Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Gulf-Front Cottage Located On Beautiful White-Sand Beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom Cottage Directly On Private, (Sleeps 4) White-Sand Beach

Completely renovated Gulf-front/beach-front cottage allows you to rest or play as much as you want and literally get away from it all. Enjoy spectacular sunsets from the screened porch that will make you feel like you're on a luxury cruise ship plying the tropics. Walk the beach from one end to the other collecting sea shells or swimming or sunbathing.

The home is smartly and comfortably furnished. The bathroom allows you to take a shower while looking out to the Gulf and beach. Bedroom furniture is relaxing and new. Prepare meals in the kitchen while gazing out to the Gulf and sparkling white-sand beach or while visiting with family on the screened porch or in the living room.

Home is a perfect get-away for major holidays or an FSU football game. Or drop a child off at an FSU camp while you and your spouse stay a week at the beach! The cottage is great for a family of four or two couples. Relax and do nothing but watch dolphins and walk the beach or fish or jet ski or play golf nearby or go antiquing at nearby towns (Carrabelle, Crawfordville, Apalachicola) and of course, come to eat the best and freshest seafood in the world!

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Chris

Was first introduced to Alligator Point by local friends from Tallahassee in the mid-1990's and have been coming to Alligator Point every year since for the Memorial Day Weekend Captain Jack Fishing Tournament that is held at the Alligator Point Marina. By the way, you must visit the End Of The World Oasis at Alligator Point Marina and have a deep fried Grouper sandwich -- the absolute best! And if you catch it, they'll even fry it up fresh!

Chris purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Chris chose Alligator Point

Because of my familiarity with Alligator Point and the many good times I've had here, decided to finally buy a home. After visiting several homes, all it took was one time out on the screened porch of my cottage to know that this was the place. I always feel like I'm right over the Gulf when sitting on the screened porch. And not only are the sunsets spectacular, but nights with a full moon are also just as stunning!

What makes this cottage unique

The views of the gulf and the beach are priceless not to mention the times that I've been able to sit on the screened porch sipping my favorite beverage and actually watch dolphins swim almost onto the beach as they feed in the very shallow water. Absolutely beautiful!


Alligator Point Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom is fully furnished with the following: 1. Combination shower and bath tub 2. Plenty of towels 3. Roomy counter and cabinet space for toiletry items 4. Toilet paper and Kleenex 5. Bar soap and hand soap 6. Cleaning supplies and paper towels 7. Plunger 8. Plenty of space in shower for toiletry items 9. Removable shower head with adjustable settings 10.Window that allows a view of the gulf and white sand beach while showering
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both bedrooms have the following: 1. Closets with linens and extra pillows 2. Ceiling fans 3. Nightstands with reading lamps 4. Dresser for unpacking clothes 5. Living room has a large sectional sofa; inside of sofa is a queen-sized pullout bed.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
If you're looking for "Old Florida" and something "off the beaten path" with a terrific beach and no crowds then Alligator Point is the place!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Spectacular Gulf-Front Cottage Located On Beautiful White-Sand Beach
average rating of 4.7659574 based on 47 reviews

Lovely and quiet!

  • 4 of 5

The property is right on the beach, exactly what we were looking for. The week we stayed (first week of October), there were not many people at all...also what we were hoping for. The house is just as described to make our visit great! We had a lovely week and enjoyed the house. We would definitely recommend and stay there again if we get the opportunity!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice little quiet beach house!

  • 5 of 5

Just what we needed. The house was older but very well kept. We enjoyed crabbing with traps for the first time ever and had a couple meals of crab during our stay. Good AC, excellent internet and an unobstructed water view! Perfect for two people.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

With some TLC this could be a wonderful place.

  • 3 of 5

The location is fantastic! The screened porch is the best feature about the house. Some updating would have made our visit perfect. There were good sized roaches roaming about, and the kitchen sink baskets were broken (that's such an easy fix). We just saw signs of neglect that could have been so easily resolved. Lift the sofa cushions and it was obvious they had never been vacuumed, lots and lots of sand there, so we were unable to use the fold out sofa. The two bedrooms were very clean, fresh and comfortable. The view, unsurpassable. A nice perk was the fact that a sea turtle hatchling release was happening just one house away! So fantastic. Also, we witnessed something we had never seen before, the dolphins were rushing the mullet up to shore as a team effort. They were coming in about two feet of water. That was fantastic to witness! Just a new rug and sofa in the LR would do wonders for this place. AE

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay, Angela and glad you had a mostly pleasant stay. My apologies for the bugs and the issue with the sofa. I am actually going to refurbish the sofa so that will be getting a nice face lift. You mentioned at the end of your post something about needing a new rug but in the main part of your message didn't see any specific comment with what you thought was wrong with it. Know the last time I stayed there (in May) that it seemed fine but perhaps something has happened since then that my cleaning lady didn't report. Also, will let my cleaning lady (she is my "eyes and ears" since she is there frequently and has cleaned the home since I purchased it in 2011) know about the kitchen dish drying rack (I'm guessing that's what you meant by "kitchen sink baskets"?). Regarding the insects/pest, I have a monthly insect/pest control service for the house and have made them aware of your message. As you know, while the house is on the beach, it is still located in a very rural area and while all is done to make sure these insects and pests are kept at bay and out of the house, it's not a 100% fool-proof situation. Moreover, I'm not sure if you meant you saw live insects/pests or if they were dead ones but as you know, sometimes they will still get inside the house but quickly get killed after they come into contact with the insect repellant and their remains will be left behind. Again, very sorry you had to experience that and appreciate you reporting this and will let my bug folks know about this and get on it. Thanks again for your stay, Angela.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Most relaxing vacation we have ever taken.

  • 4 of 5

We had the best time. It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. My husband enjoyed being able to fish right out side the house. The beach was so secluded. That was exactly what we were looking for. Enjoyed every thing about it. Even the night we lost power. We will definitely be back

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relax at the beach

  • 5 of 5

If you want to be close to the water and sand this is the place. The porch is the next best thing. A chaise would be great for a nap on the porch. Awesome views. House is well equipped has everything you will need for your stay. Had no problems. A great place.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful, serene, God's beauty all around.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay! The owner has a real gem here. They have every thing you could ever want here at this rental house. All the necessities were provided. You are right on the beach. Peaceful and quite place. You feel like you have you own long stretch of beach in front of you and to each side of you. At low tide you can venture down to the right side our the renal and go out on the sandbar and find lots of shells and sand dollars and coral. The dolphins come right up to the front of the rental and play every morning early. It rained our last morning there and we got to see the most amazing Double Rainbow!!! Would recommend this to anyone. Great dealing with Chris. He made sure our stay was comfortable and he answered all the questions I had (with patience and understanding) before our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
42.1 Miles
Tallahassee Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
8.4 Miles
Angelo & Son's Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Golf
18.6 Miles
St. James Bay Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
8.4 Miles
Angelo & Son's Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Beach
In front of rental property
Car: necessary

Located just South of Tallahassee, Alligator Point is a non-commercial beach made up of single family vacation homes. There are no commercial enterprises(other than the marina) on the peninsula. Most the time you feel like you have a private beach all to yourself. It's like taking a step back in time.

There is ample wildlife to observe, miles of beach to explore and close to restaurants and shopping. The fishing is great right off the beach or on any number of charter boats in nearby Panacea or Carrabelle. It is adjacent to a State Park and federal wildlife area with picnic areas and hiking trails. Also, Wakulla Springs State Park, the Panacea Gulf Aquarium and the pre-Civil War port town of Apalachicola are all terrific day trips.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

1. Rentals are Saturday (check-in: 3pm) to Saturday (check-out: 10am)
2. 50% of rental fee due at booking/other 50% due no later than 30 days before check in
3. Reservations cancelled less than 30 days prior to check-in will forfeit all rental fees
4. $250 refundable security deposit due at booking
5. $75 Cleaning Fee added to all reservations
6. 9% sales tax due on rental amount only

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties