Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Utopia: Semi-Oceanfront, Pet-Friendly Hot Tub in Duck

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 2,784 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Prepare to enjoy a bliss-filled vacation when you choose to vacation at “Utopia.” This home’s location on a quiet cul-de-sac and next to the open space preserved by the Duck Research Pier makes the views from this home spectacular. Spend mornings watching the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean from the east facing decks and as the sun slips into the Currituck Sound each evening watch this unfold from your south deck vantage point. This semi-Oceanfront home is just steps from the beach and a short distance from the community pool and unwind at night soaking in the hot tub. Inside enjoy eating at large dining room table, breakfast table or outside on the screened porch. On this main floor, there is both a living room and separate den area with TV so everybody has a place to relax. Climb the spiral stairs to the top tower room for the most stunning views and find yourself the perfect place to reflect on your beach vacation. The home has five bedrooms including 2 King Master Suites. Another 2 two bedrooms each have 2 twin beds in each; the Queen bedroom is on the ground level with a hall bath nearby.


Property Manager
Paramount Destinations
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time. We did have some maintenance issues but the management company was really quick with responding. The AC guy was extremely friendly and professional. We loved the location. The only thing we were not thrilled with is the distance to the pool. If they let you park by the pool it would not have been a problem but we had my parents and they are close to 80 and did not like the walk. To be honest we used the pool a lot less b/c of the walk. The beach was amazing and we loved the fact that there was so much open land beside our house.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Duck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2784 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed, 5 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
Located next to the open space north of the Duck Research Pier provides this home with the ability to see Ocean to Sound Views!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
26% Complete
6% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
Utopia: Semi-Oceanfront, Pet-Friendly Hot Tub in Duck
average rating of 4.2 based on 20 reviews
3

Family stay

  • 3 of 5

We like the location with the views and being next to the Corp. Of Eng. but the house is showing some wear and tear. Dish washer leaks on kitchen floor was reported but not fixed. Floor lamp in main room next to fire place doesn't work, tried new bulb. Couldn't figure out spot lights on deck. Either not working or couldn't find switch. Screens on porch blown out. Windows cleaner then last time but still need cleaning. Had to hammer some deck and railing rails in place with crab mallet, no hammer. Visitor guide book would be nice. Wood work near kitchen needs refinishing. Cable pretty bad. No HD for one thing. We had a good stay over all because the weather was great with some beautiful night skies. Enjoyed having the dogs and being near Duck is something we like.

Yours Sincerely William Moser

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great, but

  • 4 of 5

This house looks like the photos--spacious, pleasant decor, near the beach. In fact, an excellent location. Beach is fantastic and just a 3 minute walk. Very private. Furniture was nice, beds comfortable. Great for kids.

But I have to say that this was the worse equipped house I've ever rented on VRBO. They literally cleared out every bit of toilet paper before we arrived--awkward after a very long drive. No salt, no measuring cups, no barbeque equipment, not even a pot holder, much less a flashlight (yes, the power went out) or a fire extinguisher. Not much flatware. Forget a hair dryer. The deck was lovely but no table to eat on (there was a splintery version of one in a porch with drooping screens and lots of spiders).

So a great house, but you'll have to haul down the insides of yours to make it work.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Utopia and your recent vacation with us in the Outer Banks! We are glad you enjoyed the location, close proximity to the beach, etc. We do apologize the home was not as equipped as you expected. This information was noted and brought to the manager's attention. We do hope this does not dissuade you from visiting with us again and we do hope to see you in 2018!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

House is a dump

  • 2 of 5

Owners should be ashamed as this home is very neglected

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the recent review for the home Utopia. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the home. We do hope that you otherwise had a great vacation in the Outer Banks! We do have many homes to choose from and we trust that you will come back to see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Dated and not clean

  • 2 of 5

The location of the house was fantastic, as was the layout. However--the house is very dated, the furniture very old (the dining room table is warped and sags significantly in the middle), the carpet is stained and dirty and the windows are so scratched and dirty the view is ruined. However--the worst part of the house is the massive amounts of cobwebs, spiders, crickets and ants. It was very disappointing and we wold not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone, despite it's wonderful location.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent review of the home Utopia and your vacation in the Outer Banks. We do apologize that the home was not as you expected; please know that we take your comments seriously and will pass them on to the appropriate person. We do hope this experience does not dissuade you from joining us in the future. Again, thank you, and we hope to see you in 2018!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location, close to beach. Spacious house

  • 4 of 5

My wife and Ijust returned from a week at Utopia with friends. The house was very clean, nice and spacious. It is an ocean view property that is very close to the beach. This house is on a cul-de-sac with a natural area next to it. This provided an open area around the house with good views. The only negative was the "screened in porch". It was unusable because many of the screens are torn, and the ceiling is moldy and coming down. Rain pours into the screenroom from the damaged ceiling. Overall great stay, but would be even better with a little work on the porch.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to submit a review for your vacation and the home Utopia. Please be assured we will look into the issue with the screens and porch ceiling and we do apologize you had that experience. Other than that, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in 2018 and for many years to come!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Utopia says it all!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect, the house,the weather, and our vacation.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Wild Horse Tours, Climb the Currituck Lighthouse, Explore the Whalehead Club and Wildlife Center at the Currituck Heritage Park, Kiteboarding, Skateboarding, Boogie Boarding, Beach Driving, Visit the Wright Brother's Monument, Climb Jockey's Ridge

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees