Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

We reduced our rate $1500 for the week of 6/18 -6/25! Reserve your week now,

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom, 3 1/2 bathroom home on the ocean

Surfs Up is a beautiful oceanfront location tucked in the middle of Flora's Bluff on Bald Head Island. The main home consists of 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths and there is a separate 1 bedroom and 1 bath 'crofter.'

The beach is right across the cul-de-sac with access through a public walkway. Everyone can congregate around the kitchen bar, large dining room table or relax on the comfortable sofas and watch some television. The kitchen is fully equipped with enough utensils, cookware and dishes to make you feel right at home. A large screened in porch with plenty of seating is the perfect spot to relax and feel the ocean breeze.

On the second floor, you will find the master bedroom with a king sized bed, private bath and a private oceanfront balcony. Just down the hallway is a queen sized bed with a shared bathroom. The upstairs has even more accommodations with another queen bed and two twin beds. A fourth bedroom located in the separate guest house called a 'crofter' is the perfect spot for guest(s) that want a little more privacy. With a queen bed and a private bath, your guests can come and go without disturbing anyone in the main house.

Sleeps 10: K/Q/Q/Q/T/T

Two Four-passenger golf carts

More Details

Property Manager
Surfs Up BHI, LLC
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

just wanted to drop you a note and tell you how much we enjoyed the house. It worked out perfectly for our group with the “bunk room” upstairs. We loved the access to the beach. It was so nice to be able to just walk to the beach without planning a big production to get there, especially with teenagers that don’t wake up early! We grilled fish or steaks almost every night and were very impressed with the nice grill you have. The golf carts were very nice and in top shape. The bikes were fine, my wife and I used them on several occasions. We will certainly keep this house in mind next year when we are looking for a place to stay.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Flora's Bluff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom with private bath w/ jacuzzi tub
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 3 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

We reduced our rate $1500 for the week of 6/18 -6/25! Reserve your week now,
average rating of 4.714286 based on 15 reviews
4

Perfect for a large group

  • 4 of 5

This was a great house for our large group of girls to stay for a wedding. It is right on the beach! Our only issues were the golf carts. One stopped working and both were extremely slow to the point where we were constantly passed by other drivers. Otherwise, it was perfect for us :) Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have since purchased a new cart. Sorry for any inconvience it may have cause. Surf's Up BHI, LLC
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Concord, NC
5

Beautiful home with lots of space

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at this home for a girls trip and it was just what we needed. Lots of space and very clean. The crofter is very cozy and you can watch the sunset from the beach which is a short walk away. Would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT House for a get-together

  • 5 of 5

This is my favorite house we have stayed at on BHI - perfect for large groups looking to socialize with the open floor plan (kitchen spills into dining room spills into living room) and the HUGE porch, much of which is screened with an ocean view. It is tastefully decorated and stocked with the pots & pans you'll need in the kitchen. There are also bedroom options with lots of privacy - one does not have as much privacy in the loft, but can be lots of fun as well. There were even enough bathrooms for 10 people! Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely beach home for friends and family!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at Surf's Up for 2 years in a row and loved it! We filled up the house with 12 people and were comfortable for the whole week. (In-laws included). The owners were responsive to any of our needs or questions. The location is perfect in Flora's Bluff, which is the best place to be on the Island. Located on a cul de sac I felt like we were tucked away in our own little world and just steps from the beach.

We have been coming to BHI for almost 17 years and this has been our favorite home so far!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Great location, BUT

  • 3 of 5

I don't know what happened to the golf carts between July, the last reviewer's comments and our stay in the middle of August. The first golf cart died while we were out and had to be towed for repairs. The second one had a split front tire . The owners had a new one put on, but that cart also died while we were at the other end of the island. The location is great as far as going to the beach, can't get much closer. The house is roomy, kitchen well stocked with dishes etc. the ice maker in the refrigerator doesn't work, nor does the large ice maker next to the refrig. Bathrooms need updating, curtain rod in the master bedroom was coming off the wall. Carpets badly need cleaning or replacing. Fire alarm started "chirping" at 2 am, no replace,ENT battery to be found, a number of lamps had burned out bulbs. We have stayed every year at a different home on Bald Head and I would say for paying the same price you can probably find a home that is better maintained. The owners response was, you can buy ice, we usually go down after the season and do maintenance. I expected everything to be clean and in working order

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for pointing out these issues. As a result we've addressed all of them and in fact changed the company we use to maintain our carts.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

2 Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here the week of July 4th (two couples and 5 teenagers) and we had plenty of room. The location was great, mid-island with great access to the beach. It had everything we needed to enjoy a worry free week at the beach. The golf carts were in really good shape with batteries that stayed charged the whole day, even with a lot of use (we had friends whose cart always died by sundown). It may not seem like a big deal but it really is. I was amazed at how well the AC worked, it was extremely hot that week and the house was almost too cool sometimes. The home is a duplex but you would almost never know it was, from the inside or out. We never once heard our neighbors.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Accessible only by ferry, Bald Head Island is an opportunity to get away from the crowded and congested beach experience. Only golf carts are used as transportation with ample roads for biking and miles of beach for walking.

Listen to the birds or observe a nesting turtle, you chance to escape is here.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Flora's Bluff House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value Summer
Jun 18 2017 - Jun 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$3,275
 
 
Summer
Jun 26 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,775
 
 
Value Summer
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$499
$3,250
 
 
Fall
Sep 10 2017 - Nov 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$425
$2,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates DO NOT include: $200 cleaning fee and Bald Head Island Club and Shoals Club temporary membership fees
If interested in temporary memberships please inquiry since we have memberships at both clubs and our renters can have access to both for an additional fee
If you choose to pay by credit card there is a 2.5% additional fee. You may also pay by check with no additional fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties