Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Watch Whales, Surfers And Sunsets Or Walk To The Beach Or Town

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two Levels Of Decks And Spectacular Views Close To Town. Sleeps 11

Wrap-around decks will entice you to eat or sleep in the sunshine, but you can also sit in front of a cozy fireplace and watch a winter storm roll in from the sea.

It is an easy walk to the pier for a morning surf session or a cup of coffee. It is little bit more work walking up the hill after a night on the town, but you can burn off all those delicious calories that you consumed at one of several fine restaurants or wine bars.

Pets are welcome. You can stay in your pajamas and let your dogs have an early morning romp in the covered dog run below the house , or you can soak in the little soft tub jacuzzi, but then they will want you to take them to the beach which is just blocks away. Cayucos loves dogs. The Lioness Club provides 'mutt mitts' at all the public beach accesses, and many local stores will give your dog treats and water. The house comes with pet blankets and towels for your furry best friends. Your pet can bathe in a large sink in the garage next to the washer and dryer.

Music-lovers will enjoy the piano, and percussion instruments, just bring your guitars. The inspiring views and high ceilings make the house a perfect place for an evening jam. Gourmet cooks will appreciate the six-burner stove and walk-in pantry. Families with children will like the bunk room that sleeps four, and twin bedroom. However, if you have very young children who like to climb, you might be a little nervous with the height of the decks.

Photos do not do justice to the view. Everyone who enters just says, 'Wow!' With two master king bed suites, it is perfect for two families or a group of friends who want to relax. There is a Danish dining room set with a breakfront full of fine china if you want an elegant dinner. But the house is meant for fun and relaxation. You can put your feet up and eat in front of the television, or sit at a little table on the top deck and watch all the people below. You enter the house through an atrium with a glass roof and wood deck. It is a perfect place to read a book (or nap) in the sun or stargaze at night. It is a safe and secure place to leave your pet while you are out wine tasting or kayaking. For those who don't like stairs, there is one King suite on the street level close to the entry.

More Details

Owner
Alice Tomasini
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About Alice Tomasini

I spent each summer of my life at Grandma's beach house in Cayucos. I learned how to swim while diving under waves and holding my breath. I brought my UCLA band friends to Cayucos and we marched in the Fourth of July parade for a few years. I brought the Salinas ski club to Cayucos when I was a young teacher. When I became a college professor at Cal Poly, we held faculty retreats at the beach house. I shared the beach house with the San Luis Obispo Symphony while I was in the percussion section. I have always loved sharing my love of Cayucos.

My mother always told me I needed to own a piece of property even though I was married, teaching at the local university, and living on a 700 acre cattle ranch. She was very wise and with the money she left me I was able to purchase my dream house on the hill. When I divorced, I sailed off to Mexico and eventually became a college and high school teacher in Ensenada. For years, I had fabulous renters, and enjoyed living here between tenants, then three years ago I signed up with VRBO. It has been a wonderful experience sharing my house with vacation renters. This September I returned to teach at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, so I am now living in my house and making improvements. However, I will continue to rent my house during my summer vacation, holidays, and occasional long weekends.

Alice Tomasini purchased this house in 1999

Why Alice Tomasini chose Central Coast

I was told you are not supposed to buy real-estate with your emotions, but I fell in love with the house. It was perched on a hill with a huge tree and it reminded me at first of a tree-house. When I entered I just stood and looked at the view. Grandma's house was on the ocean with stairs to the beach, but this view was so much more amazing. I knew that this was where I wanted to be when I was too old to surf. I would sit on the deck with a dog on my lap, my friends, good local wine, and watch the whales, surfers at the pier, and the people below. I pictured the SLO Symphony playing on the huge lower deck. The inside looked beautiful with high ceilings and woodwork, but not pretentious. It looked like the perfect place for the Swedish decor and Danish Furniture that my mother left me. I was a little fearful of making such a huge purchase, but my eldest cousin told me how she and her husband had once sat on the hill where this house was and watched a storm dramatically roll in from the sea. She convinced me to 'Go for it' and I am very glad that I did.

What makes this house unique

I love to sleep on the sofabed in the living room with the town below as a huge night-lite. Or, from either of the master suites, I can wake up and see from the bed how the waves are at the pier, and how many surfers are out. I walk with my surfboard to the break if it looks good, or I walk the dogs to the beach and get coffee and pastry in town. A little market, wine bistro, bars, antique stores, restaurants, and dancing to good local bands are all within walking distance.

I have always allowed pets in this house and trust pet-owners to be responsible and caring people. As I write this I have two foster puppies playing in the atrium and a cat sunning himself on the upper deck. I am still in my PJ's so the dogs just went out to the dog run. To the dog run below the house, I have added a little hot tub with an ocean view. Next to the piano, I have added my conga drums, bongos, and marimba so my musical guests can jam.

Amenities

Cayucos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , his and her sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom for the bunkroom and twin bedroom. Two sinks.
  • Each king bedroom has a bathroom. A bathroom downstairs, 'The Mermaid Cove' serves as the kid's bathroom or the guest bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Oak table with four chairs. Sliding doors open to deck.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , is attached to the bunk room, and has a door to the deck
  • Street Level has one King Bedroom and bath suite with shower and double sink. View of Cayucos Pier. Antique bedroom set circa 1940's. Walk-In Closet. Downstairs has another King Bedroom and bath suite with jacuzzi tub/shower combo. Sliding doors open to deck. Bunk room sleeps four. Small room with twin beds is off of the bunk room and it has a door to the deck outside. A daybed in the reading/game nook can sleep an additional person. The sofa upstairs is a queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is piano, marimba,and conga drums in the living room

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Watch Whales, Surfers And Sunsets Or Walk To The Beach Or Town
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
5

Fun, accomadating, homey

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house because my son was getting married on the beach in Cayucos and needed a place for family and friends to stay. The house fit the request to a tee. We didn't have to worry about anything and there was plenty of room for all of us! We had a fantastic time and were able to thoroughly enjoy the wedding! I highly recommend staying at the house and hope we have the opportunity to do so again some time!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A comfortable house with wonderful views!

  • 5 of 5

I love that the house was exactly as expected from the information online. It is a bit dated but very clean and inviting and the views are amazing. Plenty of room for the 11 of us ladies. Only small issue was no doors on one of the downstairs bathrooms. We just hung up some sheets. Alice was the best! So easy to communicate with and so very hospitable. A complete 5 star experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You so much for your honest and kind words, and thanks for leaving two cartons of ice cream in the freezer. In time, things will be updated, like the kitchen and baths, but like a hairstyle one hangs on to as one ages, my house will always be a bit dated. My cleaning team and I also appreciate that you noticed how hard we work, and I really appreciate how clean you left the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sonoma, CA
1

Tired and worn out home with unresponsive owner

  • 1 of 5

Back in the day this was a nice place. Too bad the owner didn't maintain it. The oven doesn't work, the blinds in the sun room are mostly non-functional, sliding door to the deck was difficult to open, interior doors stick in unclosed position, chipped paint and worn out carpeting are everywhere. The owner promised to set up extra bedding - she didn't. I had to ask several times for entrance instructions just to get into the place. The owner only offered to off-set the deficiencies with a small discount on my next visit; as if I'm ever coming back! I countered for a small rebate on the cost but she refuses to even reply to my messages. All-in-all, your vacation will be at risk if you stay here!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry Norman. I never received a reply to my offer from you so that is why I did not respond. I talked to you the night you arrived, when you called to tell me the oven was not working, and said I would send a repairman to fix the oven, but you declined saying it would interfere with your Saturday party. I am not sure what bedding I promised, but I responded in an earlier email that all the beds have bedding, but the house sleeps 13 only with the sofa bed The bedding was in the linen closet. Seems we had a failure to communicate. I am sorry you had such a bad vacation at my house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of gathering as a family at this wonderful beach retreat!

I can't say enough how relaxing and lovely it was. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable property with stunning views!

  • 5 of 5

This home is fantastic! It has a lived-in, not in an "old" way, but in a homey way, welcoming quality to it that made us instantly comfortable, and feeling like it was our house. There was plenty of space for multiple families, and it was kid friendly so we weren't in a panic the whole time about the kids hurting the house or themselves. The home is well appointed (most especially the kitchen!) and ready for entertaining. We had children of varying ages and they had endless fun exploring the yard below and the "tree-house" (not sure how they gave it this name, but the "tree-house" is the swinging hammock chairs beneath the home). The views are stunning of course, and we were walking distance to everything, though the walk back up the hill is steep, especially with little people who are exhausted after a fun day on the beach. Only caution is the high decks would give me heartache with smaller kids. Our youngest was 4 1/2 and did fine, but I could see a younger kid, or little daredevil getting into trouble. All in all, a great property! We would absolutely rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kat, for expressing so beautifully what families need to understand about my house. I do want guests to enjoy the Million Dollar view and location without worrying about million dollar furniture and furnishings. The high decks are not good for unsupervised children, but I am having great fun turning the yard below the house into a special place for children, adults, and pets. My next improvement will be a bocci ball court.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A great place for a large family

  • 4 of 5

Great view of Moro Rock. Very dog friendly. Large living room, well equipped kitchen. Sleeps lots of people, there were nine of us and there was room for more. A nice balcony with a view of the ocean and the pier.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cayucos House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 9 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are subject to change until time of booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable