Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Creek-side Retreat. Abundant & Comfy Space. Fire pit. Large Hot Tub!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

4 BR/2 BA -- Sleeps 8-10

Nestled within the San Isabel National Forest between Mt. Princeton and Mt. Yale at the base of Cottonwood Pass, at the end of a secluded driveway is your Retreat on Cottonwood Creek: a 2,500 square foot, 4 BR/2BA creekside refuge for the entire family, weary traveler, wandering explorer, or romantics-at-heart.

Your Retreat is comprised of one King bed in the upstairs over-sized Master Suite with sitting area, one Queen bed in the Tree House, two Twin beds on the upper floor and two Twin beds on the main floor, and two Roll-away beds; designer furnishings throughout, organic bedding and linens, three satellite HD flat-screen TVs with DVD/CD players (one in LR, one in FR, and one in Master Suite), free high-speed wireless internet service, an ultra-private separate Tree House, outdoor hot tub, outdoor stainless steel grill, creek side picnic table, 500' of private creek frontage, private fishing, large patio with outdoor furniture, balcony and lanai, outdoor fire pit; not in a subdivision, no views of any roads, unobstructed views of creek and mountains, four miles to Buena Vista and one-half mile to a hot springs/spa.

There are a multitude of activities to enjoy in the area: fish privately right out the front door, hike the Continental Divide Trail or Colorado Trail, summit a 14er, explore old mining towns or uncover gemstones via ATV and Jeep trails in the Jeep Capitol of the World, white-water raft or kayak the world-renowned Arkansas River, take a horseback ride through the woods, or soak in the nearby hot springs, and more! Restaurants, post office, playgrounds, grocery store, gas, and convenience stores all within five miles of your Retreat!

More Details

Jean Phelps
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About Jean Phelps

Originally from the Midwest, my husband and I moved to Colorado because of our love of the mountains.

Jean Phelps purchased this house in 2012

Why Jean Phelps chose Buena Vista

We enjoy rafting, soaking in hot springs, jeeping, ATVing, hiking 14ers, exploring new places, and secluded relaxation so having a property near Buena Vista in this private, creek side location allows us to fully enjoy all of these activities.

What makes this house unique

As soon as we drove down the private, secluded driveway, we knew this was the place: creek side, quiet, acreage, awesome views of the surrounding mountains, no views of any roads, not in a subdivision, cozy but roomy interior, and the feeling of being out in the middle of nowhere even though we were less than 10 minutes from BV. Especially nice is watching the deer and herons move through the property and the soothing sounds of the creek as you are dozing off to sleep.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so very much for your hospitality. The house was perfect and so beautiful in every way. We enjoyed our stay and the VRBO property was the icing on the cake. We will highly recommend your place to anyone we meet. Thanks again.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 1


Buena Vista House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shelf and closet for storage
    Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks w/ counter space; Closet & highboy for storage
  • Each bathroom features spa products, hair dryer and a closet. Large Master bathroom has removable shower head.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Big Horn Canyon - 2 twin/ single , Immediate access to outdoor hot tub
    Tree House - 1 queen , Separate; ultra-private; no bathroom; insulated; heated
    Garden View Room - 2 twin/ single , Adjacent to MBR; separated by full length draperies
    Master Suite - 1 king , Oversized Master Suite w/ sectional; 2 sitting areas
  • Two roll away twin beds: including sheets, blankets, and pillows ( on main level)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 10 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Wagon wheel swing and wagon wheel bench overlooking the creek; picnic bench in separate and private area overlooking the creek; great brookie fishing in creek


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
25% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded Creek-side Retreat. Abundant & Comfy Space. Fire pit. Large Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.632353 based on 69 reviews

Perfect weekend!!

  • 5 of 5

The house was amazing! We tried to get 20 of our closest friends to chip in so we could buy it. The jury is still out. The house was super cozy, clean, well stocked, and comfortable. It was perfect for our family and friends. There was even a beautiful crib in the huge walk in closet off the master bedroom. The hot tub was spotless. Can’t wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family getaway

  • 5 of 5

Great space, loved the large gathering room for hanging and games. Kids loved that they could also have their own space to dork out some.

Kitchen had everything we needed.

Amenities were more than adequate.

Hot tub was very well maintained.

The outdoor views were gorgeous.

Really enjoyed our staycation in beautiful Colorado.

Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Overland Park

Rustic Homesteader Cabin

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5 arrived at the cabin on the 27th of December and left on Jan.1. We had hoped to have a ski trip, but mother nature really hadn't provided a lot for quality skiing. There were some perks, and some things that could be improved about this trip. For starters, we arrived a little early, and met the lady who was getting the cabin ready . What a gem! She gave me her personal cell # to contact her in case we needed anything, since the owner lived farther away. Good thing too, because our daughter got food poisoning. When we arrived, there was no toilet paper in the main floor bathroom, and only 1 roll upstairs that was half used. We purchased some , along with paper towels, in town. I contacted her to see if she knew if there was a vacuum available (since there were 5 of us, and we were staying 5 nights-nice to keep things clean). Like a true gem, she came out and unlocked the closet and gave us toilet paper, paper towels, cleaner (since my daughter had been sick), and the vacuum. SUPER nice! As far as the house goes, it has its quirks, but it is originally a homesteader cabin. The one thing that IS different from what the pictures and description really explain, is the upstairs bedroom with a twin bed. We did not realize that it was attached to the master, and that there was just a curtain separating it from the master bath. Great if you have small kids that you want to have close, but not so much for teenagers. My kids checked out the treehouse as well, though they did not stay. Even with a heater, it would probably be too cold for the winter. Steps are pretty steep as well. I am sure it is super nice in the spring. As far as supplies in the cabin, they are fair. Tough when you have renters come through that may not take care of things. We purchased a pizza pan, measuring cups, measuring spoons, etc. to take care of our needs. We like to leave the place even better than when we arrived. The only downside was, someone before us broke the glass plate in the microwave. Made microwave popcorn impossible, but a cup of coffee could easily be reheated if you sat the cup in the corner. Again, tough when renters don't respect the property. If you are looking for a quiet, rustic place to get away to, this is your place. Owner answered all of our questions, and cleaning lady was FANTASTIC! We enjoyed our stay, but were AMAZED at HOW MANY deer were in town that week. Highly recommend the Roasterie for coffee! AMAZING!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our vacation cabin should always be stocked and ready for the arrival of guests. On behalf of the house keeper, we apologize there were oversights during this guest's stay. We will do better.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old,tired and Uncared for

  • 1 of 5

where to begin? we were granted an early check-in.

When we arrived the cleaning people were there and apologised that heat was not on as they did not know that we were coming early.No communication with the owners.

Took us quite some time to find out the bathroom window has been left wide open!was a very very cold day and the house was absolutely freezing!

Seriously the house did not get warm be habitable until the following day.

Notes on codes did not match, the code on the refrigerator for the garbage can is different than the one in the book which caused some confusion and trips back and forth to the dumpster.

House was not supplied properly .

About 10 sheets of toilet paper in the main bathroom! we had to hunt for another hour and found two upstairs in the master bathroom,that was all the toilet paper for our large group.

There were three very cheap garbage bags only, no laundry detergent at all, the notes are very specific about how we should start a load of laundry when we leave.We drove three hours to get there.the last thing we wanted to do once we got there was go to the grocery store which we ended up having to do.

For arrival I specifically asked questions about the hot tub as I know how touchy they can be, I was sick the entire weekend and out of commission nobody else had any hot tub experience .

Owners promised me that new water was put in the hot tub prior to each guest arriving.

When it came time to get our security deposit back she charged us $50 because she said the water was green, the water that she was supposed to drain out and replace .

There were six people in that hot tub that is very normal.We were not aware that we were supposed to replace the hot tub water ourselves.

The carpets are filthy, nobody would walk barefoot in there they were that dirty! not even sure that they’were ever even vacuumed before our arrival.

Cabinets very disorganised and lacked supplies needed to cook in the kitchen .

Cooked prime rib and could not even cut it knives were so dull.

The glass door that separates two rooms does not function properly, one of the kids got their finger caught in it.

Aside from that the door is dangerous in itself around children with no doorknob,glass and it swings both ways.

Lighting in the place is very in adequate, there was no salt put down in the icy areas specifically the treehouse steps, and no salt to be found anywhere .

Once again very poorly equipped.

Would not recommend this 50s cabin

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, this guest left our property quite a mess upon departure; consequently, her security deposit was not fully refunded....hence, her hateful comments which do not represent our well-maintained cabin. We always respond immediately to all guest requests and concerns when contacted.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

Most amazing time. Cabin was very comfortable. Furnished quite nicely. We cooked a lot of meals there and had everything we needs It was me my husband, our two adult kids and sister in law and brother in law. And we all loved it. Perfect location. Easy access to other places of interest. We will be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate this guests review and so glad the cabin entertained all of their needs. See you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Creekside Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Our book club stayed at this great cabin for a weekend at the height of foliage season. We loved the private location and the sound of the creek. Although the weather did not afford us an opportunity to utilize the firepit and outdoor dining area, we did thoroughly enjoy the hot tub and the nearby hot springs. The house is a bit funky with its layout...2 living areas, curtains between upstairs sleeping areas, outdoor bunkhouse with no bathroom...but we loved it. It was cozy and comfortable and roomy for all of us with all the bells and whistles. We would book again!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate this guest's review. In regards to the drapery panels separating two bedrooms, those are soon scheduled to be replaced with a door.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
130 Miles
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Eddyline Brewery
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Collegiate Peaks Golf Course, Buena Vista
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Leadville Colorado and Southern Railroad
Nearest Motorway
4.5 Miles
Highway 24
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Jans Restaurant
Nearest Ski
37 Miles
Monarch Mountain




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.3%

Book 7 nights, receive 50% off 7th night.
Completed Vacation Rental Agreement required prior to arrival.
No Smoking of any kind.
No Pets.
Discounts for Monthly and Extended Stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.