Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Furnished Log Vacation Home Near Stream and Mountain Views

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, 8 Sleeps, Washer/Dryer

This 1800 sq. ft. modern peaceful retreat is fully furnished and spacious enough to sleep 8 guests. Travelers that love to cook will enjoy preparing food in the full gourmet kitchen that overlooks the living space. This is the ultimate 'home away from home'!

Additional amenities include:

-wireless internet

-open great room with 50' flatscreen tv

-large master suite with a queen bed, full bath, walk in closet, TV, and private walk-out deck

-bed linens provided

-spacious guest bedroom with queen size bed, walk in closet, and TV

-sleeping loft with queen bed overlooking the living room

-queen sleeper sofa (living room)

-bathrooms include towels and hair dryer

-satellite TV and DVD player

-washer and dryer

-iron and ironing board

-fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances

-large island and dining room table

-electric fireplace

-large patio with furniture and gas grill

-books, boardgames, and DVDs

-8 person hot tub

*NOTE: There is room to park 2 vehicles or 1 vehicle and 1 trailer, please plan accordingly. MAXIMUM CAPACITY FOR DAY GUESTS =10 (SLEEPING MAXIMUM = 8)

Additional Information:

Check in is at 4PM

Check out is at 10AM

Half of the total is taken at the time of reservation

The second half is due 14 days prior to reservation

Rushmore Vacation Rentals provides guests with the following:

Toilet paper

Paper towels

Kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, cups, baking dishes, etc. (enough for the amount the home sleeps)

Trash can liners

Linens and 1 towel for each person the home sleeps

Hot tub towels

Basic seasonings (salt & pepper)

Propane for BBQ grill

Dish soap

Hand soap

Dishwasher soap

Laundry detergent

(Washers and dryers are free for guests use)

More Details

Property Manager
Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

What makes this cabin unique

Sleeps: 8

Number of bedrooms: 2 plus bedroom loft

Hot tub: Yes

A/C: 1 wall unit & fans

WiFi: Yes, high speed

TV service: Satellite

Cell phone service: Yes

BBQ: Propane

Fire pit: No

Fireplace: Gas

Coffee maker: Coffee pot

City: Hill City

Laundry: On site washer/dryer

Garage: No

Additional amenities: Stream and patio

Parking: 3 cars or 1 & 1 trailer

Gravel: 500 yds

RV Parking available: No

Beds: 3Q, 1Q sleeper sofa

Miles to Mt. Rushmore: 13.4 miles

Miles to Crazy Horse: 11.5 miles

Miles to Custer State Park: 10.3 Miles to Sylvan Lake Lodge

ATVing/Snowmobiling nearby: China Gulch Road across the street

Hiking nearby: Sheridan Lake is 5.3 miles away

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Your 'cabin' was a great stay for us. Lots of room to move around, big table to gather around, and beautiful view to look around. Thank you so much for sharing with us. We had a great time with lots and lots of laughs. Beautiful weather on day one, cooler temps on day two, cool temps plus snow on day three. We drove up to Spearfish on day 3 and ended up at the lodge sipping on hot chocolate next to the huge fireplace (with a mounted buffalo head). Priceless!!!"
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 4

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

Hill City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full Bathroom on Main Level - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Guest Bedroom on Main Level - 1 queen , Walk in closet, TV, and Dresser
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Master Bath, Walk in closet, TV, Dresser, and Private Deck
    Loft Bedroom - 1 queen , Bed overlooks beautiful great room windows
    Queen size sleeper sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Pack and Play for young child - 1 baby crib
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Furnished Log Vacation Home Near Stream and Mountain Views
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
5

Very nice facilities. Fully stocked. Nice views. Great location in the black hills for site seeing.

  • 5 of 5

Good for families. Hot tub is a nice bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A combination of delight and disappointment

  • 3 of 5

Hill City is a great location to visit the Black Hills. Day trips to Deadwood (north) or Custer (south) are relatively close and Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, and Keystone are very close. Our biggest disappointment was upon arrival - the home had not been cleaned. After a long day of travel and touring, we were ready at 4p.m. to unload groceries, have supper and relax. But, we were able to get settled in a couple of hours later that day. The cabin was well decorated with quality workmanship and had plenty of room in the living area for the 6 of us. The bedrooms were hotter than I would have liked for sleeping since there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms (only one window air conditioner in the loft). On the main floor, the only bedroom window faced the highway (which was quite close) and I don't feel safe sleeping with an open window (and to let air in, the shade also has to be up). This is probably not an issue in the fall and winter. Maybe a king size bed would have also been better. The kitchen is well stocked with small appliances - blenders, waffle maker, panini maker - and plenty of cookware.

In the end, our vacation was great. The owners refunded the cleaning fee, but the care package they intended to bring to us, never arrived.

We were surprised that there was no opportunity to recycle our plastic and paper goods to preserve the beautiful natural resources of the Black Hills.

I don't know how often a hot tub should be cleaned, but the water did not look as clean as I expected based on the price of the unit. The rest of the grounds were well maintained.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay! Unfortunately, we had a mix up with the cleaners and the home you stayed at was not ready when you arrived. While we strive for excellence, we do our best to correct errors when they happen. We quickly addressed this error and had it ready for your check in within two hours and refunded the cleaning fee of $100.00 for the inconvenience. We are so sorry that happened during your stay but are glad to hear you had a great time visiting the area despite this inconvenience. We hope you'll consider us again in the future. Thank you, Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winchester
5

Great cabin, convenient to most attractions

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and then some. The location was perfect for most attractions. We would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, Relaxing, Getaway Cottage: Made our Black Hills trip perfect!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage/cabin was the best! This Grandma, Grandpa, and two grandsons just loved our four day stay. It was a great location, short driving distance to all the sights: Bear Country, Reptile Gardens, Mount Rushmore, and Jewel Cave. The Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon supper and dinner show west of Hill City was a real treat, and the Black Hills 1880 train ride out of Hill City to Keystone was scenic and fun!!! We recommend this Hill City location as the perfect place to stay for a Black Hills vacation.

The Richardson family, Greeley, CO.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cabin, amenities, but more instructions would have been helpful.

  • 4 of 5

Great location, cabin, and amenitites, but we spent an excessive amount of time figuring out the TVs, laundry machine, pink water from the tap, etc. I have stayed at many other VRBOs and compared to them this one is lacking in functional instructions, where things are at, how to use, etc. still a minor setback as the cabin is great and location in the black hills is ideal.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review. We value your feedback and will take your suggestions back to the team. You mentioned having a hard time finding instructions for the TV. We provide a binder at all of our homes with detailed instructions on the various amenities and TV's which pertain to that specific home. Did you happen to see the TV instructions in the binder? If this is what you are referring to please let me know so we can adjust it for future guests. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay and hope to see you in the future. Thank you, Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this lovely cabin for a week and had an amazing time. The cabin is much more spacious than the photos suggest and is extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed sitting out on the deck during the day, using the hot tub under the stars at night and having regular visits from a flock of wild turkeys. The cabin is in a great location on the outskirts of Hill City and near to all the attractions. We enjoyed our visits to Custer State Park (buffalo, cute burros, prairie dogs, pronghorn deer etc), Mount Rushmore (very moving evening programme), Spearfish Canyon and hiking the Mickleson trail. We also had a great game of golf at Hart's Ranch and a wonderful meal at the Alpine Inn. The owners are easy to work with and we appreciated their help as we were booking from the UK. There is so much too do here, we can't wait to return. Thanks for everything, Mark, Ruth and Lois

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $104.5
Tax Rate 6.0%

To reserve this home, please visit www.rushmorevacationrentals.com. From the home page there is a search box in the upper left hand corner. Go to the drop box on the bottom that says, view rental, and click on Cottage at Storm Mountain #5.

Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% cancellation fee or $50, whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival date, forfeit any payments made, unless the home can be re-rented; the cancellation fee still applies. If property is not re-rented:

• We will keep the total deposit (50% made at the time of reservation)
• Cancellation on or after 14 days prior to arrival will result in the forfeiture of the entire rental amount.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties