check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Gorgeous, Remodeled, Sandy Beachfront Home! HOLIDAY SPECIAL $700 PER NIGHT!

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8- max Guests allowed)

5br/3br (3br/2ba on first floor with fully remodeled kitchen) and

2br/1ba on second floor, with sink/refrigerator/microwave). RATE PER NIGHT IS:

$700 per NIGHT for entire 5br/3ba Home or $550 per night for 3br/2ba downstairs home only. NOTE: We only do one rental per month, and we use the home the rest of the time ourselves to comply with vacation rental laws in Hawaii. Hawaii Tax ID W30334938-02.

Adjacent to the famous 'Alligator Rock' (Big rock that looks like a an alligator from the side profile). Note: Max # of guests at any one time on the property is 8. We do this as a courtesy to our great neighbors. This includes guests not staying overnight.

Totally remodeled home with 5 bedrooms and 3 full baths. Granite kitchen counters; custom koa cabinets; gas stove; dishwasher; microwave plus 2nd kitchen in upper story as well. Stunning oceanfront views with outside dining table that seats 8, inside dining both up and down which also fits 8. Gas BBQ, grass lawn and plenty of places to cozy up and enjoy this stunning setting. Outside shower and gated yards. 2 parking places for house. Private courtyard with table in entry garden. Welcome to Hawaii Homes & Gardens!

A wonderful 'Country' North Shore location, with great surf out front; wonderful restaurants and grocery shopping nearby; and a year-round sandy beach. Nearby to both historic , downtown Haleiwa; and only 15 minutes to Golf at the world famous Turtle Bay Resort.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Brett

My wife fell in love with this property. We live on the island, and we use the home as a rental for only about half of the year as we enjoy it so we reserve it for our family the rest of the time.

Why Brett chose North Shore Oahu

A wonderful 'Country' North Shore location, with great surf out front; wonderful restaurants and grocery shopping nearby; and a year-round sandy beach. Nearby to both historic , downtown Haleiwa; and 15 minutes to Golf at the world famous Turtle Bay Resort.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Gorgeous, Remodeled, Sandy Beachfront Home! HOLIDAY SPECIAL $700 PER NIGHT!
average rating of 4.891892 based on 37 reviews

Great amentities and location with direct access to the ocean

  • 5 of 5

Ideal setup for two families wishing to spend holidays together but also have space for their own families. Great waves out front for average surfer and other breaks close by as well as snorkelling in the rock pools a bonus. Drinks on the balcony as we watch the sun dip into the sea a ritual every night before the BBQ. Restaurants at Haliewa were great for lunches and foodland at Waimea easy for picking up the feast for the evenings. Super fast wifi to share our photos of the day with our friends in Australia and kids to have time out of the sun on the day beds. Lots of reading materials with surfing a focus. Well maintained gardens and the giant palms out front feature in all our photos. Definetly recommend for a great holiday.

Happy Aussies

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Glen & Sue for the kind review. You have a wonderful family , and so glad that you could spend time at our home. We hope to see your ohana soon again! Aloha, Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Beach, California

Beautiful North Shore Location

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four traveled with our best friends (another family of four) to celebrate our boys' graduation. The house was beautiful; spacious for all of us to feel comfortable. Plenty of fluffy towels and kitchen supplies. The kids had a blast playing on the beach with all the snorkels, fins, boogie boards, sand toys and the kayak. Conditions were so gentle that we did not worry at all about them. The turtles were incredible!! Saw several in the water and on the beach. Downtown Haleiwa, Pupukea, Sunset Beach and Waimea Bay are all just minutes away. Anytime I e-mailed Brett a question when we were planning our vacation, he got back to me immediately and also refunded our deposit within hours of us departing. I have to admit, the adults got pretty warm prepping, cooking and doing dishes in the evening, but sitting on the deck and stargazing afterwards made it all worth while. The house cooled down after the sun set and we all slept comfortably. The sunsets were absolutely incredible and provided a spectacular show every night!! Would definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful and relaxing vacation home.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad, Angie, that you and your family had a such a wonderful time! Aloha, and hope to see your ohana back again some time. -Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Five Star Accomidation

  • 5 of 5

Seven of us stayed for one week. The house is just as described. The location was great. Turtles and snorkeling right out the back door. We were there in the summer so there was hardly any waves. There is a kayak, boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas and a few snorkeling items. Brett was very responsive to any inquiry and he returned our deposit the same day we left.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review, and hope you come back again! Aloha, Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Picture perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful and very comfortable north shore home with an unbeatable view of the ocean. The beach was perfect for relaxing and watching the sea turtles that came up on the sand to relax and warm up. The owner of the home was welcoming and pleasant and provided tips for making the most use of the house and location. The house was clean and well-maintained, the kitchen is well stocked with essentials, the beds were comfortable, the linens and towels are nice, and the location is convenient for north shore activities. We were there on a family vacation and made good use of the covered downstairs lanai for whale watching and happy hour, and the upstairs lanai for star gazing at night. There's recreational equipment available and the kayak was great for spotting turtles and fish. We are already talking about planning our next trip and definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a comfortable home-away-from-home.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the kind words, and we hope to see you back again! Aloha, Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, WA

Beautiful sunsets and great for extended families...

  • 4 of 5

In addition to the sunsets, we loved the turtles, whale watching and surfers. Having two floors of living space made a comfortable stay for our family of 7. Grandma and Grandpa stayed upstairs, while our family took over downstairs. Upstairs has its own lanai with gorgeous views up and down the coast. We enjoyed sunsets and stargazing from there each night. Dinners night were spent on the larger deck downstairs.

The lower floor has been nicely remodeled and the kitchen is awesome - complete with 6 burner Viking gas cook top and french door refrigerator. Plenty of pots, dishes and utensils. We have stayed in many VRBO rentals - including a couple on the North Shore - and this was one of the best kitchens we have encountered.

The upstairs, while nice, is not up to the same level. The bathroom - especially the shower - is small. And the "kitchen" is more of a kitchenette - no stove or oven. My father-in-law called it "sparse." But, with a portable burner, they were able to make breakfasts and the bedrooms and the living space are roomy.

I will echo the comments from a couple other reviewers that the beach access, via a rock path, is not the easiest to navigate if you are shaky on your feet. There is nothing to grab hold of for support and the stepping is uneven. Also, the beach wasn't always accessible if the tide was higher due to waves crashing on the rock path (perhaps because this was February which is famous for its high surf). However, we found that by timing the tides, we would always have several hours on the beach each day. And, you definitely want to be on the beach because we had at least one, and as many as 3, turtles lounging on the beach. So fun to watch. You can also easily access neighboring beaches from roadside paths.

Speaking of the road, the living space for the house is set back from Kam Highway and there is not much road noise thanks to the caretaker apartment in between. We did manage to get 2 cars in the parking spaces, but the space is tight.

The location is great - midway between Haleiwa and Waimea Bay.

Brett was very responsive and we had a lovely week at Hale Alligator.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! The waves can indeed big at times this year, but spectacular to see. So glad that you had a nice trip with your family, and hope to see you back again! Aloha, Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eatontown, NJ

The Arnold Family

  • 5 of 5

After many years and as many attempts, our family finally was able to visit Hawaii. Our stay at Hale Alligator was everything we had hoped for and more!

Fabulous location (after we found it, no thanks to GPS), beautiful home (better in reality than its pics), and so much to do on the North Shore, in spite of some iffy weather at the beginning of our stay, made for a damn near perfect 10 days.

And then there were the waves! What views they provided from the lanai, and talk about being rocked to sleep at night!

Hale Alligator is seemingly right in the middle of all the great things to do and see on the North Shore from Haleiwa to Turtle Bay!

We already can't wait to return for more Aloha!

Mahalo nui loa, Brett!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you had a wonderful time and mahalo for the kind review. As I said, come back again as we'd love to have your family visit Hawaii again! All the best, Brett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Haleiwa Joe's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Jamieson's by the Sea
Nearest Beach
Alligator Rock
Car: recommended

Prime Location on the 'Seven Mile Miracle' stretch of North Shore Beaches. Watch turtles year-round on the sand in front of the house; 6 surf spots within paddling distance; stand-up paddle to Waimea Bay (Summer Time or during small waves). Quiet and private stretch of beach with only a handful of single-family homes.


Rates & Availability

Haleiwa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 13.0%

$700 per night for the entire 5br/3ba home except during Holidays. Note that the entrance to the upstairs, 2nd floor with 2br/1ba is a separate door adjacent to the front door.
Please send # of people in your party. We live on Oahu and typically will reply to inquiries within 24 hours.
Cancellation fee of $500 if 91 days or more from start date of stay . Mahalo!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Bedroom #2, downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Bathroom #3, Upstairs
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom #1, Master w/travertine Shower, dual sinks
  • All baths have been remodeled with new cabinets, mirrors, blinds, etc.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom #2 , downstairs w/ queen poster bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Bedroom #3 downstairs, 2 twin beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Bedroom #4, King Bed upstairs
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bedroom #5, upstairs w/double plus twin bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Oceanfront Master Bedroom w/King Bed
  • House is configured with 3br/2ba downstairs and 2br/1ba upstairs with separate entrance adjacent to front door of main house.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 8 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Please email owner to reserve home. Thanks for your inquiry! Cleaning fee is $250. Checks accepted at no charge and 2.5% fee charged by VRBO for credit cards. Also, note we only rent the home one time every month per rental requirements. Taxes as required by Hawaii are 13%. Absolutely no pets or smoking. No weddings or parties, please. Occupancy verified. Mahalo!

Partner Offers