Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Baby Gem - Breathtaking Beachfront And Private

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom Beachfront apartment (Sleeps 4)

Baby Gem is located on the same property as our listing 396719 with VRBO. This two bedroom lower apartment accommodates 4 guests. The queen size sofa allows our maximum guest count to be 6 persons. With French doors off the kitchen and another opening onto its own large covered private patio. As you gaze out to sea, this unobstructed view of the south shore leaves you in “awe”. If you yearn for peace, tranquility and space you have come to the end of your search. This reverse air conditioned unit has a full bathroom along with laundry facility which will make your vacation perfect. This resort area has the finest restaurants and a major bus route for convenience at the top of “de hill” all within walking distance. Yes, your own private beach to enjoy – Crossbay Beach only steps away.


Southampton Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Walk in Closet - Maximum sleeping capacity 6 person
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, #1 Beach public in Bermuda - Horseshoe Bay Beach. 5 Star restaurants. Deep sea fishing with the best, boating and yachting, driving golf range directly in front of property.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Baby Gem - Breathtaking Beachfront And Private
average rating of 4.731707 based on 41 reviews
Madison, NJ

Nothing Like it.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Baby Gem was like no other. From booking to the end it was excellent customer service. Lorna and Greg are exactly as described on all the reviews. They are very kind and hospitable. The pictures do not do the location justice. Panoramic views of the south shore! It truly is a slice of paradise. It is in a great location for one who just wants the ocean front property and nothing more. But there is easy access to other parts of the island as well; via taxi or bus. My only con was that we didn't get to do as much cooking as we planed because there were not many pots. However, I know if we had asked Mrs. Lorna would have obliged. No one had to convince me to take the short walk up to Henry the VIII a few times to make up for not cooking :-). If you are still thinking do not will be pleased.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to be of service to your very young large family. Bella fell in love with your family and she is still looking for your boys. She felt so grown for her 16mos self. You are an amazing family. So glad everyone made it home safely. I will surely look into the pots.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it so much we stayed an extra day!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Baby Gem for a long weekend in November, 2017. The pictures are accurate, the view is THAT good. I enjoyed sitting on the covered terrace outside our bedroom each morning, having my morning coffee watching the sunrise and waves crash onto the beach. The Wilson family was fabulous to deal with; friendly, hospitable and gave plenty of privacy unless we needed them, which was only one time, to say that we wanted to spend an extra day at Baby Gem! Luckily Lorna did not have any guests arriving that day (and JetBlue had space for us on the next day's flight) so we were able to pay for the extra day and enjoy one more magical day in Bermuda. We were traveling with a baby, and they graciously provided us with a Pack-and-Play so that the baby could sleep in it. Unheard of hospitality. Several easy ways to get to the beach nearest the house, and a 5 minute walk to Horseshoe Bay Beach. The walk to Horseshoe was so easy we did it with a stroller several times. Easy walk to a great nearby restaurant, or head the opposite direction to reach the Fairmont Hotel for Golf, Spa or restaurants. The Baby Gem unit itself was great, brand new refrigerator, two spacious bedrooms with TV, and a kitchen/common area, and beach views you'll remember for a lifetime. Thank you Lorna and family!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow James, you said it all. If it can be done, we make it happen. Thank you for your appreciation and pointing our our minor upgrades. Baby Gem is a special place for us too. We are glad you enjoyed it. As your family grows we are looking forward to being of service to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Convenient, serene gateway

  • 5 of 5

Located between two breathtaking beaches this well-kept property provides everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. Quick walk to one of the most popular restaurants in Bermuda. Ten minutes walk to Southampton Fairmont and The Reefs resorts and all amenities that they offer.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful to watch your family take full advantage of the natural beauty our neighbourhood had to offer. I am looking forward to Robert growing up on Crossbay Beach. He is a beautiful boy and too cute with his ponytail. Next time he will be able to run to the beach by himself. I love to watch families enjoy Baby Gem.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

WE loved our stay at Baby Gem. The apartment is spacious and in nice condition. Lorna is a very gracious host and very helpful with information. The key to Baby Gem is the view (you look out over a spectacular ocean view) and the easy walk to a semi private beach. The beach is a mini Horseshoe Bay, every bit as pretty but hardly anyone on but you. There are tropical fish to see while snorkeling, crystal clear water, and soft sand.

You can cook your own meals, and keep your beer cold in the fridge. Having the laundry machines available helps with damp clothing. And there is a large amount of beach gear available so you don't have to bring anything with you.

You can walk to a two good restaurants, the scooter rental place, and a convenience store. Easy access to the fine restaurants up the street at the Fairmont (three 4-5 star restaurants) they are walkable but they each take about 20 minutes.

We loved the property, our host and hostess, the dining options, but most of all sitting on the patio, drinking a rum swizzle, hearing the waves breaking, and enjoying Bermuda. We are coming back soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad we met your expectations. A return visit are the best kind of reviews. Looking forward to many more visits.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as advertised!

  • 1 of 5

The beach is gorgeous but NOT private as advertised! Hotel people leave their trash and ALL the "HOUSE " chairs are broken. The air condition was broken the entire week ,they knew it was broken and didn't fix til the day before we left. The main fridge was dying and they knew it!!! We lost 300 bucks worth of food, and the downstairs bathroom locks on its own, ( they also knew this!) And my friends son was locked in!


  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Absolutely beautiful views and Lorna was perfect! Thank you for this experience

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting baby gem for years and we love it! Thank you Lorna for all your help.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After all these years of renting this is the first time our guest has had to help with a medical emergency. Brian you did an amazing job. Thank you, thank you, thank you. It has been wonderful watching the girls grow up at Gemstones. The weather was perfect. I enjoyed my swim with your family. But you left too early in the morning, I missed saying bye. Till next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Lorna Wilson
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Lorna Wilson

Married 30 years with an adult daughter and a teenage son. Our family loves boating and cooking. We enjoy traveling and meeting people from all over the world. We have been in the hospitality business for over 40 years. We are confident you would enjoy your vacation with us. Most of our guest says 'we are lucky to have found you'. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your family.

Why Lorna Wilson chose Southampton

Location, location, location. We are located in the best resort area in Bermuda.

What makes this apartment unique

Totally private and hidden.


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
L.F. Wade International
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Henry Viii Pub & Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
0.07 Miles
Waterlot Inn
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Fairmont Southampton
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Henry Viii Pub & Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Crossbay Beach
Car: not necessary

You will be in the best resort area Bermuda has to offer. We are situated between the two best resorts in Bermuda - The Reefs and Fairmont Southampton. Only 2 min walk from the Gibb's Hill Lighthouse and 5 min drive to the Heron Bay Market Place. This property is ideal, clean and safe. Also view our listing 396719 should you require larger accommodations.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125

One Cleaning Fee $125
Service Fee $25 daily
(Electricity, cable, WiFi, phone and water service
Maximum number of guest is limited to 4 person. An additional charge of $30.00 per person per night for guest in addition to 4 will be assessed. Standard short term rental agreement will require your signature.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund