upstairs has a separate lanai that overlooks a peaceful fern garden. We enjoyed a nice soak in the hot tub every night stargazing and listening to the local frogs.

The grounds are spectacular. Colors and textures abound inviting you to walk the paths on the property. It’s location is convenient for exploring Volcano National Park, the Puna area, and Hilo.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laurie, I thank you and Chris for returning to our Cottage again! Thank you so much to, for a detailed review of our place! We love our place very much and really enjoy when our guests enjoy it as much as we do! See you next time! Stay in touch! Aloha, Jerry & Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute Cottage Surrounded by Beautiful Tropical Rainforest

  • 5 of 5

It was wonderful! In January, my wife and I spent 1 week at this cute cottage south of Hilo. Upon arrival, we found ourselves totally surrounded by beautiful rainforest, meandering paths and colorful flowers with no close neighbors.

Inside, the cottage is furnished with comfortable furniture, many pictures and a very large screen television set. A deck just outside the living area provides access to comfortable chairs and the always ready hot tub. The loft bedroom makes you feel like you are in a tree house within the rainforest with a deck and comfortable chairs if you want to read or just enjoy the surroundings.

Don't miss the Koi pond, the tree frogs, and the middle of the forest gazebo.

Every thing for cooking is available including a gas fired barbecue though we ate out most nights at one of the several good restaurants in the nearby town of Pahoa. We found local music almost every night.

The owners, Jerry and Cindy, were most helpful in providing directions to local attractions and even got our iPAD to function with a few critical adjustments.

It is a great place to call home for a few days. We highly recommend this cottage to any couple wanting something more in Hawaii than a condo with a pool.

We loved it!

Chuck & Eloise

Los Altos, CA

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautful place, hot jacuzzi, extraordinary botanical gardens!!❤️❤️👍👍

  • 5 of 5

Amazing HomeAway rental outside Pahoa on the big island- felt like staying in a well loved and cared for botanical gardens with our own residence with two stories, three decks, a hot jacuzzi, a kitchen and a coffee maker and cheaper then a hotel. What else is there!? Cindy was great and welcoming. We highly recommend this beautiful place and can’t wait to come back! Aloha!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were awesome guests and I am happy you were able to complete your workshop and still enjoy the East side of this island! Yes, please come and stay with us, if you can, on your next visit to the Big Island! Aloha Nui Loa, till we meet again, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One Of My Best Stays Ever

  • 5 of 5

Amazing Location

Private space

Amazing Hosts

I'm From Alaska and really appreciate nature and being out of the busy towns.

The Vibe the location the people that part of the island it was all just perfect.

Thanks again for being so accommodating and for providing such an amazing place to stay for such a reasonable price compared to some silly resort. I've been to the Big island enough to know enough and man this place is a freaking GEM.

I'm Sure my wife and I will be back! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were awesome as well and you know you ar welcome back any time! Thank you for such s beautiful review, we really appreciate this! A Hui Hou! ( until we meet again)! Aloha, Jerry & Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Milwaukee, WI, USA
5

A Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this really charming cottage. We came in at night and got lost, but Cindy stayed on the phone to guide us safely there! In the morning, in the daylight, it was much more obvious. The street they're on is not paved, and the short ride was a bit of an adventure, but we just had to get used to it. Cindy and Jerry were extremely gracious and very helpful....gave us good advice, and when we got lost again, trying to find someplace they had recommended, they were so responsive and got us going in the right direction. The cottage was immaculate, the kitchen was well stocked with good quality utensils, dishes, pots and pans, etc. They even had disposable storage containers which were great for packing our lunches. The hot tub was awesome! The cottage sits on their 5 acre property, but it felt completely private and we were far enough away from their house that we didn't even know it was there until they told us. The gardens are fabulous! We really felt we were in a tropical rain forest. There were lots of walking paths and we spent quite a while just wandering on the different paths, admiring the enormous amount of work they have put in to making their property so lush and beautiful. Our only complaint, was their neighbors had some roosters that loved to crow in the middle of the night. With the noise from the birds plus the roosters, I really needed my earplugs, which helped quite a bit. My husband didn't mind the noise, as he enjoyed the feeling of being with nature, but I'm a much more sensitive sleeper, and the noise kept me up. So, definitely choose this place as your home away from home, but bring some earplugs just in case! Aloha to Cindy and Jerry. We loved our stay, and would definitely stay by them again!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you both and we would welcome you back any time! I am sorry the roosters were annoying to you. Unfortunately we can't control what neighbors do on their own property and they are an acre away from the Cottage. So sorry you were very bothered by them, none of our other guests have complained about the roosters and the " birds" you ought you were hearing at night, are the Coqui tree frogs! Yes you are in a rainforest, when you stay with us and these ar sounds of the jungle! We appreciate your honesty in your review of our place and we're happy to hear, you would return in the future! Aloha to you both, Jerry & Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage house

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is literally amazing. We got the whole two floors, a carport spot, and thoroughly enjoyed all amenities (gardens, hot tub, etc.). The location is near Volcanoes national park, and the Pahoa downtown is a nice cute town. We were able to go to the neighboring town to see lava flowing into the ocean! One thing to keep in mind though: the driveway is very rough with huge rocks and might be hard to get through if you don't have a Jeep. Otherwise we highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kimberly, thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed our Cottage! I think though, you mixed up Hapuu road, with our driveway. The county dirt road, is a bit rough, but does not require a 4wheel drive vehicle. Actually, all of our neighbors have typical cars and drive the road with no problem. As you enter through our gate, we are graveled all the way to the Cottage! No worries though, you are only our third guest ever, to arrive in a Jeep! Anyhow, if you are ever back in our neighborhood, stop in and say Aloha! Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Cindy Andersen
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 9, 2018

About Cindy Andersen

My husband (in the blue shirt) Jerry and I (in the silver dress) Cindy, had the best time on our property, when our daughter and son in law, were married on our Leilani property, in 2008!

We are a very family oriented couple, as you can tell and are so happy to be able to spend some of the best years in Hawaii! We were married in 1978, in Southern Calif., also born and raised there and honeymooned in the islands. We always new that someday we would return to Hawaii! As we now have our main home on this property, we enjoy sharing our O'hana (family) Cottage, with visitors from all over the world!

We work hard to make each persons stay enjoyable!

We are palm & flora nursery people, who have owned our own nursery in Fallbrook, CA. for over 20 years. The botanical experience here alone and the peacefulness of our garden, is what keeps our visitors returning!

Please contact us if you need something special arranged, to make your stay with us as memorable as possible! Mahalo, Jerry & Cindy

Cindy Andersen purchased this cottage in 2001

Why Cindy Andersen chose Pahoa

We fell absolutely in love with this property and worked very hard to refurbish the house and create our garden. After living in the Cottage, it was hard for us to make our move into the Main House that we now reside in, on the 3rd acre. After moving into the Main House, we knew we needed to share the Cottage with everyone we could!

We are pretty centrally located on the Big Island of Hawaii. We are approx. 30 minutes south of Hilo Airport, Approx. 3 hrs from Kona, either way you travel, 5 min. from Pahoa, a great little historic Hawaiian town,15 minutes to Kapoho and the best snorkeling of the islands, 20 minutes to the volcanic thermal heated hot ponds and clothing optional Kahena beach and Approx. 45 minutes to Volcano National Park and of course everything in between!

Or you can just hang out on our property, enjoy the beautifully landscaped trails, the relaxing Cabana, for reading or napping, enjoy the hot tub and enjoy grilling your own evening meal, as the Coqui frogs lull you to sleep!!!

What makes this cottage unique

When we first pulled up the driveway of the Cottage House, we were blown away by the jungle it really was! We knew exactly what we were going to do do, to truly make our mark on the 'rock' so to speak! I especially loved that Hawaii has no snakes, so that made me work right along side of my husband, in this outdoor wilderness in the tropics!

We live between the Leilani Cottage property and now another property on the Big island, so we do leave the property often, to give our guests, complete privacy, most of the time, in the Cottage House. We can guide you verbally to points of interest and other points, some visitors never see on their own. We can also help you to plan your trip here, so you can maximize as many sites as possible during your stay. Even pick up a bottle of Champagne, or provide a surprise meal, for a special someone! (This of course would be an extra fee, check with Cindy on this)

We really enjoy, when we are not off island ourselves, visiting family on the mainland, personally greeting each visitor to our home!

We think you will enjoy your visit and return often, as many of our other guests have!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay in your house! Although we had lots of rain, we enjoyed your paradise and silent atmosphere!

We made the lava flowing tour yesterday and came back very late.

I am sure we will return some day!

Thanks for everything!
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 3

Map

Car: recommended

Volcanoes National Park, for live active Lava viewing/hiking!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $300

Our rates do not change according to seasons or events on the Island. We keep our rates at the above rate, year round.
Please note that there is a cleaning fee required, not in this tax quote, that is in the amount of $95.00 for a stay of up to two (2) weeks. Longer stays require larger cleaning fee.

All prices subject to change without notice. Aloha!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties