Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best On Beech *Family Friendly* Game Room, Fire Pit, Grill, Wifi - Sleeps 12-14

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,850 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible Bed(s), 3.5 Baths (sleeps 12-14)

Before you rent anywhere on Beech Mountain, Banner Elk, Sugar Mountain or Valle Crucis, you need to check out The Best of Beech - a new log cabin. The cabin is beautifully decorated with new furnishings, and features 4 flat screen TV's and high speed wireless throughout. Our 5 bedrooms and 3.5 baths spread over 3 floors allowing you to comfortably sleep 14 and it provides ample room to roam. It is sized perfectly for large family gatherings, yet cozy enough for just a few. Enjoy the view of Ski Beech Mountain from our wrap around porch, take a hike on many of the nearby designated trails or just relax and watch the wildlife meander through the back yard in the setting sun.

Just off Beech Mountain are the charming towns of Banner Elk, Valle Crucis and Blowing Rock. Each of these are home to great restaurants and shopping. Spend time at Grandfather Mountain, Tweetsie Railroad, Linville Caverns, Mystery Hill and the original Mast General Store. You may also opt for an outdoor adventure offered by many of the local outfitters. Whether it is whitewater rafting, canoeing, kayaking, horseback riding, rock climbing, caving, or fly fishing, there is no shortage of world class outdoor activities within a 30 minute drive.

The town of Boone is close as well. Boone is home to Appalachian State University. There is shopping at the quaint shops in the downtown area. There are also many restaurants in the downtown that have local cuisine. There is the Daniel Boone Inn with the home style family buffet or The Horn in the West outdoor theater with dining if you choose.

The Town of Beech Mountain requires that you have a vehicle that is properly equipped in the event of inclement weather during the winter months. You must have a vehicle with 4WD or chains if there is snow or ice to keep you safe during your visit.

Short and long term rentals available at competitive rates. Inquire today!

More Details

Owner
Vicky
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

About Vicky

Both of our families had visited the mountains of North Carolina when we were children and teenagers. We came to visit in 2010 in the summer with our children and stayed in a cabin on Beech Mountain. We fell in love with the area and all that it had to offer. Our family decided that we should find a place that we could come and stay more often.

Vicky purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Vicky chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We looked for the perfect place for our family for almost two years before we found this cabin. We wanted a place that was new, and had all of the conveniences of home. We also wanted a house that was close to the ski slopes, but would feel that we were in the woods surrounded by nature.

What makes this cabin unique

This cabin is a home away from home. There are all of the conveniences of a well-stocked kitchen. You can relax on the back deck and watch the wildlife, or you can sit and watch your kids play in the natural area and build a fort in woods. At night you can gather family and friends around the firepit. The downstairs rec room is a great place to watch movies and play games, while the upstairs Great Room has another TV and DVD player too. The cabin is a short walk from some of the best hiking trails in the Blue Ridge Mountains with waterfalls and trout filled ponds.

Amenities

Beech Mountain Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2850 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Best On Beech *Family Friendly* Game Room, Fire Pit, Grill, Wifi - Sleeps 12-14
average rating of 4.851852 based on 27 reviews
5

Wonderful experience. Clean and charming inside, Excellen from the moment we arrived.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at Beech Mountain. This house was very nice and clean. We met up at the house with several family members (4 generations) to attend my brother's wedding in Banner Elk. The house was plenty large enough to accommodate all 12 of us without trouble at all. The price was fantastic for such a large and lovely home.

It is situated in a beautiful wooded area on a gravel road. GPS had a little trouble getting us to the house and the gravel mountain roads were like a labyrinth, but we figured it out without too much trouble. The neighborhood was quiet and peaceful and the neighbors were excellent. One neighbor offered to help when he saw that one of our vehicles had a flat tire.

There was one minor inconvenience, that can't really be held against the property or its owners. One of the smoke detectors had a low battery and started beeping loudly. I called the owners to ask if there was a 9V battery in the house that I could install. There wasn't one, but 15 minutes later a woman showed up on the porch with new batteries. Crisis Averted. Problem was resolved very quickly and the woman was quite helpful and friendly. She even drew a map of the mountain to help us navigate it a little easier.

Most of the beds were reported to be comfortable and the bedding all appeared to be clean and neat. The people that slept in the basement rooms reported that it is noisy with people walking above, but I suppose that is just typical of basements. The game room was great fun for the kids and there are a few cable channels to flip through too. The also had a few board games and puzzles to entertain us too.

We all really enjoyed the experience staying in this house. If I find myself back in this part of the country again, I will definitely try to rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clayton, NC
2

Really not sure why the reviews are so high...

  • 2 of 5

First off, we've rented through VRBO at least 40+ times and this is only the 2nd time I've written a less then favorable review... To date, 2 weeks after our stay our security deposit has not been refunded (no damage several emails asking why...) when we arrived the first thing we noticed was a damaged/dirty front door (first impressions?) the home was basic for the nightly rate. We had the master bedroom, screen on the patio door damaged,tub needed caulking, worst of all master shower smelled like urine when we turned the water on. NO firewood provided (again with the nightly rate they needed to provide some firewood) 4 wine glasses were the extent of the stemware, area carpets in the living room needed cleaning, walls into the basement in much need of paint. It was a rainy weekend...after 2 days we could smell the sewer backup. We plan to VRBO our new place in CO, I would never have it in the rental market if it was in this shape for the price and I certainly would have refunded a security deposit by this point (or at least responded to several emails). There are lots of options out there with hot tubs, firewood, clean carpets, freshly painted walls, appropriate size TV in the living room, etc...renters beware.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We returned the guest's deposit 4 days after their stay. Unfortunately, the guests are having trouble with Paypal depositing the money back into their account. I highly recommend using a credit card to avoid this problem. We always have the cabin checked by our cleaning crew and by the Property Manager prior to any guests checking in. We always leave the lights on, etc. in case our guests will arrive after dark. We also always have a walk through the day that our guests arrive. Instructions are on our check-in list to contact the Property Manager if you would like firewood during your stay. It is also available in small bundles at most convenience stores and grocery stores in the area for less than $5.00. We don't keep the firewood on the deck during the warmer weather because of the bugs. As for the smell at the cabin, all houses on Beech Mountain have a pumping system to make sure that all of the drains pump properly into the local water treatment plant. The system at the cabin is checked on a regular basis and has a very loud alarm if any problems exist. We have had no problems with the system this year. We regret that our guests had a rainy weekend for their son's graduation. We also worked with them and allowed them to extend paying the installments on time because they were having some issues with a move to another state and asked if we could wait for their payment. We agreed to wait. We always try to work with any of our guests to resolve any issues that are within our power to fix.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love it

  • 5 of 5

We loved the place. Hope to be back soon. Beautiful part of the country

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and cabin.

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was well stocked and all guests enjoyed it. Especially loved the fire pit at night.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for Group

  • 5 of 5

This home is great for a large group. Quick 5 min drive to slopes. Owners respond quickly and are super easy to work with.

Recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

We have a lot of kids so this house was perfect. The game room downstairs provides lots of entertainment for them and we were spread out enough not to drive each other crazy. We were lucky enough to be there while it snowed. Beautiful scenery all around the house. Perfect hills for the kids to sled down. They didn't even want to go back to the ski resort. They chose to stay at the house playing outside. The owners were very helpful and accesible during our stay and made sure we took the proper precautions for the drive home through the snow.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
TriCities
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Beech Mountain Club
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Ski Beech

There are so many wonderful things to do throughout the year. There are many hiking trails, caves, small lakes, autumn foliage, forests,waterfalls, spelunking. Beech Mountain is the 'Highest Town East of the Rockies' and Banner Elk aspires to be the 'Aspen of the South'. There's skiing, sledding and snow tubing in winter. There's a brand new public rec. facility that's open year 'round. There are miles of hiking trails and two fishing ponds for nature lovers. There are several restaurants and a country mercantile too. Banner Elk offers even more shops and restaurants. Both offer summer concerts, art festivals and their own unique events for families such as street dances, a kite festival, Wooly Worm festival, a sledding hill for the family when snow is on the ground. and the Autumn at Oz weekend. You can even rent the land of Oz for parties, tours or even weddings.

Within 30 minutes drive are Sugar Mountain and Hawksnest ski resorts, Grandfather Mountain, and several new zip lines. There are guided tours that include whitewater rafting (including lunch), fly fishing, rock climbing, kayaking, and mountain biking.

Summer at Beech: Perhaps our finest season where temperatures rarely exceed 72 degrees and the climate is mild. Evenings are sweater weather and fireplaces are roaring. The mountains, lakes, and streams are the destination for sportsmen of all walks. You will find amazing fishing, white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking, golf, swimming and wildlife degrees. The ski resorts are open for mountain biking during part of the summer and fall (schedules are available).

Winter at Beech: With 15 slopes and 10 lifts at Ski Beech, Ski Beech is the highest ski area in Eastern North America. The ski season runs from mid-November through Mid March with a peak elevation of 5,505 feet and a vertical rise of 830 feet. Lifts include: 1 High Speed Quad, 6 Doubles, 1 J-Bar and 1 Tow Rope, 1 surface lift. Beech offers snowmaking capability for 100% slope coverage and all slopes are lit for night skiing.

Fall and Spring at Beech: Falls offer brilliant colors as the leaves change. Golf and tennis are available and this is a popular time for outdoor sports. Lake Coffey has a walking and jogging trail that wraps around a serene lake that where fishermen catch trout. Buckeye Lake and Lake Coffey on Beech Mountain are stocked with trout. Upper and Lower Pond Creek, Grassy Gap Creek, Sassafras Trail, Emerald Mountain and Falls Trail offer ¾ to 2 mile trails for hiking and nature watching.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Damage Deposit $250

Please contact owner for holiday rates, which will be higher

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties