About the property
- Condo553 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 7 nights
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath with Mountain View
Welcome to your Whistler 'home away from home'! Our 1 bedroom 1 bath condo is one of the few in the building with high vaulted ceilings, making it seem much larger than other 1 bedroom units. We love to cook so you will find top of the line cookware and appliances in the kitchen. The gas river rock fireplace adds a cozy touch to the living room area which is fully equipped with a flat screen TV, cable & digital music channels, internet, Blu-ray DVD, stereo and iPod docking station. Just off the living room is a covered private balcony with beautiful views of Creekside Village and Sproat Mountain. The bedroom has a comfy queen size bed, with additional sleeping space available in the living room with a double pull out couch and a window seat that could be used as a single bed if needed.
Lake Placid Lodge boasts one of the best pool areas in Whistler. End the day with a dip in the year round heated outdoor pool or soothe your tired muscles in the hot tub or sauna. In the summer, you have the option to eat poolside and dine 'al fresco' by taking advantage of the two commercial grade BBQ's located in this common area.
Heated underground secure parking for one vehicle is included at no extra charge. In addition, secure complimentary ski/bike storage is available to our guests.
Located across the street within walking distance is Creekside Village, where you will find everything you need for your stay in Whistler including a grocery store, liquor store, full service bank, post office, Whistler Blackcomb Guest Services, Ski Rentals & Tickets and the popular Creekside location of Whistler Ski Camp for kids & adults. A variety of award winning restaurants are within easy walking distance and make for a great evening out without having to take the car.
Lakes and the extensive Valley Trail system (great for jogging & biking) are within minutes of the front door and you are literally steps from the Creekside Gondola which is the gateway to some of the best skiing and biking in the world.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 17, 2018
About Sonia Telford
Based in North Vancouver, our family has enjoyed the playground that Whistler has to offer for years. The upgraded highway for the 2010 Winter Games has made this a quick weekend (and often mid-week!) escape year round. We love being part of the Whistler community and are proud to call it our 'home away from home'.
Sonia Telford purchased this Condo in 2011
Why Sonia Telford chose Whistler
Before we purchased this property, we always stayed in the traditional Village area of Whistler. Tired of being kept awake at night by the rowdy party crowds, we opted for the less hectic Creekside location for our home. Local award winning restaurants and pubs give us great options for a night out if we wish, without the late night noise and crowds when we feel like a quiet night in. Suites in Lake Placid Lodge are privately owned with an active maintenance program. A major exterior upgrade in 2009, followed by extensive renovations to the pool, hot tub and patio area in 2018 give the property a fresh updated feeling.
What makes this Condo unique
This is a great family property and noise by-laws are strictly enforced. If you are looking for a place to party, this is not the location for you! If you are looking for a property that feels like a home, has a great location and one of the best pools in Whistler, you have found it.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Great Location, Great Property
Stayed at Sofia's condo for a week-long ski trip to Whistler and loved it. The location is perfect, right across the street from the lifts and her condo was well equipped and clean. Our party was 3 adults with 1 baby, and it was just big enough for the group. Thank you Sofia!
Thanks John, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Great location, comfortable home
When we arrived the condo was clean and access was easy using a code sent a few days before our stay. The unit is a good size and is right in creekside village for easy access to stores and the slopes. Everything was within a 2-3 minute walk.
The kitchen was well supplied for cooking with pots, pans, baking dishes, place settings, and various kitchen gadgets. There were also some spices and tea/coffee for our use.
While there, we had a problem with the plumbing where water backed up into the kitchen sink. I left a message with Sonia in the HomeAway app and she responded within an hour and had a plumber come out the next morning. It turned out to be a problem with the neighboring unit's plumbing but she had it fixed quickly and without fuss. Excellent host!
I would definitely stay here again for my next visit.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Sonia & Cam
Great! Very satisfied
The place was clean and comfortable...even the sofa sleeper was good. The parking was a bit tight for my son's pick-up truck though.
Thank you for the review! We look forward to welcoming you & your family back to Whistler soon.
Great location, unfortunate owner experience
My boyfriend and I took the trip of a lifetime to Whistler for 3 months and were delighted to find a small unit close to the slopes.
The unit was comfortable, slightly tired furnishings with some areas needing some attention (shelving hanging off the wall etc). The cleanliness of the apartment was okay, but not brilliant - we spent a day soon after arrival cleaning thoroughly; removing the toilet seat cover to clean under the fixtures, scrubbing the grouting in the bathroom etc.
The pool was also closed for the last 3 weeks - the owner stated the planned works had been brought forward, but other residents told us that the date had been fixed since the prior December.
During our stay, we had minimal interaction with the owners. The Residential Tenancy Agreement stated that a joint inspection would be conducted on check-in, which did not happen (either on arrival, nor shortly after). When the freezer packed up it was replaced quickly though. We had suggested meeting for coffee but it was upon checkout out that we met for the first time. She was delighted with the state of the unit, and at the extra effort we had made to clean; we had been told to 'tidy' but had gone above and beyond - wash out the bins, clean bathroom, vacuum the whole place etc. We left after shaking hands and smiles all round.
Upon returning home, we received a terse email regarding the cleanliness of the kitchen. She sent photos of 3 items that needed replacing (a bowl, oven gloves, disposable hob liners). Giving no objection to replacing these, we patiently awaited the final bill. We then received a series of unpleasant emails claiming: additional issues were found; significant cleaning was required; subsequent guests had ‘found’ further non-specific issues. We were never provided with evidence of these, nor receipts for any of the costs that were subsequently deducted, totalling 433 CAD. Despite our outstanding queries the matter was ‘considered closed', further challenge was essentially dismissed.
We love Creekside and made some amazing friends, including a number of locals who would vouch for our character and the care we took of the unit. It was a trip to remember, but unfortunately it is tainted by the unpleasantness that followed.
In conclusion - if you rent this apartment you will be able to enjoy the wonderful opportunities that Whistler offers. Approach the owner with caution, insist on a check-in inspection and a clear explanation of the expectations for checkout.
Hi Oliva & Toby,
Thank you for taking the time to review our suite. Obviously we are disappointed with your comments, especially since you emailed & texted such nice reviews and comments during your stay. Since you have not responded to the request with the BC Residential Tenancy Branch to resolve the issues, we will try and address your concerns in the limited space available here:
1) We feel that we had great deal interaction with you both but we do live in Vancouver (located 1.5hrs away) so it is not always easy to stop by. We believe that our guests are on holiday to enjoy and experience everything that Whistler has to offer, not wanting to sit and have coffee with us! If this was an oversight on our end, please accept our apologies.
2) I am so sorry to hear that the suite was not up to your level of cleanliness upon check-in. You made no mention of this, in fact your texts were quite the opposite! This does however explain the broken toilet seat…
3) Lake Placid Lodge is undergoing an extensive renovation project to the pool area. You were notified of the revised start date as soon as we were, but unfortunately there was very little we could do. We agree completely with your disappointment and can’t wait to see the result in Fall 2017, it will be amazing!
4) Fridge/Freezer: Despite the unit still being under warranty, without question we arranged for a brand- new replacement to be shipped by expedited service to Whistler. We would never dream of disturbing our guests with technician service calls or broken items, you are on holiday!
5) Cleaning: Always good to keep in mind that VRBO accommodations are not hotel suites. We do not offer daily Housekeeping services and this was clearly laid out and agreed upon prior to your booking. Upon check out, our cleaning service allocates 2 staff members 1.5 hrs each of cleaning, for a total of 3 hrs for a 586 sq. ft. space. Upon your departure, the required cleaning time was over double! Never before have we had to take apart the stove & oven for fear of a grease fire igniting. Photos were sent to you within 90 minutes of your departure.
6) Charges deducted from your damage deposit were itemized, photographed and submitted. You acknowledged receipt so we are a bit baffled on this item?
While we no longer offer monthly rentals due to this experience, we look forward to welcoming new & repeat guests to our Whistler home. As always, feel free to contact us directly with any questions or concerns.
6 Month Stay, 2014-2015 Ski Season
I decided to spoil myself and spend a whole season in Whistler. It was going to be a trip of a lifetime and I wasn't going to be taking a car so where I was going to stay was a huge priority? Could not have found a better place!!! It met all of my requirements, comfortable with a well stocked kitchen, close to the lift, bus, grocery/liquor store, guest services, restaurants, pub. All are literally steps away! Met some great people in the hot tub and the rest of the common areas were always clean. Throw in a very attentive/responsible landlord and it was a dream experience.
Your condo is wonderful! We love how you have furnished your place and the wall decor is perfect for Whistler. It was nice to arrive and have everything available. In the past I had to bring so many things that were not provided. It was so convenient to walk out the door and be at the gondola in seconds. Before we had to load the car and drive to the parking garage every day. And the best part was that I didn’t have to clean.
Located at the base of Whistler Mountain in less hectic Creekside, this one bedroom condo is a perfect summer or winter retreat. In winter, take advantage of being steps away from the Creekside Gondola for world class skiing on Whistler Mountain, site of the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.
Want to try a different mountain? The state of the art Peak-to-Peak Gondola connection provides easy access to Blackcomb Mountain without driving so you can leave your car in the secure heated underground parking.
In summer, Whistler offers a huge range of outdoor activities. From mountain biking to hiking to ATV tours, there is something for everyone to entice you into the great outdoors and experience for yourself why this area is so special.
Lakes and the extensive Valley Trail system (great for jogging & biking) are within minutes of the front door.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Principal guests must be minimum 25 years old. Standard check-out cleaning is included in our rental fees. If additional cleaning is required (eg: appliance or carpet cleaning), charges will be applied.